571 DAVIS BLAND PHOTOGRAPHIC COLLECTION, 1988- .

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

This collection contains video tapes (VHS) and still images taken in and around Shreveport, especially in southern Caddo Parish and De Soto Parish. Old homes, festivals, plantation stores, etc. are documented by these images. Also, steam locomotives, antique automobiles, and old airplanes are recorded. Davis Bland is a Shreveport native with a long time interest in these subjects. He was a twenty-nine year employee of the Rucker/Boots/Knoll Pharmaceutical Companies and has donated related historical material including a Historical Timeline. Additional materials are added as they become available.

Back to the Top

572 JOHN BONANNO SHREVEPORT COMMUNITY THEATER.

5 linear ft.

Videos from Shreveport Little Theatre, East Bank Theater, Port Players, Gilbert & Sullivan Society, Marjorie Lyons Playhouse, Bossier Parish Community College, and Gas Light Players.

Back to the Top

573 JIM MILLER’S RESEARCH COLLECTION, 1890; 1952-2003.

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Jim Miller (1938-2004) taught history at LSUS for over 25 years. This collection contains material from two of Miller’s passions: Louisiana history and gardening, especially roses. Included are research notes (many in Spanish), Louisiana history books and publications, articles, and gardening information and publications.

Back to the Top

574 LSU AgCENTER AGRICULTURE MATERIAL, 1950-1985.

1.5 linear ft.

Volumes on U.S. Census for Louisiana’s population and agriculture, and proceedings from local agricultural events comprise the material in this collection.

Back to the Top

575 THEATRE ARTS GUILD COLLECTION, 1963-2009

21 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Theatre Arts Guild was a non-producing theatre service organization in the Shreveport-Bossier area. The organization was formed by Robert Lightsey, Anne Matthews and Philip Maniscalco. TAG was designed to offer a place where all theatre people could get together to exchange ideas. A major activity of TAG was sponsoring the Golden TAG Awards for contributions to local theatre. As a service organization, TAG attempted to coordinate the local theatrical calendar to avoid conflicts in auditions and performance dates. This collection consists of material from the Shreveport Little Theatre, the Port Players, the Gas Light Players, the Dinner Barn Playhouse, the Courtyard Players, East Bank Theatre, Peter Pan Players, the Performing Arts Center and several smaller theatrical groups. Through playbills, newspaper clippings and photographs the diverse community of the theater is explored.

Back to the Top

576 JIM MONTGOMERY COLLECTION, 1951-1999

7 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Jim Montgomery is a veteran of journalism who has specialized in commentary. A native of Springhill, Louisiana, he received his Bachelor of Arts in Speech from Centenary College and went to work first in television, then joined the staff of The Times as a theatre/film critic in 1969. In 1974 he moved into public affairs reporting as a member of The Times Enterprise Team, and later that year joined the editorial page staff becoming editor in 1976. This collection consists mainly of his column ‘The Local Angle’ and his Journal Page, along with a few photographs of his Centenary years and certificates of achievements.

Back to the Top

577 ELSIE CLAIRE AITKENS SIMONS COLLECTION, 1930s.

5 linear ft.

This collection contains autographed pictures of 1930s movie stars along with the original envelopes from the respective studios.

Back to the Top

578 LOUISIANA SOCIETY, COLONIAL DAMES OF THE XVII CENTURY, MATTHEW AGEE CHAPTER COLLECTION, 1988-1999.

1.5 linear ft.

The Chapter, chartered and organized on December 15, 1955, is the second oldest Colonial Dames XVII Century chapter in the state of Louisiana. It is very active in all chapter, state, and national projects. At the end of her term, the President is presented scrapbooks chronicling the various activities, historical programs, and conferences attended by the chapter. This collection includes five scrapbooks presented to ex-President Mrs. Edward P. Glover.

Back to the Top

579 PIKE HALL COLLECTION, 1897-1960s.

5 linear ft.

Judge William P. Hall (1851-1928) graduate of Tulane Law School, District Attorney for seven years, and District Judge for eighteen, wrote many letters to his son W. P. Hall, Jr. (1896-1945) while he was attending universities, and in the Army Ambulance Corps in France during World War I. Hall, Jr. was admitted to the bar in 1922 and was elected to the Louisiana Senate 1921-1932. This collection consists primarily of these letters from Judge Hall to his son, along with newspaper clippings, memorabilia and photographs of Hall, Jr.

Back to the Top

580 SHREVEPORT/BOSSIER MOVIE THEATERS, 1948-1959.

3 linear ft.

The drive-in movie boom was under way in the 1950s going from less than 1,000 in 1948 to 5,000 nationwide by 1958. Shreveport and Bossier enjoyed the drive-in success during these years. This collection consists primarily of the daily box office receipts of the Barksdale Drive-In, the Sunset Drive-In and the Don Drive-In. Included also are reports and records of other theaters in the area.

Back to the Top