651 EWING, ROBERT JR. FAMILY GENEALOGY AND MEMORABILIA (1828-2008).

9 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Ewing, Robert Jr. (1897-1970) son of Colonel Robert Ewing (1859-1931) was Chairman of the Board of The Shreveport Times, The Monroe News-Star, The Monroe Morning World, and Radio Station KWKH. He was Secretary-Treasurer of the Ewing properties for many years prior to becoming Chairman. He was born in New Orleans but maintained homes in Ponte Vedra, Florida, Monroe, LA, Shreveport, LA, and Pass Christian, MS. His daughter Patricia Ewing married N.W. de Berardinis and they had three boys. This small collection contains letters to Robert and Patricia and memorabilia from both along with a section of genealogical letters and photographs.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

653 SOPHIA LEONARDOS SCRAPBOOK, 1936-1940.

1 linear ft.

Sophia Leonardos was born November 16, 1919 to Dimitrius S. and Beadie Leonardos who ran U.S. Lunch and Jim’s Café on 510 Crockett and 215 Travis respectively. Her brother Steve James Leonardos married Dorothy Everett, a nurse. Sophia graduated from Fair Park High School in 1936, worked as a waitress and cashier in her parents’ restaurants. This scrapbook was compiled by Sophia during her high school years and a few years following. It contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs.

Back to the Top

654 CLAIBORNE W. SHARP, JR. COLLECTION, 1921-1988.

3 linear ft.

Claiborne W. Sharp, Jr. was born on Saint Valentine’s Day, Friday, February 14, 1958, to Claiborne and Margaret Duke Sharp. He was educated in Shreveport, Louisiana from kindergarten through college. This collection contains his school records; his Boy Scout materials; and various other photographs, scrapbooks, and albums as compiled by his Mother who also recorded her own high school and wedding memories.

Back to the Top

655 PLANTATION CLUB RECORDS, 1959-2003.

9 linear ft.

The Plantation Ball, sponsored by the Plantation Club, is one of the premier social events of Holiday-in-Dixie. It began in 1952, emerging from the plantation tours which commenced in 1949. Since its origins, the Plantation Ball has acquired a life all its own! During this annual gala event, the sons and daughters of area planters are introduced to society. This collection consists of framed photographs (22"x26") of Plantation Ball Courts from 1959-2003.

Back to the Top

656 PHOTOGRAPHER MAURICE F. SCHOOF’S NEGATIVES AND PHOTOGRAPHS COLLECTION, 1920s-1953.

9 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Maurice F. Schoof (1887-1957) was born in Belgium, immigrated to Canada, entered into U.S. and by 1927 was in Shreveport working at Burch Grabill’s Studio. There he met a lovely widow Julia Busbey Chadock with three children, courted the whole family and married her in 1929. He opened his own photography studio in the middle of the 1930s. He received many awards for his work and his clientele were schools, businesses and individuals. This collection includes negatives and photographs of men, women, babies, brides, and students.

Back to the Top

657 JOHN PASCHAL TOLER (1920-1944) WORLD WAR II MATERIALS, 1903-1994.

.5 linear ft.

John P. Toler, a 1939 graduate of Hominy High School, Oklahoma and the brother-in-law of Thomas F. Ruffin, served as a navigator in the Army Air Forces in World War II. After completing basic training at the Air Corps Replacement Training Center in Santa Ana, California and navigator training at Mather Field, California, he was commissioned a Second Lieutenant on November 21, 1942. Transferred to India in mid-1943, he was assigned to the B-25-equipped 491st Bomb Squadron of the 341st Bomb Group flying combat missions against Japanese targets in Burma. Transferred to China with his squadron in January 1944, First Lieutenant Toler was killed on March 5, 1944, in a crash landing while returning to Yangkai Airfield after a combat mission. The collection consists of documents relating to the Toler family; documents specific to John P. Toler, both civilian and military; photographs, and correspondence, primarily letters written by John P. Toler to his family during the period 1941-1944.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

659 ROSE AND LOUIS VAN THYN MATERIALS, 1983-2005.

1 linear ft.

Rose Van Thyn (1921-2010) was a survivor of the World War II Auschwitz concentration camp in Poland, who as a naturalized U.S. citizen residing in Shreveport, LA was involved for three decades in education about the Holocaust. This small collection contains mainly video tapes of her speeches and commercial videos and books about the Holocaust.

Back to the Top

660 SHREVEPORT CITY HALL ANNEX BUILDING PLANS

.5 linear ft.

Blueprints for Shreveport City Hall Annex by architects Walker and Walker, November 1, 1956.

Back to the Top