461 UNITED GAS PIPELINE COMPANY RECORDS, 1928-1979.

21 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

United Gas had its home office and headquarters for its subsidiaries, Union Producing Co., United Gas Pipeline Co., and District Division of United Gas, in Shreveport. This collection consists primarily of photographs, specifications, publications, drawings, and correspondence relating to the buildings and property in the Shreveport area. Five albums depict buildings in other areas; slides and photos show field construction sites and employee meetings.

Back to the Top

462 POTPOURRI CLUB SCRAPBOOKS AND RECORDS, 1954-1996.

3 linear ft.

Organized in 1954, the Potpourri Club strives to "to promote self-improvement, educational and cultural advancement in order that its members may better contribute to the growth and progress of the community" (Article II, Constitution). This collection contains minutes, scrapbooks, and yearbooks of the club.

Back to the Top

463 BERTITA ELIZABETH COMPTON PAPERS, 1856-1985.

3 linear ft.

Bertita Elizabeth Compton was born in Shreveport on September 10, 1927. Prominent family members include W. A. Compton, Vice President of Allen Millwork, and Dr. Milton Finney Smith. Bertita received her B.A. from Newcomb College of Tulane University, and her M.A. from the University of Virginia. She served on many scientific and technical committees and wrote technical reports and articles for scientific journals. Papers include genealogical materials, photographs, scrapbooks, and certificates.

Back to the Top

464 BOUR-DAVIS AUTOMOBILE MATERIALS, 1909-1991.

.5 linear ft.

The Bour-Davis automobile (named after Robert C. Davis, an engineer for a Chicago steamship company, and Charles J. Bour, a Chicago advertising man) was originally manufactured in Detroit in 1916. The company was sold to the Shadburn Brothers in 1917, who moved it to Frankfort, Indiana, where it promptly went out of business. In 1918 the Louisiana Motor Car Co. which owned an automobile plant in Cedar Grove, bought the rights to the Bour-Davis, but in 1921 it went into receivership. The Ponder Motor Manufacturing Co. succeeded it but never went beyond a prototype. This collection consists of newspaper clippings, legal papers, advertisements, and booklets concerning the Louisiana Motor Car Co. and the Bour-Davis automobile.

Back to the Top

465 GEORGE R. MENEELY (1911-1987) PAPERS, 1920s-1980s.

16 linear ft.

The George R. Meneely Papers consist of a varied collection of bibliographic and photographic items, as well as personal artifacts and memorabilia from the professional lifetime of this academic physician-searcher, i.e., from the 1920s to the 1980s. Dr. Meneely was affiliated with the LSU School of Medicine in Shreveport as a founding figure prior to its opening in 1969, to beyond his official retirement in 1982. He passed away in September, 1987, at the age of 75.

Back to the Top

466 CADDO FOUNDATION FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN RECORDS, 1947-1996.

3 linear ft.

Organized in 1947 and chartered in 1948, the Foundation’s purpose was to provide educational opportunities for all physically handicapped children. In 1974, together with the Junior League of Shreveport and LSUMC, the Foundation established the Mollie E. Webb Speech and Hearing Center. This collection contains minutes, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and a scrapbook.

Back to the Top

467 SEYMOUR B. MANY MATERIALS, 1918-1940; 1980.

1 linear ft.

Seymour B. Many, born December 29, 1895, from Mt. Vernon, NY, was a member of the U.S. Naval Railway Battery 6th Division, which fired a 14", 50 caliber gun, mounted on rails during World War I. He retired in Shreveport. The collection contains correspondence to his mother and family, books of calculations, articles on rail warfare, maps, photos, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

468 BARBARA ABBOTT ART COLLECTION, 1976-1996.

3 linear ft.

Barbara Abbott was awarded a M.F.A. from Arizona State University and a B.F.A. from the University of Utah. She was a faculty member at LSUS from 1990-1996. A grant from SRAC funded her Quilt Kiosks (2) which are located at McNeil and Texas. Includes photo documentation of Shreveport public art, prints, and a model.

Back to the Top

469 SHREVEPORT POLICE DEPARTMENT RECORDS, 1908-1985.

18 linear ft.

This collection contains 76 volumes of jail registers, suspect records, and record of arrests in the city of Shreveport with information including the name of the arresting officer, the person arrested and his/ her race, gender, age, marital status, fines imposed, and the date of discharge. There are also two scrapbooks: one dated 1910-1927, belonging to T. D. (Teddy) Price, a Shreveport detective, and another from the Shreveport Police Department dated 1983-1985.

Back to the Top

470 MRS. J. T. EUBANK WOMEN’S CLUB COLLECTION, 1936-1984.

.5 linear ft.

This collection contains yearbooks and a scrapbook from the Welcome Branch of the 20th Century Club of Monroe, Louisiana, as well as yearbooks from the Progressive Study Club of Shreveport.

Back to the Top