551 CONFEDERATE SOLDIER IN THE CIVIL WAR, 1861-1865.

3 linear ft.

A serial published in 31 parts, prefaced by an eulogy by Major-General Fitzhugh Lee; the foundation and formation of the Confederacy, the succession of Southern States, and prominent parts taken: Naval operations, campaigns, battles, sieges, charges, skirmishes, etc. Published in 1897. 480 illustration plates.

Back to the Top

552 4TH DISTRICT LOUISIANA FEDERATION of WOMEN’S CLUBS RECORDS, 1884-1985.

6 linear ft.

On May 16, 1919 with Mrs. J.W. Norton as president, the first meeting of the 4th District Louisiana Federation of Women’s Clubs was held in the ballroom of the Youree Hotel, Shreveport, Louisiana. Its objective was to bring the organizations and clubs of the 4th District closer in counsel, and action for the improvement of the district and state regarding culture, civic concerns, philanthropic, and educational purposes. This collection contains minutes, individual club reports, and scrapbooks.

Back to the Top

553 EDWARD J. KOZAK COLLECTION, 1930s-2003.

12 linear ft.

Edward John Kozak was born in Cook County Illinois on November 17, 1925, into a family of professional musicians. He began his career as a drummer when he was five years old, played at the Chicago World Fair in 1932, toured with Xavier Cugat, was marimba soloist for Admiral Chester Nimitz during WWII, appeared on TV, radio, and played for President Nixon. He is active in the U.S. Coast Guard Power Squadron, has invented several musical aids and was married to Marjorie Goff for fifty years. This collection contains photographs of his musical career, original compositions, arrangements, Coast Guard and musical memorabilia, certificates, and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

554 PHILADELPHIA CENTER, 1990-2002.

9 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Established in 1990, the Philadelphia Center is a non-profit community service organization dedicated to providing HIV/AIDS education, information, and support to NW Louisiana. This collection contains minutes, reports, brochures, publications, and information about related agencies.

Back to the Top

555 QUIMPER, FRANCE AND SHREVEPORT, LA.

3 linear ft.

This collection consists of a plaque, and a large French bowl given to Shreveport in honor of the Sister-City Program which strives for cultural and economic exchanges between the two cities.

Back to the Top

556 HERMAN LOEB’S SOUTHERN HIDE AND FUR CO. COLLECTION, 1897-1937.

1.5 linear ft.

The Southern Hide and Fur Company, also known as the Southern Hide, Fur, and Cotton Co., as the Loeb Hide House, and later as the Loeb-Walker Company, was founded in Shreveport shortly after the Civil War and remained in operation until the mid - 20th Century. Herman Loeb (born Hermann Lob in Pfungstadt, near Darmstadt, Prussian in 1854; sometimes later known as Herbert Loeb) founded and ran the company until his death in 1929. The firm dealt in hides, furs, skins, and leather, wool, and cotton and was a major Shreveport area cotton factor. During the last decade of the 19th Century was the largest dealer in raw furs and beaver skins (used in water repellant coats and for top hats) in Louisiana. The company also operated a tannery and in later years manufactured fur and leather coats and other garments for wholesale throughout the South. Throughout its history the firm was located on Commerce St. on the Shreveport river front and for most of its history was located in buildings at the SW corner of Commerce and Crockett Streets. This small collection contains personal and business correspondence, photos, and ledgers.

Back to the Top

557 G.L. PEARRIE MATERIAL, 1942-1999.

1 linear ft.

G.L. and Burnestine Pearrie, who owned and operated the Pearrie Barber and Beauty Shop in the Lakeshore area, were active in the local civil rights movement. In 1957, he fought to integrate the state-funded trade schools and became the first black to attend in 1959. The Pearries contributed to the Northwest Louisiana African-American Museum in Shreveport. This collection contains information, biographies, newspaper articles, and photos of Shreveport’s blacks, their churches, and businesses.

Back to the Top

558 GLENDA SHARBONO FIRE DEPARTMENT RESEARCH COLLECTION, 1847-2003.

6 linear ft.

Since the mid 1850s, volunteer and professional firefighters have protected local citizens and their property. This collection of research notes and writings includes data, photographs, news clippings, and publications related primarily to Shreveport Fire Department, but also to Bossier City Fire Department, and Caddo / Bossier Parish fire departments. The book Fire Streams: An Illustrated History of the Shreveport Fire Department written by Glenda Sharbono is held in our Louisiana Collection located in the LSUS Archives.

Back to the Top

559 ROBERT M. "BOB" GRIFFIN TAPE COLLECTION, 1985-2001.

30 linear ft.

Bob Griffin came to Shreveport in 1961 to work for KSLA-TV. During his carrier with KSLA-TV he wrote, filmed, and narrated video material on travel, sports, and other subjects. He is a long-time TV Sports Announcer and former TV Sports Director for KSLA. He also worked for the Shreveport Journal as a travel writer, sports writer, photographer, and columnist ("Prime Time"). Griffin also was active in radio, with such programs as the "Bob Griffin Radio Show." The collection is made up of VHS video tapes, cassette audio tapes, 16mm movie films, video master tapes, and Beta tapes.

Back to the Top

560 SHREVEPORT CHAPTER, NATIONAL SOCIETY, DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION, 1983-1992.

3 linear ft.

The Shreveport Chapter was chartered in 1908 by Laura Lister Alexander. Many accomplishments and projects mark its history. This collection consists of Press Books containing photos, news clips, programs, and certificates.

Back to the Top