221 THE SHREVEPORT TIMES HISTORIC PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION.

.5 linear ft.

Copies of 382 photographs collected by the Shreveport Times during their 1982 historic photograph campaign.

Back to the Top

222 MITCHELL JOEL MOORE PAPERS, 1886-1926.

.5 linear ft.

Long-time resident of Bienville Parish, Mitchell Joel Moore was born in 1854 in Barber County, Alabama and came to Louisiana that same year with his parents. He started his life as a farmer, but after losing his farm, he moved to Ringgold where he sold life insurance, caskets and headstones. He owned the Star Mercantile Store and finally became a salesman for the Singer Sewing machine Co. These papers include two appointment books, invoices and receipts from his various businesses and an autobiographical poem, "Life History."

Back to the Top

223 SHREVEPORT LITTLE THEATRE COLLECTION, 1922-2001.

22.5 linear ft.

A movement to begin Shreveport Little Theatre started in 1922 when road shows were coming to an end and just before sound pictures. It was prompted by a desire to promote spoken drama. The present building was erected in 1927. This collection consists of scrapbooks, clippings, photographs and playbills of the various plays by Shreveport Little Theatre over the past 70 years.

Back to the Top

224 SHREVEPORT CHARITY HOSPITAL AND PINES SANITORIUM RECORDS, 1947-1952.

1 linear ft.

Includes some minutes, monthly and annual reports.

Back to the Top

225 SHREVEPORT DEPARTMENT OF PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS: BUILDING PERMITS, 1970-1979.

2 linear ft.

Forms from the Department of Permits and Inspections, City of Shreveport, that give the following information: permit number, person’s name, address, type of work, amount, and contractor.

Back to the Top

226 RESERVE OFFICERS CLUB, SHREVEPORT, LOUISIANA RECORDS, 1922-1957.

.5 linear ft.

Correspondence, membership lists, programs and published materials regarding the Shreveport Chapter of the Reserve Officers Club and the Reserve Officers Association of the U.S.

Back to the Top

227 GERMANTOWN COLONY RECORDS, 1826-1870.

.5 linear ft.; Film 49: 1 reel microfilm
(Originals at Historic New Orleans Collection)

Germantown was the utopian, religious community marked by communality of property and strict observance of religious principles and founded by followers of Count Leon of Germany. The first colony in Louisiana was established in Grand Ecore, but moved farther north to its present location after an outbreak of yellow fever struck down Count Leon and many of the followers in 1834. The colony disbanded in 1870. These records include organizational documents detailing the establishment of the colony, correspondence, records of marriages, births, and wills. Also included on film are the Constitution and Laws of the New Philadelphian Congregation (in German); wills, marriage records, receipts, clippings and photographs relating to colonists; the Germantown Store ledger, 1856-1859.

Back to the Top

228 B & B SYSTEMS, INC. PHOTOGRAPHS, 1930’s.

Photograph Collection

Seventy-two photographs of locations used for billboard advertisements are included.

Back to the Top

229 GENERAL GRAVES B. ERSKINE (1897-1973) ORAL HISTORY TRANSCRIPT, 1975.

Film 60: 1 reel microfilm

Graves B. Erskine was born in Columbia, Louisiana, June 28, 1897. At the outbreak of World War I he was in the Louisiana National Guard. In 1917, he joined the U.S. Marine Corps and went on active duty as a second lieutenant. He served with the 6th Marine Regiment in France and was wounded and received the Silver Star. During WW II he served as Chief of Staff, Amphibious Corps, Pacific Fleet and was promoted to General in November, 1943. In July, 1951, he became Commanding General, Fleet Marine Force, Atlantic. He retired from active service in June, 1953, to accept position as Asst. to Sec. of Defense. Upon retirement he advanced to four-star general. He died at Bethesda Naval Hospital, May 22, 1973, and was buried at Arlington National Cemetery. This oral history covers his early life in Louisiana, his entire military career, and includes an index.

Back to the Top

230 HENRY COLEMAN THWEATT JOURNAL, 1846-1869.

Film 51: 1 reel microfilm

Poems, essays, speeches, cures and notes on various subjects collected by Henry Coleman Thweatt of Mansfield, Louisiana.

Back to the Top