441 AMERICAN LEGION SCRAPBOOK, 1929-1936.

1 linear ft.

This scrapbook contains many sepia photographs (undated and unidentified) and a few clippings of parades, activities, and members of the Forty and Eight Club, Lowe-McFarlane Post along with posts from Chicago, Louisville, Miami, Baton Rouge, Lake Charles, Lafayette, and Alexandria.

Back to the Top

442 SIGNOR AND BURTON CO. LEDGER, 1898-1899.

1 ledger

Signor and Burton Co. provided railroad ties fro KCS and ARR built from Shreveport to Port Arthur, Texas. Ledger indicates shipper, receiver, loader, amount, and price. Contract explanation on p. 290 of the ledger.

Back to the Top

443 TAYLOR-FORD RECORDS, 1888-1973.

2 linear ft.

Taylor-Neilson Co. of 1909 was liquidated into the possession of W. F. Taylor (b. 1859) whose corporation, W. F. Taylor, Inc, was chartered as a wholesale grocer, cotton brokerage, plantation operator, and other realty investments firm. Taylor’s daughter Amanda (b. August 20, 1890) married Frank H. Ford (b. March 17, 1888). This collection contains business correspondence, legal documents, minutes, and ledgers pertaining to real estate operations.

Back to the Top

444 A. E. BROWN RAILROAD MATERIALS, 1871-1981.

72 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

A. E. Brown, an accountant by trade, was a railroad enthusiast from a very early age. He recorded the passing trains as a youth and collected railroad materials as an adult. This collection consists of his personal journals, various dispatchers’ train orders both loose and bound, correspondence, photos, maps, books, and magazines about railroading.

Back to the Top

445 DESOTO PARISH COURTHOUSE RECORDS, 1844-1934.

21 linear ft.; Film 88: 16 reels microfilm.

Collection Inventory

Created in 1843, DeSoto Parish’s first courthouse was completed in January, 1844, by contractors William Crosby and Jesse Pugh who had subcontracted the log houses (courthouse and jail) to carpenter, Squire Pate. These records contain ledgers, successions, tutorships, interdictions, adoptions, and court cases mainly from the 1840’s-1890’s.

Back to the Top

446 WEBB COMMISSARY RECORDS, 1900-1974.

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Frederick F. Webb, Sr. reared at Springridge, married Annie Lou Hungerford in 1892. They bought a small farm near Mansfield, Louisiana where they lived seven years, selling the property in 1902. They bought 600 acres in Lucas and set up a mercantile business in 1908. (See also: J. Fair Hardin, Northwestern Louisiana, vol. 2, p. 415.) The collections consists of 27 ledgers, cash and day books of the Webb and Webb Commissary. Thirty-four cotton ginner’s records and four maps of the F. F. Webb Plantation are also included.

Back to the Top

447 JAMES FERGUSON COTTON CODE BOOKS, 1878-1934.

2.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

In cotton trading, telegraphic codes were used. This collection contains 16 books of codes, interest tables, and an exchange rate book, from the Ferguson Cotton Co., and a map of Red River Parish.

Back to the Top

448 PERICLES ALEXANDER (1916-1988) COLLECTION, 1926-1986.

5 linear ft.

Pericles Alexander was an entertainment writer in Dallas, Wichita Falls, and Shreveport over a span of nearly 50 years. This collection contains over 1,400 photos from movies, theatre productions, and stars. These photos were used with the articles he wrote reviewing or publicizing various productions. Also included is some biographical information on Pericles Alexander.

Back to the Top

449 MRS. ERA GIBSON PAPERS, 1944-1966.

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Mrs. Gibson was active in the Ladies Auxiliary of the VFW and the Navy Mothers Club. She served as president of the Ladies Aux. VFW 1951-1953, alternate 1953-54, historian 1950-51 and 1955-56, and matron and hospital chairperson 1957-58. Includes Ladies Auxiliary Scrapbooks, correspondence, minutes, clippings, Navy Mothers’ correspondence, programs, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

450 COMMITTEE OF ONE HUNDRED PAPERS, 1988-1991.

.5 linear ft.

Though chartered in 1951, the group’s August 29, 1961 charter limited membership to 100 local corporate presidents, managing partners, and business owners, with the purpose of mobilizing the business community on behalf of the betterment of the Shreveport-Bossier area. The charter stressed the non-political nature of the group whose activities were educational, civic and charitable. Members contributed $1,000 annually and raised and distributed funds to worthwhile groups and programs.

Back to the Top