171 CARMODY-WILKINSON LEGAL FILES, 1951-1970.

8 linear ft.

The prominent local law firm’s records include case files, briefs, legislation and published materials regarding tidelands cases, desegregation cases, and other cases of local interest.

Back to the Top

172 UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS OF AMERICA, LOCAL NO. 764 RECORDS, 1900-1980.

24 linear ft.; Film 44: 4 reels microfilm.

The Carpenter’s Union, chartered in 1887, is the second oldest trade union in Shreveport and the oldest carpenters’ union in the State of Louisiana. The records of this union include the constitution, by-laws and other organizational records. Minutes, correspondence, business agent’s reports, financial records and material pertaining to membership and dues make up the bulk of the collection. The minutes, 1900-1980, are also on microfilm. Also included are some records of related labor organizations: Central Trades and Labor Council, Louisiana State Federation of Labor, Louisiana State Council of Carpenters, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America and American Federation of Labor.

Back to the Top

173 JOSEPH GIFFORD (1894-1960) THEATRE PAPERS, 1946-1960.

2 linear ft.

For 15 years Joe Gifford served as Director of the Shreveport Summer Theatre, from its inception in 1946 until his death in 1960. He also directed many plays at Centenary Playhouse. This collection includes two scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings and programs of Shreveport Summer Theatre and Centenary Playhouse productions; a book, North Louisiana’s "Mr. Theatre:" Joseph B. Gifford by Glenda Lee Maddox; and photographs from many plays produced by Shreveport Summer Theatre and Centenary Playhouse.

Back to the Top

174 BROWN McCULLOGH MATERIALS, 1905-1945.

1 linear ft.

Miscellaneous group of materials on Shreveport subjects. The bulk of the material is from 1905-1928.

Back to the Top

175 RUBY WINGATE SCRAPBOOK, 1918-1919; 1934-1979.

Film 43: 1 reel microfilm.

Scrapbook of clippings on DeSoto Parish topics.

Back to the Top

176 JOE COOPER LEGISLATIVE PAPERS, 1960-1980.

3 linear ft.

Joe Cooper served 20 years, 1960-1980, as a member of the Louisiana House of Representatives from DeSoto Parish. He served on the Economy Committee, the Joint Legislative Committee Investigating Organized Crime, the Joint Legislative Committee on Education, and the Board of Highways of the Dept. of Highways of the State of Louisiana. The papers consist of some correspondence, House and Senate Bills, committee minutes and reports, speeches and publications. The bulk of the material is contained in four scrapbooks that cover his 20 year career.

Back to the Top

177 WILLIAM P. MILLER FAMILY PAPERS, 1908-1969.

15 linear ft.

Family materials of William Pickens and Anna Webb Miller. Includes hundreds of photographs of family members, numerous photographs in Perry, Louisiana and travels in Louisiana, Mexico and the western United States. Also includes diaries of Dollie Miller, 1925-1969, and other family materials. (See also: Collection 124, Samuel J. Webb Papers.)

Back to the Top

178 LOUISIANA SURVEY MAPS, 1824-1897.

2 linear ft.

This collection contains original linen survey maps of northwestern and southwestern districts of Louisiana. (See inventory for a list of claims, rivers, and bayous.)

Back to the Top

179 WILLIAM EDENBORN (1848-1926) PAPERS, 1881-1926.

.5 linear ft. (photocopies)

William Edenborn was President of the Consolidated Steel and Wire Company of St. Louis and an inventor of many wire-related machines. He came to Louisiana in 1896, where he founded and owned the Louisiana Railway and Navigation Company, which sought to connect the northwest corner of the state with New Orleans. These papers include correspondence pertaining to the Louisiana Railway and Navigation Company, drawings and specifications for patents for wire-related machinery and articles and biographical sketches of Edenborn.

Back to the Top

180 WILLIAM TELL MARICELLI JOURNALS, 1900-1925.

Film 59: 1 reel microfilm.

Includes general store ledger of merchandise sold to customers, 1900; personal journal of Rosa Maricelli LeVasseur, 1908-1911; and personal journals of William Tell Maricelli of Campti, Louisiana, 1916-1925. These journals contain daily entries describing family life, weather, and travel.

Back to the Top