581 JUNIOR LEAGUE OF SHREVEPORT, 1930-1992; 2007.

15 linear ft.

"The organization meeting of the Junior Service League was held at St. Mark’s parish house on October 17, 1930. Mrs. Wiltz Ledbetter presiding." Quote from the first general meeting of what would be know as the Junior League of Shreveport – an organization whose name would be synonymous with charity and social welfare. This collection contains those early minutes (1930-1938) and scrapbooks (1935-1992) documenting the volunteer work of the young ladies whose time and talent have contributed to the financial, cultural, and educational improvement of Shreveport’s needy.

Back to the Top

582 CAVETT-CUMMINGS GENEALOGICAL COLLECTION, 1834-1868; 1883; 1967; 1996.

1 linear ft.

This small genealogical collection contains original letters from 1834-1868 from the Preston and Cummings families. The bulk of the collection is the research notes and photocopied material gleaned from various sources of the Carter, Cummings, Preston and Cavett families.

Back to the Top

583 FULLILOVE FAMILY HISTORY compiled by MELBA FULLILOVE MAINO, 2004.

1 linear ft.

This collection consists of four binders: Vol. 1-2: Directions to Fullilove Cemetery Four Forks, La. Along with grave site diagram, photographs, obits, and grave marker photos. Vol. 3-4: Fullilove Family photographs, news items, correspondence, and various writings.

Back to the Top

584 J. SCOTT McWILLIAMS OIL WELL DATA MAP COLLECTION, 1939-1961.

2 linear ft.

The J. Scott McWilliams Oil Well Data Map Collection consists of aerial survey maps of multiple parishes located throughout Louisiana. Each map is clearly identified by each parish and contains scale and legend information. The contents of the map include oil well and ownership information.

Back to the Top

585 A.C. STEERE SCHOOL RECORDS, 1920s-2007.

12 linear ft.

Broadmoor School opened in 1925 at 305 Albany; moved to Youree and Ockley in 1929. In 1930 the name was changed to A.C. Steere School in honor of A.C. Steer who gave the acreage for the school and who developed the Broadmoor area. This collection contains PTA scrapbooks from the 1940s - 1960s, a few photographs, newspaper clippings, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

586 NOEL MEMORIAL UNITED METHODIST CHURCH RECORDS, 1918-2005.

51 linear ft

Noel Memorial United Methodist Church had its beginnings in 1906 as the Shreveport City Mission and with its growth in 1908 became the Creswell Street Methodist Episcopal Church, South. By 1909 with expanding membership, and with the help of James S. Noel, an edifice in memory of James, Jr. deceased son of James S. Noel, Noel Memorial Methodist Church began construction. The opening of its sanctuary in 1913 became a spiritual magnet for Shreveport Methodists. This collection contains its history, membership, Board minutes, committee reports and minutes, photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, church bulletins, publications and architectural drawings.

Back to the Top

587 HEBREW REST CEMETERY RECORD BOOK, 1886-1966.

3 linear ft.

Record book giving names, sex, age, occupation, residence, nativity, marital status, cause and place of death, attending physician, interment lot, with comments.

Back to the Top

588 SHREVEPORT OPERA GUILD COLLECTION, 1930-1931; 1950-2007.

4 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Shreveport Opera Guild is a non-profit organization composed of volunteers which serves as a support group and fund-raising arm of the Shreveport Opera. Annually it presents Les Boutiques de Noel which is the largest fund-raiser of the Opera. This collection consists of minutes, news clippings, programs and scrapbooks.

Back to the Top

589 CROW MEDIA COLLECTION, 1970-1992

4 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The collection consists of 35 mm slides and audio tapes used in multimedia presentations prepared by Crow Media Productions and other production companies for local organizations between 1978-1982. The organizations were Shreveport Chamber of Commerce ("City Song" - 1978), Shreveport Junior Chamber of Commerce ("Heritage & Horizons" -1978 ), Western Electric ("15th Anniversary" - 1980), Christian Services Organization ("A Vicious Cycle" - 1978), ("Rainbows" - 1980) and ("Dignity" - 1982). Additional 35 mm slides of local interest plus some video tapes regarding local AT&T activities are included.

Back to the Top

590 JANIE BURKS WILLIAMS COLLECTION, 1920-2003

6 linear ft.

Janie B. Williams (1917-2003), a graduate of Grambling State University, taught for thirty-eight years in the Union Parish Schools: County Line School, Lane Chapel School and Eastside High School. Not having children of her own she devoted her life to educating her 'children,' this commitment evidenced by the annual Lane Chapel School reunions continuous since 1987. As a politically active Democrat she encouraged black voters to register and assisted them in understanding and participating in the political process. She was an ardent supporter of her church, the Lane Chapel Missionary Baptist Church and has received various awards for her humanitarian, civic and educational achievements. This collection contains personal and family material, programs from her church and numerous photographs of her students.

Back to the Top