151 THEODORE A. FLAXMAN ARCHITECTURAL RECORDS, 1919-1970.

5 linear ft.; 12 linear ft.– Architectural Drawings

Included in this collection are architectural drawings and job books for Shreveport residences, businesses, schools, and other structures, as well as some sketches, specifications, and photographs by Theodore A. Flaxman, Shreveport architect.

Back to the Top

152 CHARLES B. FOSTER, JR. COLLECTION, 1890-1945.

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Foster worked for the City of Shreveport’s Department of Water & Sewerage from 1939 - 1970. For several years he was Chief Engineer and General Superintendent of the department. Included in his collection are photographs, reports, some correspondence and other items relating to Shreveport’s water supply.

Back to the Top

153 JOSEPH GREMILLION (1919-1994) PAPERS, 1951-1957.

Film 40: 3 reels microfilm.
(Originals in the University of Notre Dame Archives.)

Fr. J. P. Gremillion was a priest and scholar of international reputation and a former secretary of the Pontifical Commission of Justice and Peace. He was also a former director of social and ecumenical affairs of the Diocese of Alexandria-Shreveport. These are only those papers that relate to Monsignor Gremillion’s work in Shreveport in the 1950’s. Includes correspondence, lectures, newspaper clippings, reports and surveys relating primarily to Friendship House, racial issues and other parish concerns.

Back to the Top

154 F. L. CLAMPITT SCRAPBOOK AND LEDGERS, 1884-1939.

.5 linear ft.

F. L. Clampitt was postal inspector of Muskogee, Oklahoma. This collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, an account book, and ledgers.

Back to the Top

155 WILEY B. GRAYSON (1807-1870) PAPERS, 1818-1866.

1.5 linear ft.

Wiley B. Grayson was a planter and attorney in Franklin Parish as well as a State Representative. This collection includes primary correspondence, receipts and invoices. Also included are business and legal account records.

Back to the Top

156 WILLIAM P. STILES (1873-1932) PAPERS, 1904-1973.

15 linear ft.

William P. Stiles born August 22, 1873, Waxahachie, Texas, came to Louisiana in 1903 after purchasing land in Caddo Parish. Entered oil business after discovery of Caddo field; established town of Trees City, Louisiana, a center of oil operations in Caddo Parish for many years. He was Director of the Commercial National Bank of Shreveport and of the Pelican Well Tool and Supply Co. He died March 5, 1932, after which his wife, Annie P. Stiles, directed his business interests. Papers include personal correspondence of Annie Stiles and ledgers of the Stiles leases at Trees, Louisiana and oil royalty statements from various oil companies holding leases on the Stiles property. There is one minute book and one cash book pertaining to Hall of Trees, Camp 626, Woodmen of the World.

Back to the Top

157 MRS. D. H. PERKINS (1909 -1980) PAPERS, 1842-1980.

35 linear ft.

Charter member of North Louisiana Historical Association and Historic Preservation Society of Shreveport and instrumental in the placement of numerous historical markers in the Shreveport area. Papers include newspaper clippings and Louisiana publications, scrapbooks, some correspondence, photographs, maps, postcards and programs relating to various topics in Louisiana history.

Back to the Top

158 LSU-SHREVEPORT CLASS PAPERS, 1977-to date.

3 linear ft.

Student research papers from Dr. John Hall’s folklore class and other LSUS history classes.

Back to the Top

159 SHREVEPORT BEAUTIFICATION FOUNDATION RECORDS, 1937-1980.

1.5 linear ft.

Organization established to make Shreveport a more beautiful city. Includes minutes, correspondence, awards and clippings of the foundation’s activities.

Back to the Top

160 ST. MARK’S EPISCOPAL CHURCH RECORDS, 1851-1949.

Film 87: 1 reel

The collection includes vestry records, 1851-1907; early marriage, death, communicants (some from Dr. Dalzell’s private notes); Women’s Parish Aid Society, 1908-1927, and marriages, 1935-1949.

Back to the Top