401 VAN LEAR LEARY (1903-1988) MATERIALS, 1919-1990.

1 linear ft.

Van Lear Leary was a pioneer aviator in Shreveport, Louisiana, and co-founder of its first airport, Shreveport Airport. He and the late Currey Sanders attempted to set an endurance flight record in 1929, but engine trouble forced them down after 128 hours, 40 minutes. Orville Wright signed Leary’s "aerial sporting license." The collection contains correspondence, aviation articles, pilot licenses, pilot’s logbooks, aviation atlases, publications, newspaper clippings, photographs, including one of the KWKH "Hello World Doggone Ya" aircraft.

Back to the Top

402 NATIONAL SOCIETY OF ARTS AND LETTERS, SHREVEPORT CHAPTER, 1955-1989.

2.5 linear ft.

The National Society of Arts and Letters was founded in Washington, D.C., in 1944. Its aims are to encourage and assist young artists, conduct non-competitive exhibitions in art, drama, literature, and music, and make career awards after competition in creative arts. The Shreveport chapter began in 1955. The collection consists of scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings, programs, photographs, yearbooks, newsletters, memorabilia, and a small amount of correspondence.

Back to the Top

403 LOUISIANA HAYRIDE SCRAPBOOKS, 1955-1975.

.5 linear ft.

This collection contains newspaper clippings, autographed pictures of Louisiana Hayride performers, Nat Stuckey Fan Club journals and newsletters, a copy of a letter signed by Elvis Presley, and other Hayride memorabilia.

Back to the Top

404 QUID NUNC LITERARY SOCIETY RECORDS, 1933-1990.

1.5 linear ft.

The Quid Nunc Literary Society was organized in 1933 as a junior literary club under the auspices of the Southern Literary Club. Its purpose was the study of drama, music, literature and art. These records include minutes, correspondence, yearbooks, a scrapbook, financial records and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

405 MARSHALL-SPEAGLE FAMILY CORRESPONDENCE, 1943-1947.

Film 81: 1 reel microfilm.

Edward Peyton Marshall and Darlene Speagle met at a USO dance in Cherrault Field, Illinois and were married in 1943. Mr. Marshall was stationed at an airbase near London, England. These letters, many of them Victory Mail, document many of Mr. Marshall’s experiences during World War II.

Back to the Top

406 LINE AVENUE PTA SCRAPBOOKS, 1935-1953.

2.5 linear ft.

Scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings, photographs, annual reports, lists of officers and chairwomen, PTA yearbooks, copies of The Council Bulletins published by the Shreveport Council of Parent-Teacher Associations. One of the scrapbooks is from the Shreveport Council of Parent-Teacher Associations.

Back to the Top

407 THOMAS CARR SCRAPBOOKS, 1939-1966.

2.5 linear ft.

Scrapbooks No. 1 and 2 focus on newspaper clippings about World War II. Scrapbooks No. 3 and 4 contain clippings of a general interest covering the 1960’s.

Back to the Top

408 LOUISIANA GUBERNATORIAL ELECTION MATERIALS, 1986-1991.

.5 linear ft.

Edwin Edwards, Buddy Roemer, David Duke, Clyde Holloway, and Kathleen Blanco were candidates for the governorship of Louisiana in 1991. This collection contains newspaper articles, campaign material, opinion polls, biographical information, election results and audio cassette interviews with the candidates. This material was collected by Chuck Fellers, editor, Forum Magazine.

Back to the Top

409 NEWTON CRAIN BLANCHARD (1849-1922) PAPERS, 1871-1907.

2 linear ft.

Newton Crane Blanchard, governor of Louisiana from 1904-1908, began his law practice in Shreveport, Louisiana in 1871, and was elected Chairman of the Democratic Commission of Caddo Parish in 1876. This collection consists of business and political correspondence, 1871-1888. Also included are personal correspondence, legal material, financial receipts and a scrapbook in memory of his wife, Emily Barret Blanchard (d. 1907).

Back to the Top

410 KANSAS CITY SOUTHERN RAILWAY ARCHITECTURAL, MECHANICAL, AND GEOGRAPHICAL DRAWINGS AND MAP RECORDS, 1898-1993.

42 linear ft.

On March 19, 1900, Arthur Stilwell developed the Kansas City Southern Railway Co. He was responsible for constructing a railway that extended from Kansas City, Missouri to the Gulf of Mexico. It has since become one of the most diversified railway companies in the United States. The holdings consist of over 4,260 items including architectural and mechanical drawings; maps: quadrangles, parish, county, property; studies of the Red, Mississippi, Atchafalaya and Sabine Rivers, and aerial photographs. The collection presents the visual development and expansion of KCS Railway and its impact on the economic, social, civic, and industrial development of many towns and cities in the Midwest and South.

Back to the Top