061 EMERSON BENTLEY (1850-1889) DIARY AND NOTES, 1861-1889.

.5 linear ft.; Film 19: 1 reel microfilm.

Teacher of freed black children with the Freedmen’s Bureau in Bayou Carollton, Lafourche, Louisiana, he was later a Republican newspaper editor supporting the rights of blacks in Carrollton and New Orleans, Louisiana. His diary as a teacher with the Freedmen’s Bureau, 1864-1865, includes notes, newspaper clippings on his work with the Bureau, and his editorials encouraging land reform for blacks under Radical Reconstruction.

Back to the Top

062 LOUISIANA CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION 1973, OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT.

Film 13: 7 reels microfilm.

Proceedings from the first day through 122nd day, including the original, the final draft, speeches, resolutions, discussions, and votes make up this collection.

Back to the Top

063 ABRAM BRILL PAPERS, 1900-1940.

3 linear ft.

Rabbi to Beth Israel, Meridian, Mississippi, prior to coming to Shreveport as Rabbi at Temple B’nai Zion, 1921-1940. Includes numerous sermons and addresses, Bar Mitzvah speeches, confirmation programs and some correspondence.

Back to the Top

064 P. A. BLOOMER MATERIALS, 1939-1940.

3 linear ft.

General manager of the Louisiana Long Leaf Lumber Co., 1905-1950, he was a pioneer in the tree farm movement in Louisiana, and one of the organizers of the Louisiana Forestry Commission. The collection includes periodical publications from the lumber industry.

Back to the Top

065 ALFRED FLOURNOY, JR. (1832-1901) CORRESPONDENCE, 1861-1864.

.5 linear ft.

The first son of Dr. Alfred Flournoy, Sr. (1796-1873) of Greenwood, Louisiana, Alfred Flournoy, Jr. was also a Lieutenant in the Greenwood Guards which left Shreveport in April, 1861, to join the Confederate Army. Contained herein is correspondence between Alfred and his wife, Theodosia, while he was fighting in and around Richmond, Virginia, primarily between May 17, 1861 and June 12, 1862. Additional correspondence of his before and during the war is available. (See also: Collection 078, the Alfred Flournoy, Sr. Family Papers.)

Back to the Top

066 WILLIS P. BUTLER (1888-1991) PAPERS, 1909-1973.

56 linear ft.

Caddo Parish Coroner for half-a-century, he was an expert in forensic pathology, investigator of forensic-medico-legal matters, and Director of the Narcotics Clinic in Shreveport in the 1920’s. Includes correspondence, 1915-1973, relating to his education, medical career, work with the narcotics clinic and affiliation with social and professional organizations. Coroner, police, accident and pathology reports as well as photographs and newspaper clippings. Also includes correspondence and commitment records relating to Central Louisiana State Hospital in Pineville, Louisiana, history sheets of the Narcotics Division of the Louisiana State Board of Health, 1919-1920, and published works on anatomy, pathology and medical chemistry.

Back to the Top

067 WAYNE SPILLER GENEALOGICAL COLLECTION, 1813-1975.

2 linear ft.

Author of Branches from the Flournoy Tree, a history of the Flournoy family in Caddo Parish. Includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, family charts, notes, wills, successions and obituaries.

Back to the Top

068 SISTER DOROTHEA McCANTS PAPERS.

3 linear ft.

Sister McCants (1901-1995) was a Daughter of the Cross at St. Vincent Academy in Shreveport and former teacher and principal at Presentation Academy in Marksville, Louisiana, the first school established by the Daughters of the Cross. Includes class notes and teaching materials.

Back to the Top

069 LOUISIANA STATE GOVERNMENT RECORDS, 1850-1888.

Film 7: 24 reels microfilm.
(Originals in Louisiana State Archives.)

Ordinances, resolutions of Louisiana State Convention (Secession) of 1861; acts, resolutions of Louisiana Legislature, 1860-1865; letters received by Governor Thomas O. Moore, 1860-1864, and Henry W. Allen, 1864-1865; orders of Auditor’s Office, January-April, 1861; election returns of Louisiana, 1861-1865; miscellaneous documents of state government, 1860-1865. Eighty bound volumes contain printed proceedings of these aspects of Louisiana government during this period with records of the Treasury, the Secretary of State and the Adjutant General 1854, 1856, and 1860 respectively.

Back to the Top

070 CADDO PARISH SCHOOL BOARD (1877- ) MINUTE BOOKS, 1877-1980.

Film 9: 4 reels microfilm.
(Originals with the School Board.)

Original articles of School Board, minutes of meetings, notices, and results of examinations given to white and black applicants for positions as teachers in parish public schools and appointments for committees. Also included are resolutions of the board, financial reports, and teacher salaries.

Back to the Top