411 AUTHORS CLUB RECORDS, 1904-1999.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Authors Club is the second oldest women’s literary club in Shreveport having been founded in 1899. Programs were devoted to the study of classic and modern authors. These records include the constitution and by-laws, minutes, yearbooks and scrapbooks.

Back to the Top

412 FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF SHREVEPORT, 1849-1976.

Film 82: 2 reels microfilm.

Organized in 1845 by Rev. James Gallagher. First known building on corner of Edwards and Travis Streets. Current building on Jordan St. Opened in March 7, 1926. Records include minutes of Board of Trustees, minutes of Sessions, church registers, pastors registers, meetings, reports, correspondence and resolutions. Also some material on the "Memorial" Presbyterian Church in DeSoto Parish, Louisiana, 1852-1924.

Back to the Top

413 DIANA SIMEK COLLECTION, 1974-1991.

18 linear ft.

Diana M. Simek, native of Chicago, Illinois, came to Shreveport-Bossier in 1968. Owner of Diana Simek Creative Services, a public relations firm specializing in economic and community development clients. Managed PR campaigns of numerous political candidates; Director, Caddo-Bossier Port Commission for 11 years; owner Simek and Associates, an international consulting firm; founding member, vice-president, board member of Ports Association of Louisiana. This collection documents her association with various political campaigns, organizations, civic and business groups including Shreveport Chamber of Commerce, Port Commission, Coordinating and Development Corp., Red River Valley Association, and Ports Association of Louisiana. Included are minutes, reports, correspondence, photos, booklets, books and brochures, newspaper clippings, seminars, and videos.

Back to the Top

414 SYDNEY B. NELSON LEGISLATIVE PAPERS, 1980-1992.

32 linear ft.

Sydney B. Nelson, attorney and state senator, born in Benton, Louisiana, March 12, 1935, received his B. B. A. from the University of Oklahoma and his LL.B. from LSU. A member of the State Senate since 1980, he represented Senate District 37, which comprised the central business districts of Shreveport and Bossier, East Shreveport (Broadmoor and South Highlands), and 90% of Bossier City. He did not seek a fourth term but returned to private practice in Shreveport in 1992. His collection contains senatorial files 1984-1992, his 1989 Shreveport Bar Association Records, information regarding the year of his presidency, clippings, and a video.

Back to the Top

415 HELEN ROWE GOSS PAPERS, 1932-1991.

6 linear ft.

Helen Rowe Goss, political activist and community leader was born in Muncie, Indiana, in 1904. She moved to Shreveport, Louisiana in 1929. As a former teacher, she continued her interest in children and books by chairing the Southfield Library Committee and founding the Southfield Book Shop. As state president of the League of Women Voters for four years and Shreveport Chapter president for two years, she was involved in slum clearance, founder of the Louisiana Statewide Committee on Improved Registration, and joined in the dispute over the location of the Shreveport Regional Airport. She was director of Headstart for three years and is the first recipient of the Helen Goss Recycling Award, an award named for her contributions to environmental preservation. This collection consists of material relating to the League of Women Voters, Headstart and the Community Coordinated Child Care program, as well as minutes, reports, correspondence, publications, clippings, maps, 1932-1987.

Back to the Top

416 CADDO PARISH CORONER’S OFFICE RECORDS, 1922-1971.

348 linear ft.

This collection consists of a series of reports, documents, correspondence, photographs, and photographic negatives from the files of the Caddo Parish Coroner’s Office, and primarily dates from the mid 1920’s to the late 1960’s. Most of the material originated from the first tenure in office (1916-1961) of long-time Caddo Parish Coroner, Dr. Willis P. Butler (1888-1991). Included are fatal and non-fatal injury reports, autopsy reports, laboratory analyses, mental case reports, and institution commitment forms, as well as coroner’s office correspondence. (See also: Collection 066, Willis P. Butler Papers.)

Back to the Top

417 YELLOW FEVER EPIDEMIC MATERIALS, 1873-1874.

2 linear ft.

Booth, Augustine Rue, "An Inaugural Dissertation: History of the Epidemic (Yellow Fever) of Shreveport, Louisiana, 1873, Submitted to the University of Louisville for the Degree of Doctor of Medicine." Also: Howard Association, "Report of the Committee on the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1873 at Shreveport, Louisiana" Gestationis. Medical Pamphlet # 31. Published by Simmons and Co., Printers, 18 Milam Street., 1874.

Back to the Top

418 LESTER C. HAAS ARCHITECTURAL RECORDS, 1923-1992.

48 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Lester C. Haas, Shreveport architect, ran his own architectural firm from 1946-1966. From 1966-1988, he was a partner in the firm of Haas and Massey. He is now semi-retired. Mr. Haas has received numerous honors and awards for his work and designs. He is active in many civic organizations and is a founding member of the Caddo Foundation for Exceptional Children, and C-BARC. Some of his architectural achievements are the remodeling of the Strand Theater, NSU, Pioneer Bank, St. Pius X Church, KTBS, and the MLK Health Center, and hundreds more. This collection contains his drawings from 1946-1992.

Back to the Top

419 FLORA DuVAL ART MATERIALS, 1972-1992.

.5 linear ft.

Flora DuVal, professional artist, was born in Haskell, Oklahoma in 1906 and lived in Shreveport, Louisiana for 40 years. She had a career in printing from 1925-1963 working the last eleven years at the Shreveport Times. Her art works are exhibited at numerous galleries including Stoner Arts Center, Montgomery Museum of Art, and Mississippi Art Association, Jackson, Mississippi. The collection consists of photos, slides, sketchbook, taped interviews, news clippings and brochures.

Back to the Top

420 SHREVEPORT IRIS SOCIETY RECORDS, 1938-1975.

1 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Shreveport Iris Society was organized in March, 1938 by Mrs. J. E. Smitherman. The purpose of the society was to promote the appreciation and growing of fine irises in North Louisiana. Flower shows, lectures, demonstrations, garden tours, and civic beautification projects accomplished these goals. The collection consists of the history and constitution; also scrapbooks of newspaper clippings, photos, yearbooks, and programs.

Back to the Top