591 EUGENE AND GEORGE WOODRUFF PAPERS, 1870-1909.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

With the removal of the Raft by Capt. Henry Miller Shreve in 1838, maintenance was neglected and the raft reformed until 1873 when Eugene A. Woodruff, 1st Lieut. Of the U.S. Corps of Engineers under Capt. C. W. Howell of the New Orleans District of the Corps of Engineers, was instructed to survey the raft region in the Red River, Cypress Bayou and Tone’s Bayou. With the financial appropriations from the U.S. Congress, Woodruff along with his clerk, brother George, commenced the work. After Eugene death from yellow fever, George completed the project of removing the raft. This collection contains letters from both Eugene and George to their mother in Independence, Iowa, letters from Howell on financial and administrative matters, weekly logs of the U.S.S. Sterling, logs from crane boats, and shore camps, financial material concerning pay and bank books and check stubs. Printed U.S. Senate publications, annual reports and three maps are also included.

Back to the Top

592 ALTRUSA CLUB OF SHREVEPORT, 1954-1994.

3 linear ft.

Organized locally on April 19, 1927 with fourteen charter members led by president Mrs. Eloise Knowles, the Altrusa Club of Shreveport has achieved a unique record of community service. This collection contains scrapbooks, yearbooks, and calendars.

Back to the Top

593 MENASCO STUDIO PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION, 1943-1994.

12 linear ft. processed to-date

Collection Inventory

The Menasco Studio operated in Shreveport from 1943 until the mid-1990’s. Operated by the late Robert F. Menasco and Aloyese Menasco Seyburn, the studio photographed a diversity of clientele from brides to businessmen, entertainers to cultural events such as Holiday-in-Dixie and Little Theatre. They also took many photographs for Shreveport newspapers and publications such as the Shreveport Magazine. The collection covers over 32,000 photo sessions resulting in about 200,000 negatives/prints representing the career of one of Shreveport’s best known and most respected photographers, and is a veritable "Who’s Who" of Shreveport and north Louisiana. Collection processing is ongoing and will take quite a long time, but the processed portion is available to researchers and will grow as more material becomes available.

Back to the Top

594 ELSTON, BILLIE SOUR GENEALOGICAL NOTES.

1 linear ft.

Genealogical research notes, pedigree charts, news clips on the following families: Elston, Sour, Holmes, Fillmore, Moore, McDade and Fort.

Back to the Top

595 NORTH LOUISIANA CHAPTER OF AMERICAN GUILD OF ORGANISTS, 1940s-2000.

2 linear ft.

The American Guild of Organists founded in 1896 is an educational and service organization which promotes understanding and appreciation of organ and choral music through professional certification, competitions, conventions and publications. The North Louisiana Chapter was founded in 1947 and this collection contains its minutes, scrapbooks and programs.

Back to the Top

596 SHREVEPORT SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA COLLECTION, 1931-

2.6 linear ft.

The first Shreveport Symphony Orchestra was organized during the Great Depression in 1930. Although it enjoyed a number of successful seasons throughout the decade, it was defunct by the 1940s. Today’s symphony, the oldest in Louisiana, dates to 1948. Since then, it has grown and prospered from humble beginnings, to a 21st century orchestra proudly serving Shreveport/Bossier City and the entire Ark-La-Tex region with musical performances and programs for everyone from the young to the young-at-heart. This collection consists of histories, minutes, financial statements, fundraising paraphernalia, personal and business correspondence, newsclips and periodicals, programs, scrapbooks, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

597 CADDO PARISH MAGNET HIGH SCHOOL PTSA RECORDS, 1980-

2.8 linear ft.

Established in 1980, the Caddo Parish Magnet High School PTSA, also known as Friends of Magnet, works closely with parents, students, school administrators, and the community to promote the academic, artistic, and cultural excellence of Caddo Parish Magnet High School—a school that has consistently ranked as one of the very best in both the state and the nation as it prepares its students to meet the various challenges of the 21st century. This collection consists of historical summaries, bylaws, minutes, financial statements, fundraising paraphernalia, business correspondence, newsclips and periodicals, audio and visual media, literary publications, newsletters, programs, and various information media detailing not only the activities of the PTSA, but also the academic, artistic, professional, and cultural achievements of the school, its administrators, its instructors, and its students.

Back to the Top

598 RAY COLLINS RAILROAD COLLECTION, 1920-2003.

36 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Allison Ray Collins (1908-2004) was an employee of the Kansas City Southern Railway in Shreveport, Louisiana for fifty years, serving in positions ranging from machinist apprentice to diesel shop foreman. His love for railroading is shown by his extensive collection of railroad material, which his family graciously donated to the LSUS Archives. The collection contains LP train sound albums, VHS tapes, 8mm and 16mm films, audio tapes, audio CDs, instructional books, photographs, magazines, etc. Additionally, many railroad books were catalogued into the Archives Louisiana Collection.

Back to the Top

599 LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAYS AERIAL PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE I-20 CONSTRUCTION PROGRESS, 1956-1974.

1 linear ft.

Five hundred sixty (560) aerial photographs charting the progress of the I-20 expressway through Shreveport.

Back to the Top

600 SELBER BROTHERS PHOTOGRAPHS, 1913-1979

3 linear ft.

Selber Brothers Department Store company, founded in 1907 had retail stores in Shreveport, Monroe, Tyler, Longview and Lafayette. This collection consists primarily of photographs and newspaper clippings about the opening of these stores and a 1913 diploma awarded to Aaron Selber.

Back to the Top