701 SHREVEPORT GARDEN STUDY CLUB, 1996-2014

12 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

In the summer of 1996, Mrs. Quintin T. Hardtner III (Susan) along with Mrs. Donald Ellsworth Walter (Charlotte), Mrs. David Werner (Judith) began talks about forming a new garden club in Shreveport for the joy of gardening, and to bring beauty to the community. The discussions resulted in the founding of the Shreveport Garden Study Club and the first meeting on October 7, 1996 brought together twenty-four women. Their goals were education in the beauty of horticulture and in floral arranging. Education would extend to the community through the first major project, an arboretum in Greenwood Cemetery, one of Shreveport’s oldest cemeteries. This collection contains minutes, financial material, photographs, publications, but primarily documents the club's work to restore and preserve Greenwood Cemetery including contracts, and landscape architectural drawings, which resulted in the club's acceptance into the Garden Club of American for their contribution to the community.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

703 J. WOODROW "WOODY" WILSON COLLECTION, 1967-2007

2.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Dr. James Woodfin 'Woody' Wilson (1923-2014) graduated from LSU Medical School in New Orleans, LA, and took graduate training in Internal Medicine at Confederate Memorial Medical Center in Shreveport, LA. He began his private practice in 1956. He was historian for the Shreveport Medical Society from 1957-2014. He had a long interest in history and was active in the North Louisiana Historical Association where he served as president and contributed articles. He was awarded a Masters of Liberal Arts from LSUS. This small collection mainly consists of historical papers and class papers written for his LSUS requirements.

Back to the Top

704 BRODY FAMILY COLLECTION, 1912-1979

1.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Nicholas L. Brody (February 2, 1891—July 7, 1979) was born in New York. He married Yetta Westerman (January 12, 1986-October 4, 1960) on July 19, 1922 in Shreveport Louisiana. From this union, two children were born: Sylvan Dean “Dan” Brody (April 17, 1923-January 18, 2008) and Naomi Mildred Brody (December 12, 1927- April 4, 2014). Both of the children graduated from Fair Park High School in 1940 and 1944, respectively. This collection contains the following information pertaining to the Brody family: general correspondence; numerous photographs; printed material from newspapers which reference Naomi Brody in several different plays and events, Sylvan Brody in educational and military endeavors, and Nicholas Brody with community activities; and memorabilia of each family member.

Back to the Top

705 KREWE OF BARKUS & MEOUX INC., 1999-2015.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Krewe of Barkus & Meoux was formed in November 1977 and became an all volunteer, non-profit corporation in August 1999. Its mission is to develop, foster and promote programs to benefit abused, neglected and homeless animals, as well as promote responsible pet ownership with public education about voluntary spay/neuter program. This collection consists of minutes, photographs, and information regarding the various activities of the krewe including parades, pet adoptions, and fundraisers.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

707 CITY OF SHREVEPORT DEPARTMENT OF ENGINEERING & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES MAPS, 1960s-1990s

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Aerial photographs and maps of Shreveport and Caddo Parish.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

710 LETA FAYE LESHE FAMILY COLLECTION, 1925-2015.

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Leta Faye Leshe was born in Ringgold, LA on September 11, 1943 and was a resident of Shreveport, LA for more than 50 years. Over the years she was involved in a number of organizations including membership in Desk and Derrick, International Association of Administrative Professionals, Northwest Louisiana Haiku Society, Shreveport Writers Club, Ark-La-Tex Genealogical Association, Women of Wealth Investment Club and the Elvis Angels Fan Club. She earned her commission as Notary Public in 1973 and became a Certified Professional Secretary in 1979. She retired from the family office of Aaron Selber, Jr. and spent most of her career working in the oil & gas industry. She also volunteered her time teaching ESL classes through the Literacy Volunteers at Centenary College for many years and supported numerous fundraising events. She was a voracious reader and enjoyed writing poetry and researching family history. She ran a small publishing company from her home, Swann Publications, and produced family histories, poetry chap books, memoirs and updated and reprinted the family genealogy "An Irish Stowaway". She published several of her own collections of poetry under the pen name of Francine Swann. She loved traveling and visited destinations around the world. This collection contains letters, photographs, scrapbooks, and memorabilia from her life.

Back to the Top