Back to the Top

672 KARL AND ERNA LEVY PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION

1 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Karl Charles Levy (1903-1999) married Erna Elkan (1906-1998) in 1933. The couple, natives of Cologne, Germany, immigrated to the United States in 1938, moving directly to Shreveport. Karl Levy worked for the Brenner Furniture Company attaining the position of executive vice president and chief financial officer of the company. His wife, Erna, was the first female buyer for Kroger’s Grocery buying for the entire area including Arkansas, Louisiana and Texas. They were members of the B’nai Zion Temple, Agudath Achim and the Shreveport Jewish Federation. They are buried in the Jewish section of Greenwood Cemetery in Shreveport. This collection consists of photographs, primarily of the Levy family in Germany, documents, and a photo album depicting the Elkan family in Germany, 1922-1932.

Back to the Top

673 AMERICAN BUSINESS WOMEN ASSOCIATION – PORT OF SHREVEPORT CHAPTER, 1998-2008.

1 linear ft.

Founded in 1949, the ABWA has thousands of members in networks and chapters providing business training and opportunities for career development. These three scrapbooks of the Port of Shreveport Chapter contain photographs, membership applications, and invitations.

Back to the Top

674 ROBERT & LAURIE GENTRY COLLECTION, 1955-2010.

12 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Robert Gentry is a long time country music historian and author of the book The Louisiana Hayride: The Glory Years – 1948-60. He owns the Sabine Index newspaper in Many, Louisiana and Sweet Dreams Publishing. His wife, Laurie Sky Gentry, is a performer that traveled as part of The Bill Sky Family playing folk, gospel and bluegrass music for over 20 years. She and Robert were married in 2006. The collection is made up of photographs, newspaper and magazine articles, phonograph records, cassettes, CDs, tapes and disks containing information about country music and its artists. The collection is organized by media type.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

679 SHREVEPORT NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS, 1955-2011.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

This collection contains mainly newspaper articles about a variety of topics specific to Shreveport and Northwest Louisiana. Susan E. Keith, a Shreveport educator, collected these articles as research material for her high school students.

Back to the Top

680 SPRING LAKE GARDEN CLUB SCRAPBOOKS, 1966-2003.

1.5 linear ft.

On May 5, 1966, the first meeting of the Spring Lake Garden Club was held with the following officers: Mrs. Truman L. Pearce, President, Mrs. Robert w. Krauel, Vice-President, and Mrs. Sykes Burnett, Recording Secretary. These scrapbooks containing, newspaper clippings, minutes, photographs, and year books cover the years 1966 to 2003.

Back to the Top