181 UNITED DAUGHTERS OF THE CONFEDERACY. LOUISIANA DIVISION, GENEALOGY MATERIALS.

.5 linear ft.

Genealogical material on many Louisiana families.

Back to the Top

182 MANSFIELD, LOUISIANA PHOTOGRAPHS, 1897-1947.

.5 linear ft.

Includes photographs of school groups, businesses and people from around the Mansfield, Louisiana area.

Back to the Top

183 HENRY W. BETHARD, III PAPERS, 1960-1965.

1.5 linear ft.

State Representative from Red River Parish, 1960-1964, and attorney in Coushatta, Louisiana. Correspondence, bills, resolutions, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, publications regarding his career as a State Representative.

Back to the Top

184 MRS. HARDY SPENCER MUSICAL SCORES.

2 linear ft.

Approximately 243 popular musical scores from the turn of the century through World War I.

Back to the Top

185 CONSERVATIVE DISSENT LITERATURE COLLECTION, 1949-1987.

1.5 linear ft.

Publications and writings of an ultra-conservative nature and referred to as "Pseudo-Conservative" by Richard Hofstadter in his The Paranoid Style In American Politics and Other Essays. (See also Collection 087, William M. Rainach Papers.)

Back to the Top

186 PAUL F. McBRIDE (1893-1937) COLLECTION, 1929-1970.

2 linear ft.

Relates primarily to his work as President of the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce. Also includes a historical report of the Community Concerts in Shreveport, 1935-1968.

Back to the Top

187 BAILEY THOMSON PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION

1 linear ft.

Bailey Thomson, editorial page editor of the Shreveport Journal, collected approximately 200 photographs of historic Shreveport buildings for his book, Historic Shreveport, published in 1980. These photographs make up the bulk of this collection.

Back to the Top

188 DON BROWN (1899-1958), PAPERS, 1926-1979.

4 linear ft.

Prominent Shreveport artist and writer, Don Brown, began his career as Paris correspondent for the Paris editions of several nationally known newspapers. He also served as city editor of the Marshall Morning News and staff member of the Shreveport Times. During his later years, he served as head of the art department at Centenary College. He was particularly interested in the history of the Caddo Lake area, which was his favorite subject both as an artist and a writer. These papers include articles by and about Brown, covering his career as a writer and an artist; scrapbook materials, sketches, drawings and exhibit catalogs that chronicle his artistic career.

Back to the Top

189 MEMORY LEE STREUN COLLECTION, 1948-1977.

1 linear ft.

Prominent local actress, Memory Lee Streun, trained at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts in London. Her professional career includes two seasons with English stock companies. Locally, she has appeared at the Shreveport Little Theatre, Courtyard Theatre and Marjorie Lyons Playhouse, and was Director of Mime for Ballet Arts, Inc. This collection includes Articles of Incorporation, correspondence, programs, clippings and photographs from Shreveport Summer Theatre, Shreveport Little Theatre, Courtyard Players and Centenary performances.

Back to the Top

190 BAGLEY PLANTATION STORE LEDGER, 1879.

Film 60: 1 reel microfilm.

Daily ledger of individual accounts, purchases and prices, with this DeSoto Parish plantation store.

Back to the Top