351 COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF CADDO AND BOSSIER PARISHES RECORDS, 1955-1987.

.5 linear ft.

The Community Council of Caddo and Bossier Parishes received its charter and was incorporated July 28, 1955. Its objects and purposes are: 1. to afford an avenue of cooperation among social agencies, to co-ordinate their efforts and prevent duplication of effort; 2. to foster a better understanding of social work in the community; 3. to encourage development of needed agencies and adoption of standards in social work; 4. to study needs and plan with the community to meet needs. These records include charter, by-laws, minutes, budgets, correspondence, and directory of social services in the Caddo-Bossier area.

Back to the Top

352 SHREVEPORT U. S. BICENTENNIAL COMMISSION RECORDS, 1776-1992.

1 linear ft.

This collection consists of minutes, working papers, committee and project correspondence, publications, photographs, and memorabilia of the Shreveport U.S. Bicentennials Commission, as it relates to the celebration of the Bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution.

Back to the Top

353 ALVIN CHILDS, JR. PAPERS, 1973-1987.

1 linear ft.

Alvin Childs, Jr. was a member of the Court Appointed Citizens Advisory Committee that worked with the Caddo Parish School Board to implement the 1973 Consent Decree to desegregate Caddo Parish schools. He served at different times as secretary and chairman of that committee. The papers include minutes, legal proceedings, school transfer requests, statistics and newspapers clippings.

Back to the Top

354 ST. VINCENT’S ACADEMY COLLECTION, 1869-2000.

310.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

In 1860 the Daughters of the Cross opened St. Mary’s Boarding and Day School in Holy Trinity Parish. In 1866 through the efforts of Holy Trinity’s pastor, Rev. Jeane Pierre, the sisters purchased the Nutt Plantation on "Fairfield Hill." In 1868 St. Vincent’s academy opened, and in 1889, under the supervision of Father N. J. Roulleaux, an extensive building program was launched. In 1906, fire destroyed the convent/school complex but by 1917 a brick and stone Gothic structure was completed. A new modern academy and convent were opened in 1962, but after more than a century of teaching, SVA closed in 1988. This collection contains information about the school, its curriculum, its history, and its students and activities associated with education. A complete alphabetized list of the students is included from SVA’s beginnings until its closure. Programs, yearbooks, minute books, clubs, school newspapers, photograph albums, videos, and slides document an education institution that influenced and contributed to Shreveport and Northwest Louisiana.

Back to the Top

355 SHREVEPORT MAP (1837) CORRESPONDENCE, 1837; 1880; 1889; 1986.

.5 linear ft.

Correspondence between Kay Jeter, Patricia L. Meador and former Mayor John Hussey re: original Shreve Town Map (1837). The map is located in Archives vault.

Back to the Top

356 HAUGHTON STORE LEDGERS, 1937-1946.

1 linear ft.

Six ledgers detail purchases by customers by name, what was purchased, and amount paid or credited.

Back to the Top

357 DANIEL P. SANDIFER (1927-1987) ARCHITECTURAL RECORDS, 1955-1981.

10 linear ft.

Dan P. Sandifer was a Shreveport architect and member of the Shreveport Metropolitan Planning Commission. He was also a founding member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Pierremont Oaks Tennis Club. Records include architectural drawings (173 sets), personal and business correspondence, photos, and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

358 WM. CHRISTOPHER O’HARE COLLECTION

.5 linear ft.

William Christopher O’Hare (1867-1946) was the first music director of the Shreveport Grand Opera House. During his twelve years in Shreveport (Fall 1888-Early 1901), O’Hare actively participated in the Shreveport Community. In addition to O’Hare’s directorship of the Opera House, he composed and orchestrated music, and organized amateur productions. He played the organ and directed choirs at St. Mark’s, First Baptist, and First Methodist Churches, and B’nai Zion Temple. O’Hare spent his remaining years in New York where he orchestrated Broadway musicals and composed ragtime era dance tunes.

Back to the Top

359 PTA SCRAPBOOKS, 1947-1952.

10.5 linear ft.

Three scrapbooks: (1) Shreveport Council of Parent-Teacher Associations, Fourth District, 1951-1952; (2) Creswell Elementary School PTA, 1947-1948; (3) Broadmoor Junior High School PTA, 1949-1950.

Back to the Top

360 RAI ZODIAG FRIENDENBERG VIOLIN, 1721.

Vault

A Stradivarius violin dated 1721, repaired and improved by N. S. Allen in 1895, owned by Mrs. Rai Zodiag Friendenberg.

Back to the Top