481 DONALD CLARKE (1913-2006) AND EVA DELL MILLS (1917-1996) WORLD WAR II CORRESPONDENCE, 1941-1944.

4 linear ft.

Donald Clarke Mills, a Shreveport, Louisiana resident and 1933 graduate of Fair Park High School, was an artillery officer in the U.S. Army during World War II. He married Eva Dell Wooley, a registered nurse employed by the Caddo-Shreveport and Bossier Health Units, on March 30, 1941. After completing basic military training at Fort Bragg, North Carolina in November 1941, he was stationed at Indiantown Gap, Pennsylvania and at Camps Beauregard, Livingston, and Claiborne, Louisiana. He was assigned to the 108th Field Artillery Battalion, 28th Infantry Division and Provisional Truck Company Number 3 (SOS) during this period. Commissioned a second lieutenant on March 11, 1943, upon graduation from Officer Candidate School at Fort Sill, Oklahoma, he returned to Camp Claiborne where he was assigned to Headquarters Battery, 103rd Infantry Division Artillery. He was later transferred to Camp Howze, Texas with assignment to the 383rd Field Artillery Battalion, 103rd Infantry Division. Although outside the scope of the correspondence, Donald C. Mills entered combat in Europe in November 1944 as a forward observer assigned to the 230th Field Artillery Battalion, 30th Infantry Division. He was decorated with the Distinguished Service Cross, Silver Star, and Purple Heart. He retired from the U.S. Air Force in 1969 in the rank of major. The bulk of the papers consist of correspondence between Donald C. Mills and his wife, Eva Dell. Also included is correspondence from friends, co-workers and relatives of the Mills family.

Back to the Top

482 SAMUEL I. JETER COLLECTION, 1901-1954.

.5 linear ft.

Samuel I. Jeter married Alice Herron, daughter of Nancy Etheridge Herron of Ouachita Parish, on December 24, 1901. City directories from 1913-1954 list him as an insurance agent and in real estate. This collection contains mostly photographs of family and friends.

Back to the Top

483 LOUISIANA MATRIMONIAL REGIMES REVISIONIST COMMITTEE PAPERS, 1938-1975.

.5 linear ft.

In 1974-1975 the Louisiana State Law Institute prepared a revision of the Matrimonial Regimes of the Louisiana Civil Code of 1870 on Community Property. This collection contains the material prepared for and by the revisionist committee.

Back to the Top

484 V. V. WHITTINGTON PAPERS, 1928-1971.

.5 linear ft.

V. V. Whittington, community leader, was president of the Bossier Bank and Trust Co., a former State Senator, president of the Louisiana State Fair, and president of the Overton-Red River Waterway planning commission. This collection consists of newspaper clippings, one photograph, and several books.

Back to the Top

485 WALTER O. BIGBY (1927-1980) PAPERS, 1967-1988.

.5 linear ft.

Walter O. Bigby of Bossier City, Louisiana State Representative "Dean of the House" for 12 years, was admired for his integrity, impartiality, and hard work. A Vernon Parish native, he resided in Bossier Parish from 1941 until his death on January 2, 1980. He graduated from Benton High School, received his Juris Doctorate from LSU, practiced law for 16 years; served as Representative from District 8; and at the time of his death was the Second Circuit Court of Appeals Judge. This collection consists mainly of newspaper clippings from 1967-1979 with a few photographs.

Back to the Top

486 VASHIE VOWELL (MATLOCK) PAPERS, 1928-1952; 1986.

.5 linear ft.

Vashie Vowell was a nursing graduate of Shreveport Charity Hospital, January 12, 1945. This collection consists of documents pertaining to her nursing career, a photo of her class, a 50th anniversary class booklet from Plain Dealing High School and miscellaneous items pertaining to nursing in general.

Back to the Top

487 THE FILIQUIER RECORDS, 1867-1935.

.5 linear ft.

The Filiquier Family Grocery was on the corner of Market and Milam from the 1870s - 1890s. Founded by Lucien de Filiquier (Jan. 8, 1832 - May 17, 1895) it continued to be operated by his widow M. De Filiquier (Sept. 1, 1836 - July 25, 1910). Their daughter Emilie (1873-1914) married Charles Horne (1874-1933) who was the bookkeeper for Andrew Querbes. This small collection consists of bill and receipts from the Filiquier store, Lucien Filiquier’s will, and some correspondence.

Back to the Top

488 SHREVEPORT MEDICAL SOCIETY COLLECTION, 1920-2006.

63 linear ft.

The Shreveport Medical Society traces its founding to 1855, and since that time through its members, has represented most of the practicing medical profession within the city. Although its early records have been lost, much of value has been saved in this bibliographic collection which dates from the mid-1920s to 2006. Included among the holdings are correspondence, minutes of meetings, membership rosters, budgetary records, accounts of special events, a run of the society's journal, as well as obituaries and material related to patient grievances.

Back to the Top

489 CAMELLIA CLUB RECORDS, 1949-1996.

1 linear ft.

The Men’s Camellia Club was formed on November 9, 1949, holding annual shows, with the zenith being the 1963 show which was the largest camellia show in the nation. On July 9, 1980, the name of the club was changed to the Shreveport Camellia Society, with membership opened to women. This collection contains club records primarily through the 1980’s and the 1990’s.

Back to the Top

490 NORTHWEST LOUISIANA COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS (NLCOG), 1960-1994.

18 linear ft.

The Caddo-Bossier Council of Governments, formed in October of 1966, soon expanded to include the City of Minden and Webster Parish. On December 14, 1992, the name was changed to the Northwest Louisiana Council of Governments (NLCOG). NLCOG includes the Metropolitan Planning Organization, the Urban Transportation Policy Committee (UTPC), the Board of Directors, the Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC), and the NLCOG staff. NLCOG tracks land use and development to provide a comprehensive plan for the Shreveport-Bossier City urban areas. This collection consists of three categories of maps of Northwest Louisiana, e.g. Caddo, Bossier, and Webster Parishes. The first category of parish maps includes information on topography, transportation, incorporated jurisdictions, and rivers, streams, and other bodies of water. The second is devoted to individual detail maps of urban areas, and the last category is comprised of aerial photos of Northwest Louisiana.

Back to the Top