641 LEE DRY GOODS COMPANY RECORDS, 1923-1991

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Lee Dry Goods Company began in March 1924 as Lee-Baker Dry Goods Company, located at 114-116 Texas with J. M. Lee, president and J. E. Baker, vice- president. In 1926, their new building opened its doors at the corner of Crockett and Market with a complete line of cotton goods, silks, hosiery, work clothing, knit goods, notions, and blankets. In 1931, its name changed to Lee Dry Goods Company and that company continued to supply wholesale goods to area merchants for sixty-five years. This small collection contains Board of Directors’ and Shareholders’ minutes, financial material, and correspondence.

Back to the Top

642 BETTY FRIEDENBERG'S ART PHOTOGRAPHS

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Betty Friedenberg (1908-1997) born in New York was an innovative artist and teacher who taught at Centenary College from 1952-1983. She also taught at Barksdale Air Force Base and was art director for Shreveport Parks and Recreation. She had a wide range of styles and in 2007 the Meadows Museum presented an exhibit in her honor. These photographs of Friedenberg’s works from the Carolyn Gray and Fletcher Thorne-Thomsen collections are from the exhibit.

Back to the Top

643 SHREVEPORT LITTLE THEATRE GUILD MINUTES, 1991-2007

.5 linear ft.

The Shreveport Little Theatre Guild was formed for the purpose of engaging in activities to support, promote and develop the Shreveport Little Theatre of Shreveport, Inc. This small collection contains the Articles of Incorporation, agenda, minutes, membership lists, fund-raising activities and some photographs.

Back to the Top

644 SOUTHERN LITERARY CLUB RECORDS, 1928-

1.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Founded in 1928 by Mrs. W.H. Ellis, it was first named the Fiction Club but in October 1928 the name was changed to the Southern Literary Club. Meetings were held at the Washington-Youree Hotel for lunch and a program once a month with twenty-five members. The purpose of the club was to study literature and the first president was Mrs. J.H. Mayfield. Since 1954 scholarships are funded by a gift from Grace Mims Allums, a member, and her sister, Mary Mims, who was an honorary member of the club. The scholarship was named the Grace Mims Allums/Mary Mims Grant. This scholarship is granted to a young man or young woman entering as a freshman at Centenary College each year. Honorary members of the club during the first year were: Dr. Mary Mims, Louisiana State Sociologist, Dorothy Dix, American journalist, and Ada Jack Carver, writer. This small collection includes minute books, yearbooks, and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

645 AILLET, FENNER, JOLLY, AND McCLELLAND ARCHITECTURAL RECORDS, 1949-1973

3 linear ft. (Architectural Drawings) ; 6 linear ft. (Aerial Photographs)

Collection Inventory

This collection consists of architectural drawings, including topographic and boundary surveys, and aerial photographs for projects throughout the Ark-La-Tex by E. M. Freeman and Associates, Shreveport-based civil, consulting and structural engineers, the predecessor of the firm Aillet, Fenner, Jolly, and McClelland, Incorporated.

Back to the Top

646 MORRIS & DICKSON CO.

.5 linear ft.

Founded in 1841, Morris & Dickson Co., a wholesale pharmaceutical distributor, is owned and operated by the 5th generation of the Dickson family. This 1854 Almanac was published by T. H. Morris following the October 1853 death of his brother, J. W. Morris.

Back to the Top

647 WOMEN'S REPUBLICAN CLUB OF SHREVEPORT SCRAPBOOKS, 1953-2002

1.5 linear ft.

The Women’s Republican Club of Shreveport was founded in 1953. It is a member of the Louisiana Federation of Republican Women and of the National Federation of Republican Women. Its mission is to promote an informed electorate and raise public awareness for the Republican Party. These eight scrapbooks contain news clippings programs, photographs of activities, certificates and announcements.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

649 ROBERT GENTRY’S LOUISIANA HAYRIDE MATERIAL, 1945-2010.

4 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Tillman Franks, songwriter, bassist, manager and friend to a host of notable country western singers along with Robert Gentry, owner of the Sabine Index and Sweet Dreams publishing, wrote: Tillman Franks, I Was There When It Happened in 2000. This collection consists of copies of the researched material used to compile the book.

Back to the Top

650 L. W. STEPHENS COMPANY LEDGER, 1911

1 linear ft.

L. W. Stephens, son of John T. Stephens, came from old Sparta in Bienville Parish to establish a mercantile business at Lake village, a settlement on Black Lake. From Lake Village he moved to Coushatta. He had served in Company E of the 27th Louisiana Infantry, and in 1930, at the age of 82, he was elected Commander-in-Chief of the United Confederate Veterans at the Confederate Reunion in Biloxi. The firm which he founded is the largest firm in Red River Parish and is carried on by General Stephens’ sons and grandsons. This ledger from the Stephens Company details expenditures and credits for the year of 1911.

Back to the Top