661 SHREVEPORT MEDICAL SOCIETY AUXILIARY, 1928-2010

Collection Inventory

Back to the Top

662 HISTORIC BUSINESS EDUCATION MATERIALS

.5 linear ft.

This collection contains four textbooks used to teach typing, shorthand and image making using only the typewriter along with records used to improve typing skills and speed.

Back to the Top

663 LOUISIANA PURCHASE WORLD'S FAIR MEMORABILIA, 1803-1953; 1978

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The World’s Fair of 1904 in St. Louis celebrated the Centennial of the Louisiana Purchase. This collection consists of memorabilia from that event.

Back to the Top

664 HELEN B. ANTHONY RESEARCH MATERIAL, 1922-1948; 1981 (THE SEARCH FOR LOFIE LOUISE)

3.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Lofie Louise Preslar Peete was born in Bienville Parish, Louisiana in 1883. She was executed at San Quentin in 1947. Charming and beautiful, she endeared herself to wealthy oilman Jacob Denton, whom she killed—a crime for which she spent 18 years in prison. Upon her release, she lived with Arthur and Margaret Logan, each of whom had fought for her parole. She eventually killed Margaret, and was later arrested, tried, and executed. This collection contains the legal court documents which Helen B. Anthony used to write The Search for Lofie Louise. Peete, the second woman to be executed in California, was the first wife of Anthony’s father.

Back to the Top

665 CLARENCE ELMO BOYD PAPERS, 1936-1992

45 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Clarence Elmo Boyd, the son of Isaac and Ada Stokes Boyd, was born on March 2, 1911 in Leesville, Louisiana. He attended public schools in Leesville and DeRidder, Louisiana, before graduating from Austin High School in 1928. He received the B.A. degree from the University of Texas in 1932 and the M.D. degree from University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in 1935. He interned at Charity Hospital in New Orleans in 1935-1936. He did a residency at North Louisiana Sanitarium (Doctors’ Hospital) in Shreveport in 1936-1937. He was in the general practice of medicine in Shreveport from 1937-1942. In 1942 he opened the C.E. Boyd Clinic and limited his practice to surgery. In 1959 he became a founding director and chairman of the board of Doctors Hospital. He was also a founding director of Shreveport Bank and Trust in 1958 and in 1963 became its chairman of the board. He retired from practice in 1989. This collection contains correspondence, articles, speeches, clippings, and index cards relating to his medical practice.

Back to the Top

666 THE MILLING PAPERS, 1853-1955

1 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Sarah ‘Sallie’ Elizabeth Milling, the recipient of most of these letters, was born 1884 to William A. Milling (1841-1888) and Sarah E. Rutledge (1849-1939) in Bairdstown, Texas. She married Worley Lindsay in 1903 and together they ran a farm and raised cotton in Bairdstown while rearing three children: Thelma, Russell and Dorothy. Sallie died December 10, 1962. These letters are from Milling family members from Cottage Grove, Louisiana and other areas, informing her of family news.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

668 McGUIRE, MARY THORNTON GENEALOGICAL COLLECTION, 1851-2011.

24 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

McGuire, Mary Thornton is a 5th generation descendent of northwest Louisiana pioneers. She learned and became interested in genealogy and history from listening to the stories of her family elders. She continues to preserve their legacy by collecting letters, diaries and photographs which are contained in this collection.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

670 JUSTIN GRAS COLLECTION, 1912-1979

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Justin Vincent Gras was born on June 18, 1868 in Embrun, France. His uncle, Justin Ricou, invited him to come to the United States. Justin arrived in Shreveport in 1891 with only five cents in his pocket and no idea where to find his uncle. He could not speak English, so a friendly policeman directed Justin to his uncle's home based on the return address on a letter. After working two years as a clerk in his uncle's store, he took a job at another store on the southeast corner of Texas and Common Streets. After the owner died in 1895 he purchased the store and ran it for 54 years. Justin made his initial fortune in the grocery business, but his considerable wealth came from real estate holdings and stock investments. From his earliest days in Shreveport he was involved in benevolent causes. He died on September 19, 1959. As a result of his bequest and specific wishes, the Shreveport-Bossier Foundation, now the Community Foundation of Shreveport-Bossier, was established in 1961. The Community Foundation donated the photographs, letters and other material in this collection in 2011.

Back to the Top