141 NEWTON CRAIN BLANCHARD (1849-1922) SCRAPBOOKS, 1892-1906.

Film 39: 1 reel microfilm
(Originals at LSU-Baton Rouge)

Newton Crain Blanchard was a Louisiana Representative and Senator, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of Louisiana, 1897-1903, and Louisiana Governor, 1904-1908. His collection includes four volumes of newspaper clippings and miscellaneous items relating to N. C. Blanchard. (See also: Collection 409, N. C. Blanchard Papers.)

Back to the Top

142 EUGENE H. FLEMING, III, ARCHITECTURAL RECORDS, 1952-1962.

2.5 linear ft.; 3 linear ft.– Architectural Drawings

These records are made up of the architectural drawings and blueprints, correspondence, notes and photographs of residential and commercial buildings in Shreveport, Louisiana, and El Dorado, Arkansas, of Shreveport architect, Eugene H. Fleming.

Back to the Top

143 SETH SHELDON PAPERS, 1839-1857.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Seth Sheldon was a partner in the commercial trading firm of Sheldon, Cane, and Bheal. With the demise of Bheal, Sheldon and John R. Cane continued under the name of Sheldon & Cane. Sheldon was also the first Captain of Patrol in Shreveport. This collection of business papers includes law suits, succession records, accounts, and appraisals.

Back to the Top

144 NATHANIEL S. ALLEN (1829-1922) FAMILY PAPERS, 1844-1950.

9 linear ft.

A major in the Confederate Army, N. S. Allen was a prominent Shreveport architect, 1870-1910, violinist, band leader, and civic leader. His papers include newspaper clippings, sheet music, music books, photographs, architectural drawings, programs, some correspondence, and artifacts.

Back to the Top

145 DONALD W. WILLIAMSON LEGISLATIVE PAPERS, 1971-1980.

.5 linear ft.

Louisiana State Senator. Papers include correspondence, reports, and resolutions on major issues of interest to Northwest Louisiana such as the Red River and Caddo Lake Compact, the North-South Expressway and LSU-Shreveport.

Back to the Top

146 JOHN WRAY (1907-1988) AND MARGARET MARY YOUNG (1909-2001) THEATRE COLLECTION, 1939-1987.

19.5 linear ft.

John Wray Young and his wife, director and designer-technical director, respectively, at the Shreveport Little Theater, 1936-1973, were instrumental in founding the Southwest Theatre Conference, and were among the first people named to the Louisiana Performing Arts Hall of Fame. The collection includes Shreveport Little Theatre playbills, newspaper clippings, articles and books by and about the Youngs, photographs of Shreveport Little Theatre productions, as well as scrapbooks and other memorabilia of their seven years prior to coming to Shreveport.

Back to the Top

147 HERMAN LOEB FAMILY COLLECTION, 1877-1979.

.5 linear ft.

Included are marriage certificates, scrapbook items, newspapers, Racket and Club and Social Register and one photograph.

Back to the Top

148 MRS. JOHN R. PLEASANT PHOTOGRAPHS, 1920.

Photograph Collection

Photographs provide views of Downtown Shreveport in the 1920’s.

Back to the Top

149 MRS. DAN B. BLANCHARD, 1894-1963.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Photographs, newspaper clippings, and a few letters relate to the Dixie, Louisiana area.

Back to the Top

150 KATHERINE BRASH JETER COLLECTION, 1840-1863.

.5 linear ft.

Records include a marriage contract and succession and conveyance records in Caddo and Bossier parishes in the 1840’s through the 1860’s.

Back to the Top