501 JUDGE CARLOS G. SPAHT SCRAPBOOKS, 1951-1952.

3 linear ft.

Carlos G. Spaht, born in 1906, received a law degree from LSU-Baton Rouge in 1931. After his service in World War II, Spaht was appointed District Judge. Throughout his career, he served as a church and community leader. In 1952, he ran for Governor of Louisiana. These scrapbooks chronicle that race, which resulted in Robert Kennon’s election as Governor.

Back to the Top

502 TOM BREWERTON (1940-1994) COLLECTION, 1918-1994.

3 linear ft.

M. T. "Tom" Brewerton was a geologist who attended A. C. Steere Elementary School, Broadmoor Junior High School and graduated from Byrd High School. He received his Bachelors degree from Centenary College and was an avid traveler. This collection contains correspondence, photographs, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

503 WILLIAM M. BARRET (1898-1986) COLLECTION, 1906-1996.

18 linear ft.

Geophysicist William Morris Barret founded William M. Barret, Inc. in 1931. He was an independent oil and gas operator with geophysical interests in gold exploration. Included in this collection are personal records from Barret and his wife Lola Belle Holloway Barret, investment information, general files from William M. Barret, Inc., photographs, artifacts, books, plaques, and maps.

Back to the Top

504 CADDO PARISH PLAT BOOK, 1948.

1.5 linear ft.

This collection includes photographic reproductions of the suburbs and subdivisions of Caddo Parish as shown in official records compiled, printed, and published by C. Lenton Sartain and Robert G. Mundinger, September 1948, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Indexed.

Back to the Top

505 OLD UNION BAPTIST CHURCH RECORDS, 1851-1995.

1 linear ft.

Old Union Baptist Church in Benton, Louisiana was organized in 1850. This collection contains a photocopy of the Union Church book and of the Convention Church book. These books provide member lists and minutes from 1851-1993. Notes, a history of Old Union, and photographs are also included.

Back to the Top

506 SOUTHFIELD SCHOOL RECORDS, 1934-to date.

45 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Southfield School had its beginnings in May, 1934 when Mrs. Butler P. Crittenden suggested to Mrs. Melvin F. Johnson the idea of forming a school which would adopt more modern methods of education than were then available in Shreveport public schools. The Shreveport School of Progressive Education was launched in September of 1934, with an enrollment of 21 first grade children in a basement room of the South Highlands school building. In 1935 the school was incorporated and in 1936 a new building was erected on an eight acre site, and the name was changed to Southfield School. This collection contains minutes from the Board of Trustees meetings and from the Annual Parents Meetings. Correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clipping, slides, and videos are included.

Back to the Top

507 INTERNATIONAL PAPER HISTORICAL LUMBER COMPANIES RECORDS, 1859-1959.

4.5 linear ft.

The books in this collection contain the complete historical records of several of the early lumber companies in North Louisiana and South Arkansas. Included are ledgers and minute books from the Minden Lumber Co., Good Pine Lumber Co., Tall Timber Lumber Co., Winn Land and Timber Co., Grant Timber Co., Louisiana and Arkansas Land and Lumber Co., Pine Woods Lumber Co., Ltd., Trout Creek Lumber Co., and Bodcau Lumber Co., Inc. In addition to the company log books is a book containing partial abstracts of Webster Parish Court Records with copies of deeds and estate information dating from patents signed by President James Buchanan in 1859.

Back to the Top

508 ROBERT "BO" WILLIAMS PAPERS, 1873; 1927-1998.

27 linear ft.

Robert "Bo" Williams served as Shreveport’s mayor from 1994 to 1998. His collection contains scrapbooks, appointment books, speeches, developmental reports and plans, and miscellaneous memorabilia from his tenure as mayor. At the end of his successful term, Mayor Williams, a paraplegic, received the Governor’s Award from "Louisiana Outstanding Citizen with a Disability for 1998."

Back to the Top

509 CHARLES SCOTT COLLINS COLLECTION, ca. 1940’s-1950’s.

12 linear ft.

Charles Scott Collins served in World War II in the Pacific Theatre and was a partner in the C. A. Collins & Son building firm which helped construct some of the oldest homes in the Shreveport suburb of Broadmoor. When he retired in 1958, the company ceased. The architectural drawings, which generally include 2 sheets, are mostly of 2 bedroom homes.

Back to the Top

510 JAMES S. "SUNNY" NOEL (1912-1998) COLLECTION. 1846-1998.

46 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

James S. Noel and the Noel family have played an important part in the growth and development of Shreveport and Caddo Parish, highlighted by the building of the Noel Memorial Methodist Church and the establishment by Mr. Noel of the Noel Foundation Library. Mr. Noel, a graduate of Centenary College, attended graduate school at the University of Oklahoma, taught English in Caddo Parish, was in WWII and, in 1951, became President of the Noel Estate, Inc. He held state and local championships in chess, wrestling, and handball. He was founder of the Caddo Teachers Association, served on the Board of the YMCA , the North La. Historical Association, the Lion’s Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. This collection includes correspondence, photographs, awards, newspaper clippings, Noel’s original writings, as well as writings from his students, publications, and diaries.

Back to the Top