361 LOUISIANA QUILT SEARCH PROJECT MATERIALS, 1970s-1980s.

.5 linear ft.

Correspondence, programs, and fliers regarding the Louisiana Quilt Search Project. Also included is an article by Susan Roach, "The Kinship Quilt: An Ethnographic Semiotic Analysis of a Quilting Bee."

Back to the Top

362 YWCA (YOUNG WOMEN’S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION) RECORDS, 1924-1988.

4 linear ft.

The Shreveport YWCA was organized in December 9, 1924. The stated purpose of the organization being to associate young women in personal loyalty to Jesus Christ; to promote growth in Christian character and service through physical, social, mental and spiritual training, and to become a social force in the extension of the Kingdom of God. These records include constitution, by-laws, minutes, scrapbooks, programs, correspondence, contracts and agreements, etc.

Back to the Top

363 MARGERY LAND MAY (1897-1932) COLLECTION, 1914-1964.

2 linear ft.

Margery Land May was born in New Orleans in 1897. She was the granddaughter of Judge Alfred Land of the Louisiana Supreme Court. She moved to Shreveport in 1911 and began her literary career at the age of 18, when a short story was accepted by H. L. Mencken to be published in the Smart Set magazine. She had many stories published in the leading magazines of the period. Several of her short stories were made into motion pictures and she worked for a time for The Selznick Motion Picture Company as a writer. The collection consists of correspondence and contracts regarding rights to her stories. The bulk of the collection consists of articles, short stories, poems, etc. Some personal material includes family obituaries, programs, personal correspondence, and photographs.

Back to the Top

364 ROBERT EDWARD ROBINSON PAPERS, 1819-1988.

16 linear ft.

Robert Edward Robinson was a petroleum engineer in Shreveport, Louisiana, for fifty years. The collection contains correspondence, oil and gas reports, geological maps, original paintings and field sketches, photographs, and engineering books. There is also information on the Disabled American Veterans, Boy Scouts of America, Trans-American Petroleum Corp.

Back to the Top

365 ROBERT J. O’NEAL PAPERS, 1906-1971.

3.5 linear ft.

Judge Robert J. O’Neal served the Caddo District Court for 25 continuous years based on his personal credo of serving the public and being available on the job. This collection contains correspondence, minutes, speeches, certificates, photographs, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

366 SHREVEPORT GEOLOGICAL AUXILIARY SCRAPBOOKS, 1953-1997.

20.5 linear ft.

The Shreveport Geological Auxiliary was organized in January, 1953, by wives of officers of the Shreveport Geological Society with membership open to all interested women. The purpose of the organization is to provide an opportunity for the wives of members and women members of the Shreveport Geological Society to get acquainted. These scrapbooks contain clippings, programs, photographs, yearbooks, newsletters, budgets, and so forth.

Back to the Top

367 HUDDIE LEDBETTER (1888-1949) MATERIALS, 1930-1995.

Vault

Born near Mooringsport, Louisiana in 1888, Huddie Ledbetter, known to fans as "Leadbelly," was one of the most famous black folk singers in America. Songs like "Goodnight, Irene" and "Midnight Special" have become part of American culture and helped lay the foundation for blues and modern folk and rock n’ roll music. Materials consist of albums, articles, clippings, and photographs covering Leadbelly’s life and career.

Back to the Top

368 ANTIOCH CHURCH, BIG WOOD, LOUISIANA RECORDS, 1827-1963.

Film 74: 1 reel microfilm

Church and cemetery records for Antioch Church (Primitive Baptist), Big Wood, Louisiana.

Back to the Top

369 LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS PAPERS, 1941-1996.

4.5 linear ft.

The League of Women Voters was organized to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation of citizens in government. The Shreveport League is an integral part of the League of Women Voters of the U. S. and the League of Women Voters of Louisiana. These records include by-laws, minutes, correspondence, programs and publications relating to the Shreveport League, the Louisiana League, and the League of Women Voters of the U.S. Also included is a scrapbook on the "Celebration of Women Week," co-hosted by the Shreveport League of Women Voters and 19 other women’s organizations. This week-long event included seminars, essay contests, a luncheon, and a dinner honoring "Women Who Have made a Difference."

Back to the Top

370 PIONEER HERITAGE CENTER MATERIALS, 1985-

.5 linear ft.

Publications, project materials regarding activities of the Pioneer Heritage Center.

Back to the Top