721 WOODLAWN HIGH SCHOOL NEWSPAPER, WOODLAWN HERALD, 1960-1969

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Woodlawn High School on Wyngate Drive in south Shreveport is the culmination of much time spent by the Caddo Parish School Board in investigating the needs of the students in that area. In August 1958, construction was started. It was designed in four separate units. One is a three-story structure, referred to as the academic building. It provides the administrative area and library on the first floor; second and third floors consist of academic classrooms. The second unit is the gymnasium, which houses all facilities and classrooms for athletics and physical education program. The third and fourth units are under the same roof but are separate by a large breezeway; the third unit houses the cafeteria, home economic and shop classrooms. The fourth unit houses the auditorium, classrooms for music, arts and crafts. The Woodlawn staff totals 85 with 45 teachers, 8 administrators, 17 cafeteria workers and 12 custodians. The firm of Wiener, Morgan and O’Neal was architect of the building and the McMichael Construction Company was prime contractor. Cost of the buildings came to $2,266,444, equipment $248,400 and land $127,600, for a total of $2,642,644. The school opened in 1960 with Earl H. Turner as its first principal. These newspapers chronicle its first nine years, 1960-1969. These are also the years of athletes Joe Ferguson and Terry Bradshaw.

Back to the Top

722 COL. CARROLL H. GOYNE JR., GENEALOGICAL MATERIAL, 1904-2001

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Col. Carroll H. Goyne, Jr. and his wife Betty were avid genealogists. This collection contains many compiled genealogies from various branches of their family, and a small amount of information about the long and sterling military career of Col. Goyne.

Back to the Top

723 CADDO PARISH HOME DEMONSTRATION, 1962-2004

5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Miss Mattie Mae English was assigned to Caddo Parish in 1924 and served 37 years in the Extension Service. In 1929, five home demonstration clubs were organized: Gilliam, Vivian, Mooringsport, Cedar Grove and Summer Grove. In January, 1930, the Caddo Parish Home Demonstration Council was formed as an advisory board which incorporated eight clubs adding Forbing, Ida and Hosston to the five above. This small collection contains minutes, correspondence, and photographs from these clubs and others that were added over the years.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

726 REPUBLICAN MEMORABILIA

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

This collections contains memorabilia such as books, pamphlets, pins, and posters of Republican candidates for Louisiana Governors, Presidents and Vice-Presidents of United States and U.S. Congressmen from 1940-2008.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top

728 VOLUNTEERS OF AMERICA NORTH LOUISIANA, 1935-2016

27 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Volunteers of America was founded in 1896 by social reformers Ballington and Maud Booth, and was dedicated to uplifting the American people through volunteers committed to serving people in need. The VOA North Louisiana was established in 1935 and continues today with a wide range of services from group homes, to children and families and veterans. This collection contains papers of the VOANL which chronicle the workings through newspaper clippings, minutes, photographs, publications and memorabilia

Back to the Top

729 KEENAN FAMILY LETTERS, 1910-1970

2 linear ft.

Andrew Jackson Keenan (1887-1970) was born in Galveston, Texas, son of Joseph C. and Caroline Christina Schacht Keenan. He received his education in Galveston schools. He moved to Shreveport, Louisiana in 1914 as an employee of the financial reporting agency, R.G. Dun. He later entered the furniture business, Keenan Furniture, which he continued until his death. He married Johnnie May Warner in 1918 and they had two daughters, Susan and Anne and one son Andrew Jackson (Jackie) Keenan, Jr. This small collection contains letters from Mr. and Mrs. Keenan to their children, Jackie, Susan and Anne and from the children’s friends. Some memorabilia such as a report card, invitation to dance, and others are included.

Back to the Top

730 DR. MARGUERITE R. PLUMMER'S STUDENT PAPERS AND INTERVIEWS, 1972-2006

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Dr. Marguerite R. Plummer was at various times, Director of the Pioneer Heritage Center, Assistant Professor of History, and Director of the Red River Regional Studies Center. She also authored many books and papers and contributed chapters to several history books. This small collection mainly contains the work of her students from 1988-2006 which are all of local interest.

Back to the Top