header image for Handbook of North Louisiana
Archives and Special Collections Main Page Guide to the Collections Frequently Asked Questions, Forms, and Documents Indexes for the Shreveport Times Instructor Resources, Worksheets, etc

Table of Contents  Index  Collection Descriptions  Oral Histories  Miscellaneous Manuscripts  Microfilm

Collections by Number
<< PREVIOUS   001   051   101   151   201   251   301   351   401   451   501   551   601   651   701   NEXT >>

391 LOIS PULLIG COLLECTION, 1962-1991.

.5 linear ft.

Booklets, brochures, illustrations by Lois Pullig, local artist and poet. A sketch, "Opera House," is also included.

Back to the Top

392 NED TOUCHSTONE PAPERS, 1839-1842; 1874; 1900-1985.

28 linear ft.

Ned Touchstone was the editor of The Councilor, a newspaper supporting the Citizensí Council of Louisiana in their fight against the civil rights movement in the 1960's. Mr. Touchstone owned and operated a Shreveport bookstore specializing in right-wing materials. He also conducted other mail order business ventures. The collection contains correspondence, topical research files, newspaper clippings, photographs, publications including The American Mercury, tapes and Touchstone family genealogy.

Back to the Top

393 SHREVEPORT TIMES NEGATIVE COLLECTION, 1946-1999.

247 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Photographic negatives from the files of the Shreveport Times newspaper cover local news events 1946-1988. An index is available.

Back to the Top

394 SHREVEPORT MUTUAL BUILDING ASSOCIATION/FIRST FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN PAPERS, 1887-1990.

15 linear ft.

These papers record the growth of the Shreveport Mutual Building Association under the guidance of Philip Lieber, President, through its conversion to First Federal Savings and Loan Association. The bank had three branches before it closed in 1990. The collection contains scrapbooks, photographs, business correspondence, and extensive newspaper advertising.

Back to the Top

395 GREENWOOD CEMETERY RECORDS, 1896-1972.

Film 78: 2 reels microfilm.

Cemetery record card gives name, age, sex, race, certifying physician, date of interment, lot, and section number of grave for persons buried in Greenwood Cemetery.

Back to the Top

396 OAKLAND CEMETERY RECORDS, 1849-1990 (INCOMPLETE)

Film 79: 1 reel microfilm.

Oakland Cemetery Timeline compiled by Patti Underwood

Cemetery record card gives name, age, sex, race, certifying physician, date of interment, lot, and section number of grave for persons buried in Oakland Cemetery, 1849-1900. Also includes seven graves from Bell Street Cemetery.

Back to the Top

397 MT. PLEASANT PRIMITIVE BAPTIST CHURCH RECORDS, 1893-1926.

Film 80: 1 reel microfilm.

Film of records of Primitive Baptist Church in Grayson, Louisiana.

Back to the Top

398 WERNER PARK GARDEN CLUB SCRAPBOOK, 1952-1954.

1 linear ft.

Scrapbook contains clippings, programs, correspondence, membership lists and a history of the club, 1952-1954.

Back to the Top

399 JACK BARHAM NEGATIVE COLLECTION, 1944-1991.

30 linear ft.

Jack Barham was a photographer for the Shreveport Journal from just after World War II through 1991 when the Journal ceased publication. These negatives cover local news events. An index is available.

Back to the Top

400 SHREVEPORT JOURNAL COLLECTION, 1921-1990.

93 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Originally known as The Judge, the Shreveport Journal was first published on January 7, 1895. The Judge became the Shreveport Journal on February 17, 1897. J. E. Goodwin founded The Judge and ownership changed frequently during the early years. William E. Hamilton bought the Journal ca. 1900 and operated it until 1911 when it was purchased by the Journal Publishing Co., with A. J. Frantz, President, and Douglas Attaway, Secretary. In 1918 Attaway acquired controlling interest and became president and publisher in 1925. He was succeeded by his son 1957. In 1976 the Journal was purchased by Shreveport businessman, Charles T. Beaird. The Journal ceased publication on March 30, 1991. The collection contains news clippings, negatives, and photographs, primarily from Dr. Beairdís years as owner and publisher. It also includes the Journal Birthday Edition of January, 1921.

Back to the Top

Collections by Number
<< PREVIOUS   001   051   101   151   201   251   301   351   401   451   501   551   601   651   701   NEXT >>

Table of Contents  Index  Collection Descriptions  Oral Histories  Miscellaneous Manuscripts  Microfilm

Archives Description    Archives Contact Information    Archives Privacy Statement