521 QUOTA CLUB OF SHREVEPORT, LA, 1989-1999.

3 linear ft.

The Quota Club of Shreveport was chartered in 1989, then incorporated in 1991 "to unite business executives and professionals for service." Their objective is to serve country and community, promote high ethical standards and ideals, and develop good fellowship. To fulfill these objectives, the local group participates in programs including "Shatter the Silence" for the education and assistance of the hearing and speech impaired, and habitat projects. They also sponsor fund-raising events such as the Super Derby "Jam at the Downs" and the Spring Tour of Homes.

Back to the Top

522 WILLIAM B. WIENER PAPERS, 1929-1999.

3 linear ft.

William B. Wiener, Sr. (1907-1991), a prominent architect in Shreveport, received numerous awards for his architectural work. He and Samuel G. Wiener, his brother held the unique distinction of being Fellows of the American Institute of Architects. William Wiener also participated in numerous civic and business activities. His collection contains biographical information in addition to files and photographs of his work, including the award-winning design for his residence on Longleaf Lane in Shreveport.

Back to the Top

523 KEITH NORWOOD COLLECTION: CADDO AND DESOTO FAMILIES.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

A collection of memories and writings of early Caddo and DeSoto families. Includes: Heathman, King, Norwood, Walker and a history of the Lula, Louisiana community.

Back to the Top

524 NAVY MOTHERS CLUB RECORDS, 1941-1977.

1.5 linear ft.

Ava Snellen Tyner (Mrs. J. B. Tyner) collected material from her years as Commander of the local Navy Mothers Club. Included in these records are photographs, programs, news clips, memorabilia, correspondence, and general information.

Back to the Top

525 RED RIVER LOCK AND DAM PLAQUES COLLECTION, 1983-1995.

1.5 linear ft.

Five plaques donated at the dedication of the Red River Lock and Dams, plus an illustration of the Lock and Dam procedures make up this collection.

Back to the Top

526 R. J. FOX COLLECTION, 1913-1970.

3 linear ft.

R. J. Fox owned Auto Parts in Cedar Grove and Agurs, Louisiana. He actively volunteered in political, civic, and religious events. His collection includes Shreveport post cards, music published in Shreveport, programs from performances at the Municipal Auditorium, and information pertinent to Shreveport during World War II. In addition, there are newspapers and publications relating to Huey Long and labor issues.

Back to the Top

527 LOUISIANA HAYRIDE RECORDINGS AND MATERIALS, 1921-2003.

0.5 linear ft.

These Louisiana Hayride Albums on C.D. include Classic Country, Gospel, and Comedy Radio Music.

Back to the Top

528 SHREVEPORT CHARITY HOSPITAL SCHOOL OF NURSING RECORDS, 1918-1974.

30 linear ft.

This collection consists of the student academic nursing records for the Shreveport Charity Hospital School of Nursing from 1918-1951. The multiple bibliographic records for graduates, non-graduates, and those receiving specialized training, includes: course grades, letters of recommendation and inquiry, and state certification documents. The school was located within the hospital at 1240 Texas Avenue.

Back to the Top

529 GEORGIE HARMAN CHANDLER PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION.

6.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Georgie Harman Chandler was born Nov.25, 1908, daughter of Bessie Stringfellow and Sidney J. Harman. She was a graduate of Foster Hall in Shreveport and Randolph-Macon Women’s College in Lynchburg, VA. These photographs are of the Stringfellows, the Harmans, and the Chandlers.

Back to the Top

530 FRANK PAGE COLLECTION, 1913-2007.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Frank Page began his employment with KWKH-AM in November 1947, and was also stage announcer for the Louisiana Hayride since its inception and in that capacity helped launch the careers of hundreds of country music artists and was inducted into the Country DJ Hall of Fame in 1998. This collection contains photographs, but mostly newspaper clippings about the Louisiana Hayride Artists.

Back to the Top