131 ELLA DINGLE HICKS PAPERS, 1876-1969.

2.5 linear ft.

A collection of correspondence and other materials details the teaching career, 1903-1940, of Ella Dingle Hicks, in Shreveport and includes a small amount of correspondence, receipts, and other personal business, a large number of family and school photographs.

Back to the Top

132 AMERICAN BICENTENNIAL COMMISSION RECORDS, 1972-1976.

12 linear ft.

Shreveport regional commission organized to celebrate America’s 200th birthday. As a part of the celebration, the Shreveport Junior League, in cooperation with the Commission, sponsored the Red River Revel, a Celebration of the Arts, which has become a most successful annual Fall Festival drawing artists and visitors from all over the South Central United States. Records include correspondence, reports, committee files, photographs, news releases and publications relating to the activities of the Commission, and the establishment and operation of the first annual Red River Revel. See also Red River Revel Collection 547.

Back to the Top

133 ROTARY CLUB OF SHREVEPORT (1914- ) RECORDS, 1910-2009.

12.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Rotary Club is a service organization of business and professional men. This collection includes Downtown Rotary Club minutes (for meetings of the Board of Directors), weekly bulletins, and annual programs consisting of work and membership rosters, miscellaneous publications, and banners and photographs.

Back to the Top

134 EDWIN HEFLEY PAPERS, 1907-1947.

4 linear ft.

Edwin Hefley was an aviation pioneer and former pilot for N. C. McGowan, Sr. of United Gas, Henry Ford II of Ford Motor Company, and John D. Ewing, Sr. of the Shreveport Times newspaper. Papers include photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and assorted additional materials relating to aviation from the 1920’s to the 1950’s.

Back to the Top

135 SHREVEPORT SYMPHONY ASSOCIATION (1948- ) RECORDS, 1948-1984.

Film 38: 9 reels microfilm.

The Shreveport Symphony Association formed in 1948 as a result of the work of a committee to establish a symphony in Shreveport. Records include articles of incorporation, by-laws, minutes, financial reports and miscellaneous items.

Back to the Top

136 WALTER BYRON MARTIN WORLD WAR II SCRAPBOOKS, 1939-1945.

8 linear ft.

A complete file of clippings chronicle World War II, September 2, 1939 -August 14, 1945, from the Midland Reporter Telegram (Texas), Dallas News, and Time magazine.

Back to the Top

137 SAMUEL J. TOUCHSTONE COLLECTION, 1864-1945.

1 linear ft.

Samuel J. Touchstone was a cartographer and collector of historic artifacts. This collection embodies some Civil War maps, an almanac, the by-laws of General LeRoy Stafford Camp No. 3, and World War II materials including 78 photographs of airplanes and scenes of post-war Japan.

Back to the Top

138 BIG CHAIN FOOD STORE COLLECTION, 1915-1956.

2 linear ft.

The collection includes photographs of the stores, 1922-1956, clippings, and a recipe book from Wiener-Loeb Grocery Company.

Back to the Top

139 BENJAMIN JACOBS FAMILY PAPERS, 1878-1972.

.5 linear ft.; Film 58: 1 reel microfilm.

The Jacobs family was a pioneer in Shreveport’s banking industry. These papers include correspondence, business agreements, petitions and notes, and newspaper clippings relating to Benjamin Jacobs’ business affairs. Also collected are correspondence, reports, and newspaper clippings of Gertrude Jacobs Meleton, Caddo Parish School Board member in the 1930’s, and some items relating to Anna Grace Jacobs.

Back to the Top

140 EDWARD (1822-1896) & BEN (1828-1886) JACOBS PAPERS, 1836-1906.

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Edward and Ben Jacobs, born in Prussia, came to Shreveport in the 1840’s and established a mercantile business, E. & B. Jacobs. They later founded a banking house (also know as E. & B. Jacobs) which later merged into First National Bank of Shreveport. Papers include correspondence, deeds, receipts, certificates relating to Edward and Ben Jacobs, and their mercantile and banking establishments.

Back to the Top