341 ERIC BROCK COLLECTION.

36 linear ft.

Eric J. Brock (1966-2011) for over twenty years was the undisputed local historian of Shreveport, Louisiana. His sixteen published books and over two hundred articles in the Shreveport Times, Forum and the Shreveport Journal documented Shreveport history. He was an avid historic preservationist and this collection consists of his research papers about Shreveport and Northwest Louisiana along with thousands of photographs, notebooks, maps, listings of cemeteries and burials, publications and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

342 HARDY-BRINKMAN-PEATROSS PAPERS, 1907-1936.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Correspondence from the F. C. Brinkman, Dee and George F. Hardy and Sydney K. Peatross family members.

Back to the Top

343 MAYOR SAM CALDWELL (1892-1953) SCRAPBOOKS, 1934-1953.

9 linear ft.

Sam Caldwell was born in Mooringsport, Louisiana, and was first elected to political office in 1932 as a member of the Caddo Parish Police Jury. He served three consecutive terms as mayor of Shreveport, from 1934 to 1946. These scrapbooks catalog his three terms as mayor of Shreveport.

Back to the Top

344 NEWSPAPER COLLECTION, 1812; 1843-1985; 1991.

7 linear ft.

Scattered issues of various Louisiana, Texas and Arkansas newspapers.

Back to the Top

345 DUTY GRANGE ASSOCIATION NO. 90 STATE OF ARKANSAS RECORD BOOK, 1873-1875.

.5 linear ft.

This Duty Grange Association was organized November 11, 1873.

Back to the Top

346 BOSSIER PARISH COMMUNITY COLLEGE PHOTOGRAPHIC FAIR, 1987.

Photograph Collection

Photographs (500) of Bossier Parish copied from local residents and housed in the LSU-S Archives photographic collection.

Back to the Top

347 MARSHALL, TEXAS. BLACK CULTURE IN HARRISON COUNTY PROJECT MATERIALS, 1925-1979.

1 linear ft.

Reports, oral histories, correspondence dealing with black culture in Harrison County, Texas.

Back to the Top

348 MRS. EDDIE JONES MATERIALS, 1944-1988.

0.5 linear ft.

Mrs. Jones was a member of the Caddo Parish Commission and for many years was active in the Shreveport PTA for Negroes, the Louisiana Colored Teachers Association, and the Louisiana Congress of Parents and Teachers. Correspondence, clippings, and publications regarding the previously noted organizations, in addition to several issues of the Shreveport Sun, are also included within this collection of materials.

Back to the Top

349 WILLIAM WINTER (1849-1917) PAPERS, 1862-1988.

1 linear ft.

William Winter was born in New York City, October 11, 1849, son of Abraham and Bessie Weinstock Winter. The family moved to Shreveport in 1851. He operated a successful mercantile business, "The Winter Company" started by his father. William Winter was one of the organizers of the Shreveport Mutual Building Association, and Director and Vice-President of First National Bank. He served two terms on the Shreveport City Council, and was a long-time member of the Caddo Police Jury. In 1904, he was elected to the House of Representatives. Mr. Winter was a member of the B’nai Zion Congregation. He married Sophie Friendlander and they had four daughters. He died in Shreveport, December 2, 1917. These papers include correspondence, scrapbooks, notes, biographical sketches, clippings and photographs mostly relating to Lillian Weisman Winter Michelson.

Back to the Top

350 SHREVEPORT’S WOMEN’S COMMISSION RECORDS, 1980-1988.

1.5 linear ft.

Mayor’s Commission on the Needs of Women in Shreveport. Purposes: 1. to provide information regarding women; 2. suggest changes in governmental policies that affect women; 3. act as liaison with state government concerning women’s issues; 4. facilitate awareness of statutes and needs of women in Shreveport; 5. serve as clearinghouse for information on women’s programs and services; 6. promote, plan, and assist in implementing programs for women. Records include by-laws, minutes, correspondence, reports, project, information, and publications.

Back to the Top