531 NORTH LOUISIANA HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION COLLECTION, 1952-2000.

1.5 linear ft.

The NLHA was organized in 1952 to collect and preserve historical material about North Louisiana. Since the early 1970s, a journal of articles by professional historians, students, and lay persons has been published. This collection includes material concerning the association, papers not used, financial information, and correspondence.

Back to the Top

532 LSU-S ORAL HISTORY FILES COLLECTION, 1976-1990.

3 linear ft. RESTRICTED

These records from the LSU-S Oral History Program include complete and incomplete transcripts, field notes, and some cassette tapes of personal interviews. Many of the oral histories are duplications of the LSU-S Noel Memorial Archives Oral History Collection.

Back to the Top

533 BOSSIER PARISH MEDICAL AUXILIARY SCRAPBOOKS, 1980-1996.

.5 linear ft.

The Bossier Parish Medical Auxiliary was organized in June 1980 for educational and civic purposes. These scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings, yearbooks, photographs, lists, and constitution.

Back to the Top

534 HENRIE JO BARTH COLLECTION.

1 linear ft.

This collection contains three items: a 15th century Japanese scroll, a tobacco pouch, and souvenir photos of Chinese imperial family.

Back to the Top

535 RUFUS SAMUELS RECORDS, 1900-1990s.

.5 linear ft.

This collection contains deed, land grants, oil and gas leases, and photographs of Samuels’ land.

Back to the Top

536 SAM SEGAL PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION, 1974-1982.

4 linear ft.

Sam Segal (1913-1982), an avid photographer, took pictures from many local theater companies in Shreveport: Shreveport Little Theatre, Theatre One, Marjorie Lyons Playhouse, and Gas Light Productions. This collection consists of productions mainly from the 1970s.

Back to the Top

537 GARDNER AND FRED NAGLE COLLECTION, 1919-1993.

6 linear ft.

Known as "those crazy Nagle boys" for the many times they flew under the Red River Bridge, Gardner and Fred Nagle learned to fly at a time when airplanes were first getting off the ground. This collection documents, through memorabilia, newspaper clippings, but mostly photographs, the lives of these two brothers who engaged in aerial pursuits.

Back to the Top

538 THE DEMOISELLE CLUB, INC. COLLECTION, 1948-1994.

15 linear ft.

On December 22, 1948, the Shreveport Country Club revived a custom of presenting its members’ daughters as debutantes of the season. From this came the formation of The Demoiselle Club. It was incorporated in 1951 with a governing board of 15 members. This collection consists of the organizational notebooks for the Demoiselle Ball, scrapbooks of pictures, programs, news clips, and invitations.

Back to the Top

539 NORWELA COUNCIL OF BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA RECORDS, 1925-1999.

114 linear ft.

Norwela Council was chartered Nov. 17, 1925. These records contain historical information from 1925 to 1960s, minutes of the Executive Board from 1950s-1960s, and some legal documents from 1950s-1960s. Membership material is mainly from the 1980s as are awards, and other programs launched by the Norwela Council. The bulk of the material is the troops, packs, and posts applications which often contain achievement records. Some of the troop applications go as far back as the beginning of the Norwell Council in 1925.

Back to the Top

540 ALMETA STUDY CLUB COLLECTION, 1953-2001.

1 linear ft.

Members of this women’s club, organized in 1953, met to broaden their understanding of the world around them. Materials include historical information, yearbooks, miscellaneous data, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top