431 WPA FEDERAL WRITER’S PROJECT, SHREVEPORT DISTRICT, 1936.

1.5 linear ft.

The WPA (Works Progress Administration) Federal Writers’ Project (October 1935-January 1943), a New Deal depression relief program, was a cultural project designed to provide temporary employment for white collar workers. Writers were to compile 4 guide books for various states: geographical, historical, cultural, and social. This collection includes the essays for Shreveport District including Caddo, Bossier, Claiborne, Webster, Red River, Bienville, and DeSoto parishes.

Back to the Top

432 BARKSDALE BARK-OBSERVER NEWSPAPER, 1941-1973.

Film 84: 11 reels microfilm.

A weekly newspaper published at Barksdale Field, Louisiana, by Special Service Office, its purpose was to report on events and news of interest to Base personnel. The name changed from Bark to Observer in November, 1949.

Back to the Top

433 U. S. POST OFFICE. BOSSIER/CADDO PARISHES, RECORDS, 1830-1970’s.

Film 85: 2 reels microfilm.

Reel 1– "Reports of Site Locations, 1837-1950" for Bossier and Caddo Parishes. Alphabetical listing by town; includes application to P. O. Dept. for new post office site and maps. Reel 2– "Record of Appointment of Postmasters, 1832-1971" Louisiana Parishes, Acadia–Grant. Alphabetical by parish then town name, includes postmaster, when confirmed, date vacated, and comments. Includes parishes of Bossier, Caddo, DeSoto.

Back to the Top

434 DESK & DERRICK CLUB RECORDS, 1950-1995.

18 linear ft.

Shreveport’s Desk & Derrick Club was organized on November 29, 1950. The membership is composed of "women actively involved in all branches of the petroleum industry and organizations who directly supply and serve the oil industry." The collection contains membership and board minutes, reports, scrapbooks, photographs, newspaper clippings, publications, and drawings by Irene Pipes, originator of "Daffy."

Back to the Top

435 SHREVEPORT PHOTOS ON VIDEO.

13 video tapes.

Historic Shreveport photos on video, taped for use in Clare Morgan Nelson’s Master’s Thesis, Alexandrine: A Woman’s Story. Life of Shreveporter Alexandrine Ricou Querbes, her activities during the late 19th and early 20th Centuries as they relate to the National Women’s Club Movement. Videos used in the documentary which includes interviews, historical photographs, and period music. Thirteen tapes contain film footage used in production of the video which accompanied the thesis.

Back to the Top

436 AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS, SHREVEPORT CHAPTER RECORDS, 1925-1993.

1.5 linear ft.

In January, 1923, a Society of Architects was formed in Shreveport, and in 1925 it became the Shreveport Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. This collection contains the by-laws, regular and executive meeting minutes, correspondence, biographical information and membership lists.

Back to the Top

437 ROBERT B. OAKLEY (1931- ) PAPERS, 1946-1994.

6.5 linear ft.

Robert B. Oakley was born in Dallas, Texas on March 12, 1931 and moved to Shreveport in 1934 where he attended Southfield School. After graduating from South Kent School in Connecticut, he received his B.A. from Princeton and then served as an U.S. Navy Intelligence officer in Japan. He joined the foreign service in 1957 and was assigned to Khartoum, Abidjan, Vietnam, Paris, and Beirut. Mr. Oakley was Senior Director for the Middle East on the National Security Council, and Ambassador to Zaire, to Somalia, to Pakistan, and Director of the State Department’s Office for combating terrorism. These papers consist of personal correspondence from Robert Oakley to his mother, Josephine Oakley. Also includes his speeches, transcripts from TV interviews, congressional hearings, publications, and briefings, as well as clippings, photos, and a video.

Back to the Top

438 GEORGE JOSEPH DESPOT ( -1991) REPUBLICAN PARTY PAPERS, 1928-1991.

7 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

George Despot was active in the oil and gas business and owned Despot Explorations Inc. He was the Republican State Central Commission representative of District 33 in 1976. From 1979-1985 he was the Chairman of the Republican Party in Louisiana. Papers include files on local, state, and national elections, candidates, political plans, PAC, and other Republican groups.

Back to the Top

439 M. CARL JONES PAPERS, 1917-1978.

.5 linear ft.

Marshall Carl Jones was a pioneer Shreveport oilman who entered the petroleum industry in 1908 and drilled in most of the important fields in Louisiana, Texas, and Arkansas. After World War I he was an independent drilling contractor. This collection consists of personal correspondence and business papers.

Back to the Top

440 JOHN H. DENT PAPERS, 1831-1863.

1 linear ft.

John H. Dent was a wealthy Ante-bellum plantation owner and Civil War officer from Lowndes County, Alabama. Papers cover correspondence with his wife as well as business transactions. A quadrangle map of Alabama, 1833 is also included. Of special interest is a letter introducing "Capt. Todd," the brother of Mary Todd Lincoln.

Back to the Top