381 BILL WIENER, JR. PAPERS, 1863-1999.

75 linear ft.

Bill Wiener, Jr. is a Shreveport architect who was active for many years in Historic Preservation of Shreveport. He was involved in the fight to maintain the architectural integrity of the old Post Office Building, when it was remodeled into Shreve Memorial Library. He was also instrumental in saving the old Line Avenue School from destruction. The Line Avenue School was one of the few structures left standing that had been designed by turn-of-the century architect, N. S. Allen. These materials include legal documents, correspondence, architectural records, clippings, photographs and tape recordings pertaining to Wiener’s involvement in both of these Historic Preservation of Shreveport projects. In addition, the collection includes material from his early work as a student, his architectural designs, miscellaneous historical information, historical post cards, genealogical material, environmental research and publications, Wiener’s computer disk business "Magazette," Riverfront development, and miscellaneous architectural files.

Back to the Top

382 LANE WILSON SEED COMPANY RECORDS, 1924-1962.

2.5 linear ft.

The Lane Wilson Seed Company was located on Texas Street in downtown Shreveport, Louisiana The collection contains correspondence, advertising, federal and state seed legislation and publications, and photographs. There is also information on the American Seed Trade Association, the Louisiana Seedman’s Association, and the Shreveport Beautification Foundation, Inc.

Back to the Top

383 STAN WILKINS/DODD COLLEGE COLLECTION, 1912-1989.

70.5 linear ft.

Dodd College was a junior liberal arts college for women located on Ockley Drive in Shreveport, Louisiana, from 1927-1942. It was named for Rev. M. E. Dodd (1878-1952), pastor of Shreveport’s First Baptist Church from 1912-1950. The collection contains correspondence, transcribed oral interviews, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc., used by Dr. Stan Wilkins as research for his book: Dodd College in Shreveport, 1988. The collection also contains information on First Baptist Church and the First Baptist School.

Back to the Top

384 THE EXPANDING CIRCLE MAGAZINE, 1934-1960.

Film 76: 8 reels microfilm.

This magazine was published monthly by Arkansas Natural Gas Co. and Arkansas Fuel Oil Company. The purpose was to interest and entertain employees and friends of the company, help them know one another, and better perform their duties.

Back to the Top

385 SIDNEY HEROLD (1880-1950) PAPERS, 1936-1958.

0.5 linear ft.

Sidney Herold was born in Shreveport June 13, 1880. He was an attorney in Shreveport for 50 years. Mr. Herold was a Zionist leader and active in the establishment of Israel, where the Sidney Herold Colony was named in his honor. These papers include correspondence, articles, poems, booklets, speeches, and clippings regarding Herold and his Zionist activities.

Back to the Top

386 SHREVEPORT ART CLUB SCRAPBOOKS, 1947-1985.

1.5 linear ft.

The Shreveport Art Club has been active since 1922. Local artists met each week to work and study together and to arrange for visiting art teachers to instruct and guide them in their work. The scrapbooks include constitution and by-laws, minutes, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, and a photograph album.

Back to the Top

387 JOHN B. SLATTERY (1844-1927) FAMILY MATERIALS, 1860-1880.

.5 linear ft.

John B. Slattery came to Shreveport in 1876, worked as an attorney and assistant district attorney. Thomas Heeran (Slattery’s father-in-law) came to U. S. from Ireland in 1844, married Mary Hourigan and moved to Madison, Wisconsin in 1850. He left in 1860 on trip west to Colorado to mine for gold and on to San Francisco where he died in 1864. Letters from Heeran to his wife , Mary, detail his journey to Colorado, his work in the gold fields, and his impressions of San Francisco. The ledger outlines Slattery’s court cases in Shreveport, 1876-1880.

Back to the Top

388 INVESTOR’S MORTGAGE COMPANY BOOK, 1870-1927.

1 linear ft.

Survey maps of Shreveport subdivisions dating 1870-1927.

Back to the Top

389 JOE MIDDLETON ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1955-1987.

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Joe Middleton was a former Shreveport architect. The collection includes drawings, designs, remodeling and additions to residences, apartment complexes, schools and businesses in Shreveport, Baton Rouge, and Vivian.

Back to the Top

390 BOSSIER CITY LIONS CLUB SCRAPBOOKS, 1937-1977.

Film 77: 1 reel microfilm.

These four scrapbooks contain programs, correspondence, minutes, reports, photographs, publications, and clippings regarding activities of the Bossier City Lions Club.

Back to the Top