Back to the Top

512 BEAIRD INDUSTRIES, INC., 1930-1998.

4.5 linear ft.

Since 1918, Beaird Industries has designed, and built items for the oil and gas industry, the chemical and petro chemical industry, the paper and pulp industry, and the transportation industry. The company’s name has changed from Bain-Beaird (1918) to J.B. Beaird, Inc. (195) to Riley-Beaird (1973), and finally to Beaird Industries, Inc. (1988), but the advanced technology, experienced workmanship, and quality production has remained consistent. The Beaird collection includes scrapbooks, miscellaneous information, photographs, patents and patent applications, advertisements, news clips, newsletters, and news releases.

Back to the Top

513 ERA CIVIC CLUB, 1950-1998.

Film 90: 2 reels microfilm.

The Era (Civic) Association of Shreveport was organized on October 16, 1902, by Mrs. Taliaferro Alexander for the purpose of civic improvement and municipal reform. Era succeeded in acquiring funds for plants, trees, concrete walks, and an iron fence for the Shreveport High School as well as securing city ordinances which required the planting of shade trees and establishing fines for inadequate disposal of refuse. Era was also influential in carrying the election for street paving and was the first women’s club in Louisiana to advocate Domestic Science for girls in public schools, and the placement of clerical courses in the regular curriculum. These two reels contain newspaper clippings, notes, and a scrapbook.

Back to the Top

514 OJ’s BEAUTY LOTION COMPANY RECORDS, 1907-1984.

12 linear ft.

In 1903, a young Texas pharmacist, O.J. Parham, formulated a lotion for his wife’s skin condition. Minnie Craig Parham’s skin troubles vanished and work of mouth advertising created a demand for OJ’s Beauty Lotion. The Parhams moved to Shreveport in 1910 where O.J. became manager of the Carter (later Carter-Mayfield) Drug Co., 326 Texas Ave., where the lotion was made in the back of the store and later in a house on Spring St. In 1955, a plant was opened at3807 Florence St. Realizing the value of advertising, Parham became affiliated with an ad agency, U.O. Colson, which produced hand-held fans, every one prominently displaying an OJ’s Beauty Lotion ad. O.J. became their top salesman, selling over 200,000 fans. Parham died June 16, 1955, but his wife, daughter and family continued to manage the business and factory. In 1964 when Mrs. Parham died, the business stayed in the capable hands of her family. On Aug. 1, 1984, OJ’s was liquidated and its assets sold to Goody’s Manufacturing Corp. This collection consists of the correspondence, advertising, photos, and memorabilia of this well-known Shreveport company.

Back to the Top

515 RIVER CITIES MAGAZINE RECORDS, 1981-1988.

9 linear ft.

River Cities Magazine of Shreveport and Bossier began December 1981 as a monthly publication by River Cities Publishing Co. incorporated ca. September 6, 1981 with Graydon F. Smart, editor, publisher, and chairman of the Board of Directors. Current and historical articles about business, industry, culture, recreation, and individuals were featured. The dissolution occurred October 6, 1988. Included are the articles of incorporation, minutes, and plaques.

Back to the Top

516 CALE-MURRELL COLLECTION, 1851-1990.

6 linear ft.

Mattie Cale, daughter of J.E. Cale of Mansfield, married Joseph Warren Murrell, a planter. During their married life, they lived near Grand Bayou, Shreveport, and settled in Mansfield. Her interests included her church, music, reading, poetry, and her family. There as shown through her books, photographs, diaries, letters, and programs.

Back to the Top

517 EDMUND L. STAGGS METAL PLATE NEGATIVE COLLECTION.

3.5 linear ft.

Seventy-nine metal negative plates, most identified.

Back to the Top

518 SARA DAY OLSON PAPERS, 1997-1999.

.5 linear ft.

Sara Elisabeth Day Olson was born in Goss, La. on February 27, 1915, daughter of Smith Woods Day and Margaret George Day. She lived in the Caddo Parish oil fields near Trees City and Pine Island until moving into Shreveport at the age of five. She graduated from Byrd High School in 1933 and from LSU in 1940. In 1945, she began the Caddo Parish School for Exceptional Children, raising $150,000 for its use. The first classroom for the school was in an old restroom building on the fairgrounds. She married Charles Sumner Olson of Guthrie, OK in 1948 and had a son, Robert Day Olson (1949-1969), and daughter, Margaret Ellen Olson Tassin (1950- ). Sara taught in Caddo Parish at Woodlawn High School from its opening in 1961 until retiring in 1979. Since that time she has been a world traveler and frequent speaker at continuing education schools and local organizations. This collection contains Olson’s original poems and articles.

Back to the Top

519 GEORGE D’ARTOIS MATERIALS, 1964-1986.

4 linear ft.

George D’Artois (1925-1977) was Shreveport’s Commissioner of Public Safety from 1962-1976. He was embroiled in a public funds scandal and in the murder of advertising man, Jim Leslie. These materials collected by a researcher reflect these two entanglements through court actions, reports, testimonies, and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

520 KIP LORNELL’S RESEARCH ON LEADBELLY, 1908-1998.

3 linear ft.

The Life and Legend of Leadbelly written by Kip Lornell and Charles Wolfe was published by Harper Collins, N.Y. in 1992. Kip Lornell donated information on the book and their research. The collection of stories, articles, photographs, musical listings, interviews, and tapes contains information from John and Alan Lomas’ book Lead Belly and His Songs, data on the life of Huddie Ledbetter, and printouts of his music.

Back to the Top