211 SHREVEPORT TAX AND BOND ISSUE RECORDS, 1903-1937.

2.5 linear ft.

These records include tax rolls for the Town of South Highlands, 1917-1926; tax rolls for the Town of Cedar Grove, 1920-1926; Bond Issue Record of Remittance and Returns, 1903-1937; and one ledger of Fireman’s and Relief Fund records, 1923.

Back to the Top

212 NATCHITOCHES-SULPHUR FORK FACTORY LETTER-BOOK, 1809-1821.

Film 48: 1 reel microfilm

The Natchitoches Trading House or "factory" as it was called, was established in 1805 and was one of the first government trading houses west of the Mississippi after the Louisiana Purchase. Its first location was on Red River a short distance above Natchitoches. In 1818, it was moved to Sulphur Fork in present-day Arkansas. The purpose of this government trading house was to promote liberal trade with the Indians. This letter-book contains copies of letters sent from Natchitoches–Sulphur Fork Factory to the Superintendent of Indian Trade in Washington, D.C., 1809-1821, when the trading house system was abolished.

Back to the Top

213 M. ELWOOD WILLIAMS AVIATION MATERIALS, 1928-1959.

1 linear ft.

Includes a pilot’s log and scrapbook with photographs, correspondence, airplane certificates and licenses, aviation business cards and newspaper clippings re: North Louisiana aviation activities and personalities.

Back to the Top

214 SYLVIA GALLAGHER MATERIALS, 1962-1971.

.5 linear ft.

Includes pottery show announcements, exhibition catalogs, articles on her pottery work, clippings and some photographs.

Back to the Top

215 JOHN ARDIS MANRY (1903-1993) PAPERS, 1803-1980.

23.5 linear ft.; Film 71: 4 reels microfilm

Journalist, regional scholar, historian, photographer, and genealogist. Papers include correspondence, historical research notes, reports and clippings on numerous topics primarily related to Bossier Parish, Louisiana. There are also many negatives and genealogical files on Bossier Parish families.

Back to the Top

216 SHREVEPORT MEDICAL SOCIETY WOMEN’S AUXILIARY BOOK COLLECTION, 1875-1949.

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Medical books donated to the Pioneer Heritage Center Doctor’s Office Project by the Shreveport Medical Society Women’s Auxiliary. Some are housed in the Archives and some in the Doctor’s Office at the Pioneer Heritage Center.

Back to the Top

217 JAMES LANKFORD COLLECTION, 1842-1982.

97 photographs and maps

This collection contains 97 photographs and maps relating to Shreveport and North Louisiana. These materials are maintained in the general photograph collection and map case.

Back to the Top

218 SOUTH HIGHLANDS PARENT-TEACHER ASSOCIATION RECORDS, 1929-1954.

1 linear ft.

These records include eleven scrapbooks, two minute books, three committee notebooks and five ledger books pertaining to the South Highlands PTA, 1929-1954.

Back to the Top

219 SHREVEPORT AD CLUB MEMBERSHIPS, 1913-1920.

.5 linear ft.

Membership Application Cards for the Shreveport Ad Club. Each card lists name, address, business and person recommended by for each applicant.

Back to the Top

220 ANNA BELL WORDEN COLLECTION, 1915-1982.

5 linear ft.

Anna Bell Worden was a teacher and well-known local pianist. She received her training under Bendetson Netzorg of Berlin and at the Harold Morris Studio in New York City. She was a soloist with the Shreveport Symphony and founder and director of the Anna Bell Worden Piano Ensemble. Mrs. Worden was a member of the Friends of the Music Club, National Federation of Music Clubs, and the Music Teachers Association. This collection includes performance programs featuring Anna Bell Worden and her students, the Shreveport Symphony and other; clippings, scrapbooks and photographs relating to her musical career; music club materials; and a section of correspondence regarding Van Cliburn performances.

Back to the Top