071 BOSSIER PARISH POLICE JURY MINUTE BOOKS AND COMMITTEE MINUTES, 1881-1973.

Film 10: 24 reels microfilm.
(Originals with Police Jury)

The Police Jury was the administrative and legislative body for Bossier Parish, Louisiana. This collection includes minute books and committee minutes from 1881.

Back to the Top

072 ORRA ETTA MANRY ART SCRAPBOOKS, 1946-1947.

2 linear ft.

Orra Etta Manry was an artist working in oils, watercolors, and pastels from 1945 and a member of Fine Arts Group of Shreveport. Includes scrapbooks with newspaper clippings, photographs, exhibit visitor's autographs and other memorabilia regarding Shreveport art, artists, exhibits as well as more widely acclaimed art and artists showing in or visiting Shreveport.

Back to the Top

073 CADDO PARISH SCHOOL BOARD (1877- ) SCRAPBOOKS, 1943-1964.

7 linear ft.

Newspaper clippings of activities of the school board and developments in education in Caddo Parish. Ten volumes are devoted to "Segregation News."

Back to the Top

074 LOUISIANA STATE FAIR ASSOCIATION (1906- ) RECORDS, 1906-1975.

8 linear ft.; Film 12: 2 reels microfilm.

Collection Inventory

Established in 1906 as the Louisiana State Fair Association, it was a self-supporting, non-profit, private association headed by directors from the fields of business, banking, utilities, agriculture, law, and investments, as well as other fields. Included are a charter of the State Fair, list of officers, directors, and committee members, financial statements, and reports relating to on-going activities of the fair and its relations with the government, 1950-1975.

Back to the Top

075 WILLIAM J. HUTCHINSON (1832-1913) FAMILY AND PLANTATION RECORDS, 1820-1969.

24 linear ft.

William J. Hutchinson settled in Louisiana in 1842 with family and brother, Robert; attended school in Springhill, Ark. and Centenary Institute in Summerfield, Alabama. Family purchased land in Bossier and Caddo Parishes and established the "Caspiana" Plantation in Spring, 1852. This collection includes business correspondence, receipts, advertisements, ledgers, account books, and wage and time books primarily for the period 1850-1891. Also has family correspondence, photographs, diaries, maps, and other materials relating to social, economic, and educational aspects of life.

Back to the Top

076 ALGIE BROWN (1910-2004) PAPERS, 1948-1972.

4 linear ft.

Algie Brown was a Louisiana State Representative from 1948 to 1972. Included are correspondence, bills, and resolutions, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, minutes of meetings, and financial data concerning issues brought to the House of Representatives, subjects of concern to his constituents, and matters regarding his campaigns.

Back to the Top

077 BUREAU OF REFUGEES, FREEDMEN AND ABANDONED LANDS, LOUISIANA RECORDS, 1865-1868.

Film 21: 2 reels microfilm.
(Originals in National Archives)

The Bureau (Freedmen’s Bureau), established in 1865, served as temporary bureau to care for the freedmen and the abandoned lands in the South. Records include reports, letters, expenditures and contracts relating to schools and hospitals in Caddo, Bossier, Bienville and DeSoto Parishes. A group of records of the Post of Shreveport, Louisiana, 1869-1876, containing letters, post orders, general orders, circulars and memoranda of the Post, and letters and special orders from the Office of the Quartermaster in Shreveport and New Orleans comprise this collection.

Back to the Top

078 ALFRED FLOURNOY, SR. (1796-1873) FAMILY PAPERS, 1824-1944.

1.5 linear ft.

Born at "Farmington" near Jude’s Ferry on James River, Virginia, Alfred Flournoy, Sr. was friend and protégé of Gen. Andrew Jackson. He lived in Giles County near Pulaski, Tennessee, before settling in Greenwood, Louisiana. Letters, photographs, newspaper clippings and the "Writings of J. P. Flournoy, Sr." re: the Flournoy family in Caddo Parish, 1824-1944, as well as photocopies and typescripts of correspondence with James K. Polk, and some Civil War correspondence are included.

Back to the Top

079 MRS. HELEN M. RAYMOND COLLECTION, 1890-1914; 1973.

.5 linear ft.

Member of pioneer Northwest Louisiana family. Clippings and photocopies of letters and articles re: Louisiana Chautaqua Society, Dr. William Marbury, and John James Audubon.

Back to the Top

080 PAUL L. CARRIGER CORRESPONDENCE AND RECORDS, 1928-1975.

1.5 linear ft.

"Paul the Radio Man" was the chief announcer and engineer for Shreveport radio stations KWKH, KRMD, and KWEA, and a pioneer in electronics. He formed Southern Television and Broadcasting Company, operating stations W5XA and W5CBU. Includes letters and cards from 37 states, Canada, and Puerto Rico acknowledging reception of radio stations W5XA and KWEA. Photographs, broadcast notes, news articles from the 1930’s, and some personal items from the 1960’s, a few items on KWKH and W. K. Henderson, as well as correspondence and news articles on the experimental radio station W9XX make up this collection.

Back to the Top