621 COTILLION CLUB RECORDS.

30 linear ft.

The organizers of Holiday-in-Dixie established the Cotillion Club in 1949 as a grand social event patterned along the lines of the Mardi Gras krewe balls in New Orleans. These records consist of bylaws, membership lists, minutes, reports, newspaper clippings, and programs.

Back to the Top

622 SHREVEPORT LODGE NUMBER 115: FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS, 1916-1989

1 linear ft.

In 1852, a small group of Masons met on the banks of the Red River in Shreveport, Louisiana for the purpose of organizing a new Lodge in Shreveport. On January 27, 1853, the Grand Lodge of Louisiana granted the new Lodge a charter under the name and number, "Shreveport Lodge No. 115, Free and Accepted Masons." This small collection contains the by-laws, minutes and a few photographs from this Lodge.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

624 THE CONFEDERATE MEMORIAL MEDICAL CENTER COLLECTION

18 linear ft.

This is an eclectic collection of Shreveport Charity Hospital, Confederate Memorial Medical Center, and LSU Medical Center bibliographic and a few photographic items. It includes: House, and visiting staff lists, historical articles, clinical programs and data, board meetings, educational programs, statistics, news clippings (1953-1978), as well as hospital centennial celebratory materials. The chronology of the collection extends from the 1920s to the early 1980s.

Back to the Top

625 RED RIVER RESEARCH MATERIALS

Louisiana Collection/Map Collection

Publications about the Red River separated to the Louisiana Collection and maps placed in the map case.

Back to the Top

626 PRESTON A. 'PAP' DEAN EDITORIAL CARTOON COLLECTION, 1930s-1970s

4 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Preston A. 'Pap' Dean was employed by The Times (of Shreveport) from 1938 until his retirement in 1979. This collection contains original and photocopies of the cartoons he created. These cartoons covered national and international politics, the American economy, Northwest Louisiana, and the Shreveport/Bossier City area.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

628 HOLOUBEK-BAKER LETTERS, 1937-1939 An Annotated Collection

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Joe Edward Holoubek and Alice Elizabeth Baker met in 1937 during a summer fellowship program at Mayo Clinic. They were senior medical students. He at University of Nebraska College of Medicine in Omaha and she at Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans. They courted by letter for two years, writing daily and married in July 1939. The nearly 800 handwritten letters were transcribed, edited and annotated by their daughter, Martha Holoubek Fitzgerald, who authored Courtship of Two Doctors, a 1930s Love Story of Letters, Hope and Healing. This collection contains the original letters and an early draft of the book.

Back to the Top

629 DR. CALVERT OTTO SELLERS, SR. MATERIALS

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Dr. C.O. Sellers, Sr., native of Robeline, was a captain in the U.S. Army Medical Corps during World War II. He practiced medicine in Dixie from 1948 to 1952 and in Oil City from 1952 to 1959. He was affiliated with the VA Hospital in Shreveport from 1959 until his retirement in 1974. He died April 29, 1979. These papers contain some of his office records, personal correspondence and his military orders and documents.

Back to the Top

630 RED RIVER VALLEY RAILROAD HISTORICAL SOCIETY COLLECTION

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Red River Valley Railroad Historical Society, a Shreveport-based organization founded in 1981, has donated some of their historical material to the Archives. Included is a ledger book containing handwritten records of Texas and Pacific Railway right-of-way and land acquisitions in Caddo, Natchitoches and other Louisiana parishes circa 1880 to 1910. Additional material includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, maps, etc. related to Shreveport and northwest Louisiana railroads.

Back to the Top