611 WOODLAWN HIGH SCHOOL HERALD, 1963-1966.

2.5 linear ft.

Woodlawn High School Herald was the weekly school newspaper. Bound and loose copies of the years 1963-1966 are included in this collection.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

613 TEXAS EASTERN TRANSMISSION CORPORATION FORMER EMPLOYEES' MATERIAL, 1947-2006.

9 linear ft.

Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. was organized January 30, 1947, for the purchase of the War Emergency Pipelines built during World War II for the transportation of oil from Texas to the East Coast. When these lines were no longer needed, they were converted to transport natural gas and thus the beginning of one of the nation’s major gas carriers. These records contain the publications, memorabilia and photographs of the dedicated retirees of Texas Eastern.

Back to the Top

614 SHREVEPORT CHARITY HOSPITAL COLLECTION, 1889-1949.

18 linear ft.

The Shreveport Charity Hospital was legally established by the Louisiana State Legislature in March 1876 and, later that year, moved into its home in an area in north Shreveport known as Moss Side Park. A few years later it occupied a second location at the southwest corner of Christian and Sprague streets before its final move, in August 1889, to the 1200 block of Texas Avenue. It remained at this site until 1953. The material in this collection–clinical records, documents of medical certification, and a series of hospital-related photographs–all date from the Texas Avenue location and chronologically extends from 1889 to 1949.

Back to the Top

615 DAUGHTERS OF AMERICAN REVOLUTION - CADDO CHAPTER.

.5 linear ft.

The Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR), founded in 1890, is a volunteer women’s service organization dedicated to the promotion of historic preservation, patriotism, and education.. Any woman 18 years of age or older capable of proving lineal descent from a patriot of the American Revolution is membership eligible. This collection of the Caddo Chapter contains yearbooks, a scrapbook, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

616 FRANK THAYER WHITED SR. DIARIES, 1901-1927.

1 linear ft.

Frank Thayer Whited was born in Terre Haute, Indiana, in 1860. Samuel Whited, his father brought his family to Louisiana about 1865 and purchased 'Ambleton', a plantation located about ten mile east of Monroe. There they reared a family of three children: Alvin H., Emma, and Frank T. In 1887, Frank T. moved to Shreveport to engage in lumber manufacturing. He was a member of the group of which E.A. Frost was the leading figure Since 1904. In 1908, lumber mill interests were consolidated and Frost-Johnson Lumber Company was formed of which Frank T. Whited was the first vice president. There were a number of subsidiary companies and Whited was president of the Union Power Company, president of the Jasper Lumber Company, vice president of the Mansfield Railway Company, and director of the Commercial National Bank of Shreveport. He died August 9, 1925. This small collection contains twenty-six diaries whose entries contain brief mention of the activities of Whited’s day: weather, trips, family gatherings, preacher visits, sickness, and business decisions regarding his lumber and other financial interests.

Back to the Top

617 UNITED DAUGHTERS OF THE CONFEDERACY - BENTON CHAPTER (RICHARD J. HANCOCK CHAPTER NUMBER 280).

1 linear ft.

The United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) is a women’s heritage association dedicated to honoring the memory of those who served and died in service to the Confederate States of America. Membership is open to any woman at least 16 years of age who is of lineal or collateral blood descent from veterans who served in the Confederate army. This collection contains a scrapbook, yearbooks, and applications.

Back to the Top

618 PIERREMONT HILLS GARDEN CLUB COLLECTIONS, 1965-2006.

3 linear ft.

The Pierremont Hills Garden Club was founded in the fall of 1960 and joined the Louisiana Garden Club Federation. The club had annual flower shows, participated in the Holiday in Dixie flower shows, donated audio visual aids to the Barnwell as well as the Fragrance Garden; they maintain the Blue Star Marker on Highway 1 and are involved in school projects around the city. The Shreveport Beautification Foundation gave Pierremont Hills Garden Club a special award for their community efforts. This collection contains scrapbooks and yearbooks detailing the work of this club.

Back to the Top

619 FAIR PARK HIGH SCHOOL ALUMNI ASSOCIATION ARCHIVES COLLECTION, 1929-2008.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

This collection was started in 2007 by Cathy Ridley Bonds, Director of the Fair Park High School Alumni Association. It contains miscellaneous items such as photographs, local and school newspaper clippings, football programs, reunion programs, etc. that were donated by alumni and other interested parties. Additional donations are anticipated in the future.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top