631 CIVIL WAR MUSTER ROLLS, CLAIMS, AND VOUCHERS, 1863-1866.

2 linear ft.

This collection consists of muster rolls which list soldiers by their specific regiments, and claimants along with their unit assignments.

Back to the Top

632 RUPERT PEYTON PAPERS, 1930-2007

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Rupert Peyton (1899-1982) was born at Sarepta, Louisiana; volunteered for the First World War; and for 50 years served as a newspaperman commencing his career with the Haynesville News, then later serving as a staff writer for the Shreveport Times, Shreveport Journal, Bossier Tribune, and the Bossier Banner Progress. In 1932, he was elected to the Louisiana House of Representatives. During his four years in this body of the state legislature, he was known for his humorous speeches on the floor of the chamber. This small collection consists of some personal writings and a genealogy along with a few of the numerous articles that he contributed to the North Louisiana Historical Association Journal (the journal is presently known simply as North Louisiana History).

Back to the Top

633 REPRESENTATIVE JIM McCRERY COLLECTION, 1988-2009

15 linear ft.

James Otis McCrery, III was born in Shreveport, Louisiana on September 18, 1949; however, he was raised in Leesville, Louisiana. He graduated from Leesville High School in 1967, earned a Bachelor of Arts in English and History from Louisiana Tech in 1971, a Juris Doctorate from LSU in 1975, and was admitted to the Bar in Louisiana. From 1975 to 1978, he joined a law firm in Leesville and later became district manager for U.S. Representative Charles ‘Buddy’ Roemer III. When Roemer resigned his House seat after being elected Governor of Louisiana, McCrery ran and won it. He served as a Republican member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1988-2009, representing the 4th District of Louisiana where he ultimately became a ranking member of the House Ways and Means Committee. This small collection consists of newspaper clippings, photographs, press releases, plaques and memorabilia from McCrery’s years in Washington, D.C.

Back to the Top

634 MARY HARPER SEMPLE GENEALOGICAL NOTES, 1899; 1975-2005

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Mary Harper Semple was born in Chestnut, Louisiana; and was a retired school teacher who taught 40 years in Louisiana public schools—including her last 12 years at J.S. Clark in Shreveport. She self-published a genealogy book of her family. This small collection consists of her notes and research concerning the settlement of the James Weaver family in Louisiana, and of David Fredrick Kimball’s descendants in the parishes of Bienville, Natchitoches, and West Carroll.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

636 NATHANIEL GRIFFITH MEANS MATERIALS, 1949-1987

0.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Nathaniel Griffith Means, an enthusiast of the Lightning-class sloop, was a longtime member of Lightning Fleet Number 175, the now defunct local chapter of the International Lightning Class Association based at the Shreveport Yacht Club. His grandfather, Luther B. Griffith, joined the Fleet in 1951 and served in variety of officer positions, including fleet captain. His mother, Emilia Gay Griffith Means, skippered her own boat in the Fleet and passed a love of sailing to her son. The Means family also shares a deep interest in history and genealogy. This collection contains records of Lightning Fleet Number 175 and various issues of the Louisiana Genealogical Register.

Back to the Top

637 DRS ALICE (1914-2005) AND JOE (1915-2007) HOLOUBEK COLLECTION, 1929-2007

27 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Drs. Joe and Alice Holoubek practiced medicine in Shreveport, LA for more than 40 years. They were active in many professional, religious, and civic organizations and received distinguished service awards and citations from them. They were founding members of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church and began the Pre-Cana classes for engaged couples. Their Catholicism influenced their work and their lives and they lectured and wrote many articles on the sufferings of Jesus during the crucifixion. This collection contains medical and personal letters, trip diaries of their travels, genealogical material, and minutes and correspondence from the many offices held in various organizations.

Back to the Top

638 TOM RUFFIN COLLECTION, 1849-2009.

17 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Thomas F. Ruffin (1925-2009) was a graduate of C.E. Byrd High School and LSU. He was also a Second World War veteran and worked for more than 40 years as a stock broker. He served as president on the boards of numerous civic organizations, and was a dedicated member of the Noel Memorial United Methodist Church. Mr. Ruffin was an avid historian and published over 75 articles on various topics related to the Ark-La-Tex and Four States regions. He further authored histories of LSU and the Noel Memorial United Methodist Church. This collection includes personal and business correspondence, and chronicles of his numerous civic, literary, and historical activities. Research notes on his published and unpublished articles are included in addition to photographs and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

639 SHREVEPORT FIRE DEPARTMENT ADVANCED EMT TRAINING PROGRAM MATERIALS

1.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Prior to 1984, the Shreveport Fire Department Emergency Service Division was only capable of providing basic care while transporting patients to the hospital. In 1984, an expansion and upgrading of these services was begun by training the paramedics for advanced life support. Through the efforts of Dr. Joseph Bianca, Medical Director of Shreveport Fire Department EMS, Ricky Davidson, Shreveport Fire Department Chief of EMS, the Shreveport Medical Society and the cooperation of the local hospitals, the services now provided by the well trained and qualified Shreveport Fire Department Paramedics enable more lives to be saved and deliver better pre-hospital emergency medical care. This collection contains correspondence, statistics and reports during the years of the Advanced EMT Training Program.

Back to the Top

640 TRICHEL FAMILY PAPERS.

Framed Art

Four (4) framed pictures of the Shreveport Bar Association from the following years: 1903, 1937, 1974, and 1980.

Back to the Top