541 CADDO PARISH SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT TAX ASSESSMENT ROLL BOOKS, 1880-1920; 1954.

60 linear ft.

Information in each of the 106 books includes: Name of taxable person in Caddo Parish, address, race, acreage, detailed description of property, cash values, and total assessment of taxes.

Back to the Top

542 GRABILL STUDIO COLLECTION, 1919-1980s.

15 linear ft.

The book, Photo by Grabill, a Legacy of Images, (available in the LSUS Archives) tells the story of the Grabill Studio and the Grabill family along with 300 of their most important historic photographs. This collection contains about 3,500 negatives from the Grabill Studio which was active in Shreveport from 1919 through the 1980s. Burch and his son Bill chronicled the development of Shreveport commercially and socially for eight decades by means of city and river aerials, streets, homes, portraits of individuals, industry, and organizations.

Back to the Top

543 LEDBETTER HEIGHTS MATERIALS, 1978-1986.

2 linear ft.

This collection includes publications, newspaper clippings, and class projects related to the Ledbetter Heights/"Bottoms" area of Shreveport. Information dates from the 1830s to the 1990s.

Back to the Top

544 ALAN THOMPSON RESEARCH MATERIALS, 1928-2002.

2 linear ft.

Historical, social, and geographical material utilized by Dr. Thompson including information on Shreveport, Caddo and other Louisiana Parishes, Caddo Lake and East Texas cities, U.S. Presidents, U.S. travel, and the Civil War.

Back to the Top

545 UNITED DAUGHTERS OF THE CONFEDERACY, SHREVEPORT CHAPTER 237 COLLECTION, 1840s-1997.

37 linear ft.

Shreveport Chapter 237 of the UDC was organized July 6, 1898 to preserve the history of the Confederacy and to honor those who served the cause. Records include historical information, photographs, financial records, minutes, award winners, and scrapbooks.

Back to the Top

546 JAMES D. AND JUANITA CAWTHON MATERIAL, 1918-2004.

.5 linear ft.

Collection contains photographs and historical material, including early photographs of Doyline, Louisiana and a personal account of World War II written by Charles R. Davis.

Back to the Top

547 RED RIVER REVEL COLLECTION, 1973-2007.

27 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

In 1976, the Red River Revel continued the festivities of the 1975 Bicentennial celebration of the U.S. Constitution. This collection includes brochures, newspaper supplements and articles, scrapbooks, photographs, slides, videos, souvenirs, and posters from the twenty-six years of the Revel.

Back to the Top

548 PAT MEADOR’S WOMEN’S STUDY RESEARCH, 1787-2000.

6 linear ft.

The focus of Ms. Meador’s study is women during the late 1800s and early 1900s. Emphasis is on women’s clubs, biographies, political activities, and the suffrage movement. The collection includes newspaper articles, census information, essays, and correspondence.

Back to the Top

549 J. FRANK McANENY PHOTOGRAPHIC COLLECTION, 1946-1982.

21 linear ft.

J. Frank McAneny was a photographer for The Shreveport Times, Shreveport Journal, KSLA-TV, and KTBS-TV with a career that spanned more than 50 years. The collection is primarily negatives, but also contains prints, exhibit posters, slides, and movie film.

Back to the Top

550 PORTRAIT 2000.

15 linear ft.

In anticipation of the turn of the century, Neil Johnson, Shreveport photographer, wanted to record images of the Shreveport and Bossier community. Working at malls, factories, and businesses, he photographed 2000 people. These photos were exhibited throughout the city, and the originals were given to the individuals. This collection contains the negatives from this endeavor, with the remaining photos which were not retrieved by the individuals. A CD ROM is also included which contains the images, and the voice-over narration by Johnson.

Back to the Top