711 KREWE OF AESCLEPIUS, 2000-2014.

2.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Krewe of Aesclepius began at LSU Medical Center in 1990. Named for Aesclepius, the Greek god of healing, the krewe is comprised of medical professionals throughout the Ark-La-Tex. Members represent health related vocations including physicians, nurses, pharmacists, engineers, educators, administrators, technicians and more. The krewe hosts an annual parade focused toward children and it works with other area krewes to promote the growth of local Mardi Gras celebrations. Aesclepius is active in sponsoring and providing volunteers for a variety of charity functions benefiting pediatric wings, burn units, nursing homes, and cancer patients to name a few. This small collection contains programs, invitations, DVDs, and souvenir coins.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

713 BEATRICE HAWTHORNE MOORE COLLECTION, 1936-1990.

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Beatrice Hawthorne Moore was born in Dunkirk, Ind. in 1898 but moved with her parents to Shreveport at a young age. She graduated from St. Vincent’s Academy and from the State Normal College (Northwestern State University). After graduation in 1920, she returned to Shreveport and married Waldo Wightman Moore, city editor of the Shreveport Journal. They had two sons. Mrs. Moore taught in the public schools of Caddo Parish and headed the largest PTA in the state. In 1940 she ran for the Louisiana House of Representatives and served from 1940-1944 as the first woman to serve in that capacity. She died in 1990, a champion of women's rights and public education. This small collection contains letters, bills, photographs and a scrapbook.

Back to the Top

714 WILLIAM MARSHALL SHAW, SR. (1917-2005) COLLECTION, 1940-1979

30.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

William 'Bill' Marshall Shaw, Sr. was born on September 8, 1917, in Opelousas, Louisiana, the youngest child of Dr. James A. and Katherine Thompson Shaw. Shaw moved with his family in 1919 to Shreveport, where he was raised. After graduation from C.E. Byrd High School in 1934, he received his B.A. from LSU in 1938. He earned his J.D. in 1941 from the LSU Law School, where he met his future wife, the former Jean Craighead of Athens, Louisiana whom he married in Shreveport on January 22, 1941. Mr. Shaw began the practice of law in Homer, Louisiana in 1941 but his legal career was interrupted by the outbreak of WWII. He enlisted in the U.S. Navy where he served in naval intelligence. After the war he resumed his law practice in Homer in association with the firm Meadows, Shaw and Meadors. In the 1950s he represented the state of Louisiana in legal matters that arose from the political struggles over integration. This collection contains correspondence, legal briefs and memorabilia.

Back to the Top

715 J. HOLLIS BROWN SR. GENEALOGICAL AND PHOTOGRAPHIC COLLECTION, 1930s-1950s.

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

James Hollis Brown (September 25, 1908-May 9, 1975) was Vice-President of Trailways. In his younger years he was part of the Louisiana Kings, an all brass band which toured with Senator Huey Long. On Long's demise, the Louisiana Kings continued and played at national locations and even made a movie for Warner Brothers in the 1930s. Most of this small collection is genealogical in nature, but there is one binder of memorabilia from the band days.

Back to the Top

716 HARTGROVE COLLECTION, 1882-1946, 2012

.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Viola F.B. Hartgrove (October 17-1884- July 21, 1946) was born in Texas. She married Robert Marvin Hartgrove in 1900 and in 1918 they moved to Shreveport, Louisiana. In this union, seven children were born: Annie Marie ( 1901-1904), Willie Audrey Parsons(1904-1976), Morris Shepard (1907-1960), Joe Glen (1909-1990), Ira Bernie (1911-1960), Lovie Virginia (1914-1918), and Gladys Maydee (1915-1917). In 1930 Robert and Viola divorced. This collection contains documents of the Hartgrove family pertaining to financial matters, general correspondence, several photographs, and a genealogy from the family Bible.

Back to the Top

717 WILLIAM J. COLBERT, JR. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1954-1999

30 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

William J. Colbert, Jr. was born April 21, 1937 to William Joshua and Elizabeth Matilda Hutchinson Colbert in Shreveport, Louisiana. On August 15, 1959, He and Sandra Jones were married at Broadmoor Baptist Church in Shreveport. They had two children. Professionally, he graduated Louisiana State University with a Bachelor in Architecture. He began his architectural career in 1957 with Frey Associates and entered partnership in 1964, and eventually entered private practice. This collection contains architectural drawings from both positions: partnership and private. His work includes a variety of structures: medical, schools, residences, commercial and Churches.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

719 DOYLE BAILEY COLLECTION, 1949-2014

.6 linear ft.

In 1949 Holmes A. Thurmond obtained a U.S. Patent for a Boat Hull made of molded marine plywood with a flat bottom and tumblehome side decks. It was 13-feet long and was named Skeeter because the long, needle-shaped nose resembled a mosquito. These two models, one for the handicapped were built by Doyle Bailey and are contained in this collection along with reminiscences by Bailey and a copy of the patent.

Back to the Top

720 PELICAN CHAPTER, PROFESSIONAL SECRETARIES INTERNATIONAL, 1946-2014

4 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Pelican Chapter, Professional Secretaries International was chartered in October 1946 as Shreveport Chapter affiliated with Secretaries International. There were 19 charter members. Louise Kausler was the first president. In September 1951, the chapter voted to change its name to "The Pelican Chapter." The CPS program was an important part of chapter activities as was the scholarship program for students pursuing a career in the secretarial field. The chapter ceased in 2014. This collection consists of minutes, scrapbooks and newsletters.

Back to the Top