371 WOMEN’S HISTORY FILE MISCELLANEOUS MATERIALS.

.5 linear ft.

Clippings, notes, articles regarding women’s history.

Back to the Top

372 WOMAN’S DEPARTMENT CLUB RECORDS, 1919-2007.

12 linear ft.

The Woman’s Department Club was organized in 1919 to provide a center of thought and action, focusing the strength of women for the promotion of educational, literary and artistic growth of Shreveport. The Woman’s Department Club building, built in 1924-1925, has been added to the National Register of Historic Places. These records include minutes and scrapbooks. Also included are notebooks that detail additions and alterations to the building.

Back to the Top

373 THE NINETY-NINES, SHREVEPORT CHAPTER SCRAPBOOKS, 1975-1984.

2 linear ft.

The Ninety-Nines is an international organization of women pilots started in 1929 with Amelia Earhart as the first president. The Shreveport Chapter was chartered in February, 1960. These scrapbooks include clippings, photographs, publications, correspondence, and memorabilia regarding the local chapter activities and participation in national events like the annual Powder Puff Derby.

Back to the Top

374 LeROSEN LETTERS, 1874-1952.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The LeRosenes developed land to the south/southwest of the city and the LeRosen Station, above Summer Grove, was once the first train stop going south towards Mansfield. David LeRosen (1830-1905) is buried at Oakland with his first wife Susan Dixon LeRosen (1832-1872) and his second wife Martha "Mattie" Hendricks LeRosen (1850-1928). This small collection is primarily letters to Mattie and to her daughter Susie (1874-1971) concerning family illnesses and family news. A photograph of Miss Susie is included along with a few unidentified pictures, some travel photos, and a few calling cards.

Back to the Top

375 McCRARY COLLECTION, 1910-1927.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Sylvan S. McCrary of Shelby County, Texas, was a farmer and a rural mail carrier, and was appointed postmaster at Joaquin, Texas where he served until 1932. This small collection consists of letters to Alice Owens from her brother Tom Stephens who was serving during World War I; also included is McCrary’s personal ledger and diary (1910-1923) which illustrates the importance of weather to the farmer and rural mail carrier.

Back to the Top

376 DOUGLASS BLOCKER COLLECTION, 1848-1990; 1998.

10.5 linear ft.

Many items pertaining to history of Marshall, Texas; abstracts of title to land owned by Douglass Blocker in Harrison County, Texas; materials on Bessie Toone and Ethel Van Hook Blocker.

Back to the Top

377 ZONTA CLUB SCRAPBOOK, 1964-65.

1.5 linear ft.

Scrapbook of Shreveport Zonta Club for year 1964-65. Includes photographs, clippings, programs, yearbook, newsletters, financial statements and membership lists regarding the club and its activities.

Back to the Top

378 WOMEN IN TRANSPORTATION CLUB RECORDS, 1964-1987.

1 linear ft.; Film 75: 1 reel microfilm.

This club was organized in 1964 as the Women’s Traffic Club of Shreveport. The purposes are: 1. to study and discuss transportation matters; 2. to foster better cooperation between shippers and carriers; 3. to further the advancement of women in the field of traffic and transportation. These records consist of Constitution and By-laws, minutes, reports, correspondence, newsletters, programs and scrapbooks. The scrapbooks are on microfilm.

Back to the Top

379 SHREVEPORT OPTIMIST CLUB SCRAPBOOK, 1939-1948.

1 linear ft.

This scrapbook of the Shreveport Optimist Club includes constitution and by-laws, clippings, bulletins, reports, photographs, rosters, programs, and memorabilia. Also included is some material on the Bossier Optimist Club.

Back to the Top

380 CURRENT LITERATURE CLUB RECORDS, 1923-1989.

1 linear ft.

The Current Literature Club was organized in 1931. Its objectives were the pursuit of educational subjects and social enjoyment. The Club had its last meeting in May 1989. These records include constitution, by-laws, minutes, yearbooks, correspondence, clippings, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top