601 JUDGE G. RANDELL WHITMEYER SCRAPBOOKS, 1954-1971

3 linear ft.

G. Randell Whitmeyer, son of Fred G. Whitmeyer, graduated from Shreveport High School on Hope St. in 1922. He graduated with honors from LSU Law School in 1928 and practiced law in Shreveport for 25 years. He ran for and won in 1954 the new judgeship post created by the Louisiana Legislature. As the second judge for city court he became active in helping the alcoholics who appeared before him and was the originator of the ‘house arrest’ for teenage traffic offenders. Five scrapbooks containing photographs, newspaper clippings and programs trace his judiciary accomplishments and his interest in civic and paternal organizations throughout Shreveport.

Back to the Top

602 QUOTA CLUB OF SHREVEPORT

.5 linear ft.

In 1957-58 the Quota Club of Shreveport was eight years old. This 1957-58 scrapbook contains photographs, newspaper clippings, and programs from district conferences.

Back to the Top

603 CARROLL L. HOFFPAUIR PAPERS, 1943-1975 

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Carroll Lea Hoffpauir was with the Southern Regional Research Center for 35 years. His research emphasis was the improvement of cotton textiles, cottonseed and oilseed products. He has published over a hundred scientific papers and received the USDA's coveted Superior Service Award for his outstanding research on rice bran oil. This collection contains his published papers and patents, letters received on his retirement and photographs of personnel.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

605 LOUISIANA RECOVERY AUTHORITY MINUTES, 2004-2007

3 linear ft.

The Louisiana Recovery Authority is the planning and coordinating body that will help implement the Governor’s vision for the recovery of Louisiana following hurricane Katrina. Issues discussed are economic stability, education, health care and cultural and tourism. This collection contains the minutes from November 2005 through January 2006 which were donated by Mike Woods, a member of the committee.

Back to the Top

606 DEANE FLETT PAPERS, 1940s-1970s.

2 linear ft.

Deane Flett was a Shreveport television pioneer. The South Dakota native got his public media start in radio; yet, he soon switched his allegiance to television. This collection contains a few photographs; several office newsletters generated by Mr. Flett himself; documents related to his quest to obtain a Federal Communications Commission (FCC) license to broadcast; scripts; schedules; and personal memorabilia.

Back to the Top

607 WILLIAM D. SANDIFER COLLECTION, 1939-1976

3 linear ft.

William D. Sandifer, Jr. (1925-2005) was an avid photographer and railroad fan. He traveled the world in pursuit of world class photographs of steam locomotives. "Billy" and his long-time friend and fellow railroad photographer Ed Robinson were often seen at Texas & Pacific Railway facilities and tracks in or near Shreveport practicing their art in the 1940's and beyond. The collection contains several photos taken by Mr. Sandifer and some that are unidentified.

Back to the Top

608 HENRY LANGSTON McEACHERN (1918-2004) PHOTOGRAPHIC COLLECTION, 1941-2008.

25.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Henry Langston McEachern, a Shreveport, Louisiana resident and 1937 graduate of C. E. Byrd High School, was a photographer for The Shreveport Times from February 1946 to July 1983, serving as the newspaper’s first chief photographer and later photo editor. A charter and life member of the National Press Photographers Association, he won numerous regional, state and national-level awards for his photographic work. The "eyes for Shreveport," Langston McEachern documented the life and times of the city by photographing celebrities, presidents, politicians, automobile and train wrecks, airplane crashes, police and fire department responses, weather-related disasters, state fairs, rodeos, sporting events, and a host of other subjects and themes. He also charted the physical growth and development of Shreveport through aerial photography. The collection consists of 19 photograph albums arranged by year and/or theme; photographs from Langston McEachern’s World War II service as a U.S. Army photographer at Fort F. E. Warren, Wyoming, Guadalcanal in the Solomon Islands, and the Philippines; dry mounted, matted and oversized photographs; assorted photographs broadly arranged by theme; photographic negatives in various formats; slides from family vacation trips; plaques and certificates awarded for photography contests, autobiographical notes and miscellaneous personal documents. Also included are transparency, slide and movie projectors and a video camera.

Back to the Top

609 ANN WILDER STRATTON PAPERS, 1720-2001.

9 linear ft.

Ann Wilder Stratton was born March 10, 1924, only child of Wilder and Grace Stratton. Her father was in the oil business, and her mother was active in the League of Women Voters. Ann attended South Highlands Elementary, Southfield School and Byrd High School before moving to Washington D.C. where she attended Mt. Vernon Seminary, an all-girl prep school. She received a bachelor’s degree from Wells College, Aurora, N.Y. in 1946 and earned a master’s in social work from the University of Pennsylvania in 1950. She performed social work in Pennsylvania for twenty years before returning to Shreveport to care for her aging parents in 1970. Here she attended the Shreveport City Council meetings, Metropolitan Planning Commission meetings and other public governmental meetings. She was open, frank and very candid which irritated some officials, but always she was honest and appreciated for her opinions and sense of humor. She was ardent supporter of the Community Foundation. These papers contain mostly her genealogy, family photographs, a little correspondence and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

610 MAYOR KEITH HIGHTOWER SCRAPBOOKS, 1998-2006

3 linear ft.

Keith Hightower graduated Captain Shreve High School in 1975, Louisiana Tech in 1979, was Vice President of Holmes Auto Group, on the Shreveport City Council for two consecutive terms, and was Mayor of Shreveport from 1998-2006. His progressive style of leadership renewed the city’s pride in itself and allowed him to accomplish his goals. His accomplishments include the construction of the Convention Center, the Hilton Hotel, the renovation of Independence Stadium and the reduction of crime along with renewed neighborhood development. These four scrapbooks of newspaper clippings chronicle his eight years as mayor.

Back to the Top