451 ARK-LA-TEX INDIAN SITES: THE CLAUDE McCROCKLIN PAPERS, 1984-2002.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Claude McCrocklin was born in Fouke, Arkansas, and came to Shreveport in 1940 where he attended Centenary College. An amateur archaeologist, Mr. McCrocklin has spent his retirement years investigating Indian sites in the Ark-La-Tex region. He has documented more than 500 sites. This collection contains papers he has written detailing his archaeological finds.

Back to the Top

452 JOHN B. HUSSEY PAPERS, 1856-2002.

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

John Hussey served as mayor of Shreveport from 1982-1990. Prior to his election as mayor he served on the Shreveport City Council (1978-1982) and practiced law in Shreveport for 24 years. During his tenure as mayor, Shreveport had the largest building program in its history, including street maintenance, housing projects, economic development, and institution of the Emergency 911 system.

Back to the Top

453 SHREVEPORT CITY RECORDS 1894-1979.

232 linear ft.

Collection Inventory, 1974-1979 (Date)
Collection Inventory, 1974-1979 (Subject)

This collection includes resolutions and ordinances of the City of Shreveport.

Back to the Top

454 OSBORN FUNERAL HOME RECORDS, 1911-1959.

Film 86: 6 reels microfilm.

Collection Inventory

Records of the Osborn Funeral Home include the following information about the deceased: name, age, date, cause of death, where buried/shipped, name/birthplace of father and mother, certifying physician, funeral charges. Not every record contains full information. Most books have an index. The first reel contains funeral records from Charity Hospital, 1916.

Back to the Top

455 LYRIC BALL SCRAPBOOKS, 1963-1964.

1.5 linear ft.

The Lyric Ball was an annual fund raiser for the Shreveport Symphony and the Shreveport Civic Opera. These two scrapbooks, 1963-1964, contain news clips, photographs, and programs.

Back to the Top

456 SHREVEPORT WEATHER SERVICE RECORDS, 1871-2006.

45 linear ft.

The Shreveport Weather office, according to the Daily Journal (September 12, 1871, p. 1), was established "August 29, 1871 for the purpose of taking meteorological observation for the War Department-Signal Service, U. S. Army." The earliest daily journals (12) chronicle not only the weather, but also visitors, sicknesses, river conditions, victims of weather disasters, and the weather observer’s general impression of the city through eight location names. Copies of the letters sent (13 vols.) and letters received (6 vols.) detail employees, steamer monuments, disagreements with the local newspapers and telegraph office and construction of the government building. Daily, weekly, and monthly weather data is included in 113 record books. Miscellaneous expense books (3 vols.) and U. S. government weather publications are also included.

Back to the Top

457 C. E. BYRD HIGH SCHOOL COLLECTION

39 linear ft.

The C. E. Byrd High School is Shreveport’s oldest public secondary educational institution. Successor to the old Shreveport High School, it opened in 1925, and since that time has been the source, through its alumni, of an unusually high number of individuals of local and national distinction. The collection itself consists of a diverse array of materials–bibliographic, photographic, artifactual–which provide in-depth access to the school’s rich and varied history.

Back to the Top

458 F. M. BRITT BLACKSMITH LEDGERS, 1891-1910.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Franklin Marion Britt was a blacksmith in Haughton, Louisiana. This collection contains two ledgers documenting financial transactions involving supplies purchased, payments received, agreements, and receipts.
(See also: Collection 286, Emma Pattillo.)

Back to the Top

459 DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION, PELICAN CHAPTER, RECORDS, 1965-1995.

33 linear ft.

The Daughters of the American Revolution, Pelican Chapter, organized on November 11, 1908, perpetuate the spirit of the people who achieved American independence. They protect historical spots, encourage historical research, and preserve documents and relics. This collection consists of minutes, reports, rosters, yearbooks, scrapbooks, publications, a map, and a charter chapter.

Back to the Top

460 UNITED GAS MATERIALS, 1909-1986.

3 linear ft.

United Gas began in the early 1900’s with the exploration and development of oil and gas in north Louisiana and east Texas. Norris Cochran McGowan, an accountant, was sent to Shreveport, by the developers, and the result was the formation of the United Gas Corporation in 1930. In 1944, he was named president and was responsible for the construction in Shreveport of a building to house the general offices. The general headquarters were moved from Houston to Shreveport in 1940. This collection consists of reports, directories, publications, and maps.

Back to the Top