201 WOMAN’S UNION LABEL LEAGUE RECORDS, 1907-1940.

1 linear ft.

Organized March 11, 1907 under the auspices of the Central Trades and Labor Council, the Woman’s Union Label League encouraged the purchase and use of union label goods. Ladies belonging to the organization were predominately wives of the union members. The first president was Mrs. W. T. Ecks. These records include minute ledgers and dues ledgers, and one journal, The Woman’s Label League Journal, December, 1928.

Back to the Top

202 PARIS LEARY (1931-    ) COLLECTION, 1940s-1985.

4 linear ft.

Poet and educator, Paris Leary was born in Shreveport in 1931. He was educated at Centenary College, Seabury-Western Theological College, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois., St. Augustine’s College and Canterbury and Oxford Universities. He taught at the University of Kentucky, Bard College (New York), and the University of Leicester in England. Dr. Leary is the author of several books of poetry, a novel, The Innocent Curate, and The Jack Sprat Cookbook. This collection includes manuscripts of Leary’s poetry, short stories and plays; published works containing his poems and short stories; reviews and clippings regarding Leary and his works; texts of several sermons and tapes of interviews and readings. Also included is a group of letters, the Michael Williams Letters. These letters relate to her husband, writer Charles Williams, who was the subject of a book, Charles Williams, Poet of Theology.

Back to the Top

203 EUGENE HOLMAN COLLECTION, 1929-1960.

3 linear ft.

Seven scrapbooks of photographs of family, friends and some business . Collection is mainly photographs of pleasure and hunting trips in the U.S. and abroad. There are some photographs of oil fields outside the United States.

Back to the Top

204 LLOYD LENARD PAPERS, 1961-1962.

1 linear ft.

Lloyd Lenard was moderator of the KWKH radio program "Party Line," 1961-1962. These papers include correspondence from radio listeners, notes from radio broadcasts and from conservative literature.

Back to the Top

205 LEON MARION McKINNEY, JR. COLLECTION, 1911-1967.

2.5 linear ft.

Includes well logs from North Louisiana and East Texas and four volumes on oil and gas field development in 1947, 1948 and 1967.

Back to the Top

206 T. H. LAWRENCE STORE LEDGERS, 1893-1966.

16 linear ft.

Ninety-nine store ledgers of the T. H. Lawrence Store, Houghton, Louisiana.

Back to the Top

207 DOMINICK BROTHERS GENERAL MERCANTILE COMPANY RECORDS, 1918-1937.

Film 55: 3 reels microfilm.

Ledgers of the Dominick Brothers General Mercantile Company in Mira, Louisiana. The original owner was J. H. Dominick.

Back to the Top

208 FANNIE LESTER PAPERS, 1884-1979.

13 linear ft.

Fannie Lester and Capitola Smith operated the Velma Lee Candy Co. during the 1930’s and 1940's. These papers include the candy company’s records, 1938-1946, personal correspondence, and miscellaneous publications.

Back to the Top

209 JOHN A. HARRIS CIVIL WAR LETTERS, 1861-1864.

.5 linear ft.

John A. Harris was a private in Company D, 19th Louisiana Infantry Regiment, CSA. He was from Athens, Louisiana in Claiborne Parish and when he enlisted in 1861, he had a wife and several children at home. He served in Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, and was killed in action near Atlanta, Georgia in July, 1864. These letters are written to his wife, Rebecca. Some describe camp life, health problems and troop movements. His family and his farm in Athens, Louisiana are also mentioned.

Back to the Top

210 SHREVEPORT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE PHOTOGRAPHS, 1918.

Photograph Collection

Photographs of Shreveport businesses (interior and exterior views) taken by the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce for a 1918 publicity album.

Back to the Top