421 AGNEW TOWN AND COUNTRY DAY SCHOOL YEARBOOKS, 1969-1984.

1 linear ft.

Born in Alto, Texas, Mary L. Agnew received her Bachelor of Music degree in 1948, and an Honorary Doctors Degree in Music in 1957. In 1956 she moved to Shreveport and formed the Agnew Musical Kindergarten. It grew into the Agnew Town and Country Day School, an independent, privately owned educational school. The school closed in 1985, and Miss Agnew died March 11, 1992. Yearbooks and school directories are included.

Back to the Top

422 BILL HANNA SCRAPBOOKS, 1968-1985.

.5 linear ft.

William T. Hanna, Jr., prosperous Shreveport automobile dealer, was mayor of Shreveport for one term, 1978-1982. These newspaper clippings and photographs chronicle his campaign and his years of service as mayor.

Back to the Top

423 JEAN TALBOT HARDY COLLECTION, 1898-1975.

3 linear ft.

Jean Talbot Hardy is the daughter of Forno Miles Talbot, and the granddaughter of Milton Anthony Talbot, who was a businessman and mayor of Bernice, Louisiana, ca. 1900. This collection consists of personal correspondence and scrapbooks but is predominately a photographic collection depicting the attire of the late 1800’s. Also included is a box of popular sheet music from ca. 1912-1968.

Back to the Top

424 AVIS HAWKINS MUSIC COLLECTION, 1882-1970.

.5 linear ft.

This collection contains a mixture of religious, classical, and popular sheet music from ca. 1882-1970. Also included are three essays by the donor and 7 volumes of The Mentor.

Back to the Top

425 WELLBORN JACK (1907-1991) PAPERS, 1876-1990.

93 linear ft.

Wellborn Jack, local statesman and attorney, member of the Louisiana House of Representatives for 24 years (1940-1964), served on the Caddo Parish Police Jury for 10 years (1974-1984) and was active in civic, social, and professional organizations. Papers include biographical and genealogical information, personal and professional correspondence, campaign materials, photographs, newspaper clippings, and books.

Back to the Top

426 THE BROADMOOR NEWS, NEWSPAPERS 1947-1980.

3 linear ft.; 4 reels microfilm. Film 91.

First published in 1929 by Frank Fulco as the Italia Moderna (1929-1934); then as the News Record (1934-1946); then as Broadmoor News (1946-1982) it was again changed back to News Record (1982-1983). It featured news and photographs about churches, schools, clubs, business and residential growth, personals, gardening, scouting, and recreation.

Back to the Top

427 ROHWER RELOCATION CENTER RECORDS, 1942-1945; 1961.

1 linear ft.

In 1942 the U.S. government ordered 110,000 people of Japanese ancestry to leave California, Oregon, Washington, and Arizona because it was believed their presence constituted a danger to national security. The War Relocation Authority was established March 18, 1942, to assist in evacuation and relocation. Ten sites were built in California, Arizona, Arkansas, Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, and Colorado. This collection consists of materials from the files of Eudora Akin, counselor at the center of McGehee, Arkansas. Manuals, handbooks, notices, publications, and correspondence.

Back to the Top

428 HOME FOR THE HOMELESS RECORDS, 1910-1993.

.5 linear ft.

Home for the Homeless was organized in 1898 by women of all denominations for the purpose of sheltering the "aged and unfortunate." This collection consists of the amended charter and by-laws (1916), mortgage note, photographs of plot in Greenwood Cemetery, and a ledger (1910-1918) containing minutes, lists, donations, and committee reports.

Back to the Top

429 COTERIE STUDY CLUB RECORDS, 1948-1961.

.5 linear ft.

The Coterie Club was organized and federated December 17, 1946 for the study of literature and current events. This collection consists of two scrapbooks containing three club yearbooks (1948-49; 1950-51; 1960-61) and newspaper clippings from 1948-1961.

Back to the Top

430 U.S. ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS RED RIVER MATERIALS, 1945-1953.

3 linear ft.

Scrapbook pages, clippings, and photos relate to the flood of Red River in April, 1945 and the 175th Anniversary of the Corps of Engineers, June 1950. Also photos of flooding of the Red River in May, 1953 are included.

Back to the Top