471 HATHOR’S CLUB RECORDS, 1939-1993.

3 linear ft.

The Hathor’s Club is a women’s social and philanthropic group. The name is taken from Hathor, the Egyptian goddess of love, mirth, and social joy. This collection consists of a scrapbook, minute books, year books, and newspaper clippings.

Back to the Top

472 MANSFIELD HARDWOOD LUMBER CO., 1917-1966.

1 linear ft.

The Mansfield Hardwood Lumber Co. had its beginning in Stamps, Arkansas in 1903, with the move to the Mansfield, Louisiana building in 1909. The home office was moved in 1917 to the City Bank building in Shreveport remaining there until 1948, when it changed its location to 1166 Louisiana Avenue. It liquidated its assets in 1956. Mansfield Hardwood Lumber Co. had sawmills at Winnfield and Zwolle, and lumber mills throughout the Ark-La-Tex. This collection consists of the minutes of Mansfield Hardwood Lumber Co., Louisiana Builders’ Supply Co., and Winnfield Lumber Co.

Back to the Top

473 WITHENBURY’S STEAMBOAT REMINISCENCES, 1870-1871.

.5 linear ft.

W. W. Withenbury was captain of the first steamboat to Jefferson, the Llama, in 1845. His reminiscences were published as a series of letters in the Cincinnati Commercial in 1870 and 1871, and are in response to complaints in the New Orleans newspapers that Midwestern boats were interfering in New Orleans rightful market area. Withenbury set out to demonstrate that much of the early development of the Red River trade was the result of the activities of Midwestern "outsiders" such as himself, a resident of Cincinnati. (See inventory 473 for index of boats and captains.) Another folder of miscellaneous reminiscences is also included.

Back to the Top

474 WPA LOUISIANA SECTION RECORDS, 1935-1943.

Film 89: 30 reels microfilm.

The Works Progress Administration (WPA), established by Executive Order 7034 on May 6, 1935, became the principal instrument of a federal work relief program during the Great Depression. Workers had to be at least 16 years old and wages varied according to skill level and region. In its 8 year history, the WPA projects in Louisiana included construction or repair of 82 utility plants, 271 miles of water mains, 506 miles of sewer, construction or remodeling of 447 schools and 1,400 public buildings, 29 park improvements, 20 swimming pools, 2,140 bridges and 4,545 miles of streets. The documents in these 30 reels of microfilm include correspondence, reports, and news clippings relating to individuals, organizations, institutions, or projects within Louisiana.

Back to the Top

475 SHREVEPORT-BOSSIER CONVENTION & TOURIST BUREAU, 1962-1996.

54 linear ft.

The Shreveport-Bossier Convention & Tourist Bureau was created for the purpose of promoting the convention and visitor industry in the Shreveport-Bossier metropolitan area, using the proceeds of the hotel-motel room tax derived from the two percent surcharge on the gross room receipts of motels and hotels, and from other revenues. This collection contains internal business records of the bureau along with individual files of topics relevant to the Shreveport-Bossier area. Most of the material is from the 1970’s-1980’s, with a heavy emphasis on the 1980’s. Correspondence, minutes, reading files, marketing and publicity campaigns, photographs, and videos are also included.

Back to the Top

476 WPA HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY, LOUISIANA DIVISION, 1929-1963.

3 linear ft.

This survey by the Department of the Interior contains 11 architectural drawings, primarily in the New Orleans area.

Back to the Top

477 LOUISIANA SOCIETY, COLONIAL DAMES OF THE XVII CENTURY, SUSAN CONSTANT CHAPTER SCRAPBOOKS, 1964-1995.

6 linear ft.

The Susan Constant Chapter of the Colonial Dames of the XVII Century was organized in 1964 and chartered in 1965. These scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings, photographs, programs, certificates, and yearbooks chronicling the achievements and activities of the chapter.

Back to the Top

478 MURRELL STANSELL, SR. COLLECTION, 1940s-1996.

3 linear ft.

Murrell Stansell, Sr., local restaurateur and owner of Murrell’s Grills, Inc., was born in Jackson, Tennessee but moved to Shreveport to attend Centenary College. He flew P-51 fighters in World War II and, after returning to Shreveport, became involved in the restaurant business and opened several eateries. He was past president of the Louisiana Restaurant Association and was once named Restaurateur of the Year by that organization. Also active in democratic politics, he worked in the campaigns of former Louisiana Senators J. Bennett Johnston, Jr. and John Breaux. This collection consists of plaques, photographs, and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

479 LINE AVENUE SCHOOL MARDI GRAS COSTUMES, 1930s-1940; 1993.

1.5 linear ft.

The PTA of the Line Avenue School helped the needy children of the school by holding a Mardi Gras fund raiser in the Municipal Auditorium. This collection contains seven of the costumes, a few newspaper clippings and a few photographs.

Back to the Top

480 HOMER PEEL (1902-1997) BASEBALL COLLECTION, 1918-1997; 2006.

3 linear ft.

Homer Peel was a renowned professional baseball player and long-term Shreveport businessman. He was born in 1902 in Port Sullivan, Texas and began his Texas League career with the Houston Buffaloes in 1924. He also played with the Fort Worth Cats and was player-manager of the Shreveport Sports, 1939-1940. Mr. Peel managed the Texas League Oklahoma City Club, 1941-1942, and served in the Navy during World War II. One of the greatest hitters in the history of the Texas League, he was inducted into the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame in 1982. He played professional baseball for the Philadelphia Phillies and the New York Giants, and was a member of the 1933 New York Giants World Series Championship team. This collection consists of photographs, newspaper clippings, programs, and memorabilia about baseball and Homer Peel.

Back to the Top