691 ELEANOR FRANKS MEMORABILIA COLLECTION, 1945-1999.

Collection Inventory

Back to the Top

692 MARY LEE KEITH JACKSON PAPERS, 1919-1987.

Collection Inventory

Back to the Top

693 JOHN C. ALLEN PHOTOGRAPHS AND MEMORABILIA, 1924-1965.

1 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

John C. Allen was born October 18, 1904 in Homer, Louisiana and died in Dallas, Texas on December 4, 1990. He was a graduate of SMU and taught school in Winnsboro, Texas, where he met and married Sadie Goldsmith. They moved to Dallas in 1947 where he was employed by General American Oil Company as Manager of Insurance until 1971. His interest in music began with the marching band at college, a dance orchestra in Shreveport, Louisiana and the Hella Temple Band. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge, Scottish Rite (32nd degree), and a long time member of the First Methodist Church serving as president of the Men's Bible Class. This small collection contains memorabilia and photographs from these interests.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

695 MARION HEARNE PHOTOGRAPHS AND MEMORABILIA

Collection Inventory

Back to the Top

696 SCARBOROUGH / WHITED PHOTOGRAPHS

Collection Inventory

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

699 C.G. & T.H. THURMOND LETTERS & PAPERS

Collection Inventory

Back to the Top

700 JAMES SIMMONS MATERIAL, 1935-1999.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

James Simmons was born in Columbia, Mississippi in 1919. He was a musician, educator, and radio announcer and was employed by radio stations in Shreveport, LA, Baton Rouge, LA, and Beaumont, TX. He directed various bands and orchestras in Shreveport, Natchitoches, and Greenwood. He concluded his professional career as Principal of Midway Junior High School. This collection consists or letters, photographs, and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top