561 SHREVEPORT PHOTOGRAPHS, 1873-1949.

.5 linear ft.

Photographs from Shreveport: A Photographic Remembrance, 1873-1949.

Back to the Top

562 SHREVEPORT DEPARTMENT OF PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS SCRAPBOOK, 1966-1973.

2.5 linear ft.

Newspaper Clippings of projects proposed, built: Shopping centers, hotels, churches, hospitals, commercial buildings. Also buildings destroyed, sold, bids received, annexations, riverfront plans and housing codes.

Back to the Top

563 JIM / FRANK HAMPSON PHOTOGRAPHY COLLECTION, 1924-2003.

51 linear ft.

Frank W. Hampson (1940-) lived in Shreveport from 1941 until 2003. Both he and his father James E. Hampson (1906-1970) were avid aviators and commercial photographers. This collection contains negatives, slides, 16mm/8mm movies and prints of historical value to Northwest Louisiana and particularly to Shreveport. In addition, the collection contains significant information and photographs related to early aviation, aviators, and airports. Also, many photographs taken by another Shreveport professional photographer Ben Kneil are included, plus information concerning Mrs. James E. Hampson’s civic activities.

Back to the Top

564 SAINT MARK’S CATHEDRAL, 1851-2002.

18 linear ft.

Arguably the oldest Christian congregation in Shreveport, Saint Mark’s Episcopal Cathedral Church traces its origins to the days of the city’s founding when Leonidas K. Polk, the first Episcopal Bishop of Louisiana and cousin of President James K. Polk, preached the first sermon ever delivered in Shreveport in 1839. Although the church itself was not formally incorporated until 1851, it is nevertheless considered the fruit of that very first sermon preached by Bishop Polk some 12 years before. After occupying two locations in Downtown Shreveport for nearly a century, Saint Mark’s formally dedicated its present structure in 1959. Twenty years later the Episcopal Diocese of Western Louisiana was created in 1979. Saint Mark’s assumed such a vital role in the affairs of this newly created diocese of which it was a part, that it was elevated to cathedral status—a process that was completed in 1991. Today, it has grown to become one of the largest and most significant Episcopalian communions within the entire state of Louisiana. Included within this collection are vestry records, 1851-1907; early marriage, death, and communicants (some from the private notes of Dr. William Tucker Dickinson Dalzell, Rector 1866-1899); Women’s Parish Aid Society, 1908-1927; the correspondence, sermons, and photographs of Dr. James Marshall Owens, Rector 1916-1944; marriages, 1935-1949; sermons of Dr. James Lawrence Plumley, Rector 1953-1972; financial ledgers from the 1940s-1950s, architectural drawings, and various publications from both Saint Mark’s Parish and others.

Back to the Top

565 CORLESS McLEMORE’S MOORINGSPORT HIGH SCHOOL BOOKS, 1907-1937.

1 linear ft.

History, Science, Grammar, and Literature textbooks; miscellaneous books and notebooks.

Back to the Top

566 EDWARD L. AND MARY EVELYN BELL McGUIRE COLLECTION, 1844-1970s.

60.5 linear ft.

This collection of family letters date from the 1800s through the 1970s: from family ancestry to the early courtship between Mary Evelyn Bell (Shreveport) and Edward McGuire (soldier from Massachusetts); through years separated by war, to their establishing a home, family, and business in Shreveport. A few photographs and memorabilia are included.

Back to the Top

567 PICTORIAL HISTORY OF NORTHWEST LOUISIANA, VOL. 1 AND 2.

1 linear ft.

Included are proofs, research cards, and miscellaneous items from the two books published by The Times with photos and research supplied by the LSUS Archives.

Back to the Top

568 ISABELLE M. WOODS PAPERS

1.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Born in Honolulu, Hawaii, Mrs. Isabelle M. Woods moved from California to Shreveport, Louisiana in 1976. She retired as a supervisor with the U.S. Postal Service in 1996. While researching the African-American genealogy of her husband, Freeman Woods, she developed an interest in preserving African-American history. This collection includes miscellaneous genealogical notes primarily of the Albert Chester, General Dantzler, John Jones, Arthur Downs, Jr., Thomas M. Barber and Napolean families; a list of decedents interred in Star Cemetery, Zion Rest Cemetery, and other cemeteries in Louisiana and Arkansas; Civil War pension application files of four African-American soldiers; several publications and history of Antioch Baptist Church and two volumes of African-American funeral programs.

Back to the Top

569 PENDING

Back to the Top

570 DONALD HATHAWAY COLLECTION, 1970-2000.

3 linear ft.

Scrapbooks and photo albums from Donald Hathaway’s terms as Shreveport Commissioner of Public Works and Caddo Parish Sheriff.

Back to the Top