081 CADDO, RED RIVER, AND TEXAS INDIAN AGENCY RECORDS, 1824-1881.

Film 22: 6 reels microfilm.
(Originals in Records of the Bureau for Indian Affairs, RG 75, National Archives, Washington, D.C.)

Consists of letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs, many relating to the Caddo Indians from Northwest Louisiana.

Back to the Top

082 SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR VETERANS MATERIAL, 1898-1950.

12 linear ft.; Framed photographs.

Includes correspondence, resolutions, songs, poems, newsletters, minutes, rosters, newspapers and photographs.

Back to the Top

083 SAMUEL G. WIENER, SR. (1896-1977) ARCHITECTURAL RECORDS, 1921-1976.

13 linear ft.; Architectural Drawings – 17 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Internationally-known Shreveport architect, Sam Wiener was a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the first president of North Louisiana Chapter of AIA, and a member of the State Board of Architectural Examiners. Records include photographs, architectural plans, blueprints, published materials, correspondence, and maps of Shreveport and surrounding area relating to Wiener’s career as an architect. Drawings and blueprints of landmarks such as the Shreveport Municipal Airport and Auditorium, the LSU Medical Center in Shreveport, schools, shopping centers, and other buildings.

Back to the Top

084 OSCAR TILLEUX GEOLOGICAL AND ENGINEERING MATERIAL, 1944-1977.

.5 linear ft.

This material contains diagrams, tables, charts, articles, and booklets relating to industrial, geological, and construction problems.

Back to the Top

085 MRS. A. O. GRAVES MISCELLANEOUS COLLECTION, 1855-1946.

1 linear ft.

Clippings and articles regarding Capt. George Guynemer, famous French aviator of World War I, and family. Also included are a Vicksburg newspaper printed on back of wall paper and clippings and articles relating to Shreveport.

Back to the Top

086 N. O. THOMAS, JR. (1907-1992) RECORDS, 1954-1957; 1959-1963.

2.5 linear ft.

Shreveport land developer and prominent figure in area economic and cultural groups such as the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce and Shreveport Civic Opera, N. O. Thomas served as the chairman of First Baptist Church’s Sanctuary Committee and as architectural consultant, 1959-1963. Correspondence, minutes and memoranda of the building committee of First Baptist Church are included in addition to drawings, plans, financial information, and memorials. These records further contain two scrapbooks with news clippings and photographs relating to the construction and dedication of the Beck Building, 1954-1957. Further still, these records include genealogical material; ancestral photographs of both persons and homes; material regarding the renovation and completion of Welcome Hall; Second World War information; Holiday-in-Dixie memorabilia; information concerning Dudley Square, personal awards, plaques, and various other related memorabilia.

Back to the Top

087 WILLIAM RAINACH (1913-1978) PAPERS, 1930-1977.

48 linear ft.

Louisiana State Representative (1940-1948), Senator (1948-1960), and candidate for Governor (1960), William Rainach was also instrumental in creating the State’s Joint Committee on Segregation. He was an organizer and first president of the Louisiana Association of Citizen’s Council of America. In 1937, he organized the Claiborne Butane Cooperative which brought the first electricity to many Northwest Louisiana farms. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, speech material, accounts, and publications relating to his years in the Legislature, the Citizen’s Council of Louisiana, the Homer Development Company, Claiborne Academy Foundation and Claiborne Parish Iron Ore make up this collection.

Back to the Top

088 J. HOWELL FLOURNOY (1891-1966) SCRAPBOOKS, 1938-1966.

3 linear ft.

Chief deputy sheriff in charge of tax collections of Caddo Parish for 14 years before becoming sheriff, 1940-1966, and the leading conservative in the Democratic Party, he was honored by the Americanism Forum of Shreveport as the "Outstanding Conservative of 1965." Newspaper clippings, photographs, correspondence, relating to the Caddo Parish Sheriff’s Dept. and the Flournoy Family.

Back to the Top

089 WILLIAM V. ROBSON (1826-1900) PLANTATION RECORDS, 1873-1933, 1941.

7 linear ft.

Planter at Long Branch, 14 miles below Shreveport, elected to the State Senate in 1883; one of the original members of Waterways Convention, a one-time member of the Shreveport City Council and former Street Commissioner. Ledgers, account books, time and money wage books, journals and business records of W. V. Robson and J. E. Cupples. Maps of Will Knight Plantation, Caspiana, and Elm Grove.

Back to the Top

090 SHREVEPORT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE (1910- ) RECORDS, 1910-1993.

66 linear ft.; Film 23: 14 reels microfilm.

Collection Inventory

Organized in 1910 to promote the civic, commercial, industrial, and agricultural interests of the city and the vicinity. Records include minutes, attendance and voting records, ledgers, correspondence, programs of work for the various committees, financial statements, resolutions, bills, reports, publicity material, newsletters, pamphlets, books, newspaper clippings, photographs, maps, plaques, fiche, and slides. It also includes 14 reels of microfilm of Executive Committee and Board of Director’s minutes from 1910-1993.

Back to the Top