681 HOLLINGSWORTH MEMORABILIA, 1928-1942.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Margaret Hollingsworth (O'Connor)'s (1924-2010) memorabilia consists primarily of her Fair Park days: graduation invitation, diploma, and reunion photograph. Also included is a baseball signed by the Shreveport Sports in the late 1930s. She resided in Shreveport from 1937-1975, graduated from Fair Park in 1941. Following her graduation from Centenary College in 1945 she began her thirty-three year career with United Gas Corporation.

Back to the Top

682 WILLIAM CROSSON FEAZEL SCRAPBOOK, 1948-1953.

1 linear ft.

William Crosson Feazel a Monroe, La. millionaire and Shreveport oil operator, was appointed by Gov. Earl K. Long to fill the U.S. Senate vacancy created by the death of John H. Overton. This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings and photographs chronicling his short tenure as a U.S. Senator from Louisiana.

Back to the Top

683 SHREVEPORT COMMITTEE OF THE NATIONAL SOCIETY OF COLONIAL DAMES OF AMERICA, 1915-2009.

12 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Shreveport Committee of the NSCDA in Louisiana was formed in March 1915 with charter members: Mesdames Meyers, Meriwether, Frierson, Ingersoll, Buckley, Mills, Wallace, Youree, Herndon, Boyd, Van Hook, and Wilson. In 1976, the oldest building in Shreveport, the Talley Bank at 525 Spring Street, was donated to their organization. Renamed the Spring Street Museum, it became the committee's historical property which they worked to restore and furnish. It is on the Historical Register and is maintained and operated for the public's education and research purposes. This collection documents the Shreveport Committee’s work through minutes, correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

684 MARY CANE RESEARCH MATERIALS, 1838-1993.

1.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Mary Doal Ciley Bennett Cane (1812-1902), an early businesswoman is believed to be Shreveport’s first female settler and is referred to as ‘the mother of Shreveport’. William Smith Bennett (died 1837) and James Huntington Cane (died 1845) were business partners who operated a trading post on the Red River. Both were successively married to Mary Cane. She became a wealthy landowner and influenced the growth of businesses and the cultural life of early Shreveport. This small collection consists of research gathered by Michael Hale Gray, amateur historian, and contains copies of several court cases of the more than 200 cases in which Mary was involved.

Back to the Top

685 HEARNE DRY GOODS COMPANY, LTD. ACCOUNTS BOOKS, 1902-1916.

1 linear ft.

Opened October 1, 1902, by George M. Hearne on Texas Street across from the Caddo Parish Courthouse, the Hearne Dry Goods Company, Ltd. was one of Shreveport’s longest lasting privately owned department stores. This collection consists of two accounts books documenting customer purchases during the period 1902-1916. The first book documents customers with last names beginning with A to Cap and the second book lists customers with last names beginning with Car to Es.

Back to the Top

686 LT. COL. PAUL W. REINOWSKI SCRAPBOOK

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Lt. Col. Paul William Reinowski (1920-2005) attended the Naval Academy, was shipped to the Asiatic Fleet in the Philippines on the U.S.S. Langley and later was accepted to the Aviation Cadet program on the U.S. Army. He married Priscilla Rogers, his high school sweetheart. He was commander of the 13th Reconnaissance Technical Squadron at Saigon and then to Washington with the Defense Intelligence Agency. After more than thirty years of service, he was discharged and retired at Barksdale. This small scrapbook contains a few pictures of him at the Naval Academy, some pictures of Saigon and the Philippines, several letters from Priscilla Rogers, and cards and letters from friends dating from 1940-1941. Also, there are loose aerials of Vietnam and Bangkok from 1964.

Back to the Top

687 ANDREW E. HILL COLLECTION, 1930-1951.

5.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

In 1920, Andrew E. Hill was born to Dr. Charles E. Hill (dentist) and Ruth Roquemore Hill of Shreveport, LA. His maternal grandparents were Dr. A.J. and Ida Roquemore. The family was abandoned by the father in 1924 and Ruth and Andrew went to live with the Roquemores. In 1937, he graduated from Byrd High School. A Lieutenant in the Army during the Second World War, he was honorably discharged upon being diagnosed with a nervous condition. This collection consists of letters to his Mother in Shreveport from Andrew now in California, that chronicle his various attempts to seek relief from his complex issues.

Back to the Top

688 CHRISTIAN SERVICES SCRAPBOOKS AND TAPES

2.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Christian Services was founded in January, 1970 by Sister Margaret McCaffrey, a Roman Catholic nun under private vows. At the request of Father Murray Clayton, pastor of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church, she came to Shreveport where she has worked to help the poor. She opened Hospitality House which serves hot meals, and organized the Poor Man's Supper to raise funds and to make the community aware of the needs of the poor. These two scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings mostly about the Poor Man's Supper. The audio tapes are interviews with Fr. Clayton, Mary Blalock, Maggie Warwick and Gloria Meyer.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top