Back to the Top

Back to the Top

743 1908-1910 SHREVEPORT LEDGER

Collection Inventory

An unidentified business ledger showing business transactions with Shreveport people and businesses.

Back to the Top

744 DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN COLONISTS, GEN. JACOB BAYLEY CHAPTER, 1984-1990

1.5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

The Gen. Jacob Bayley Chapter in Shreveport was organized in 1984 by Mrs. Charles T. Hall. Its goal was educational, patriotic and historical. These three scrapbooks contain photographs and yearbooks

Back to the Top

745

Back to the Top

746 ROBERT A. NEFF, SR. COLLECTION, 1923-1961

3 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Robert A. Neff was born in Amarillo, Texas and had been a resident of Shreveport, Louisiana for the past thirty-five years where he owned and operated the Neff Construction Company. He was past president of the Associated General Contractor, was a member of the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce, Shreveport Optimus Club, and the Shreveport Country Club. He was educated at Centenary College, and Ohio State University. He was chosen by architects to be the General Contractor for some of their most prestigious designs of large homes and mansions. He built the John Creichton home at 1100 Erie Street, the J.B. Hayes residence on Glen Iris Drive, Rabbi David Lefkowitz resident at 425 Longleaf Road, Charlton Lyons Jr. home on Gilbert Drive, the R.T. Moore residence on Fairfield Avenue, Edward F. Neild resident at 444 Drexel, the R.W. Norton residence at 2525 Fairfield Avenue, J.C. O’Brien home on Richmond Avenue, the G. Scott Smitherman mansion at 4838 Camellia Lane and the R.W. Norton Art Gallery which closed in tribute to him the day of his funeral. This collection contains twenty-seven architectural drawings of these homes and more built between 1923-1961.

Back to the Top

747 WOODMEN OF THE WORLD SCRAPBOOKS – LODGE 54, 1957-2008

5 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

Woodmen of the World Life Insurance Society is a not-for-profit fraternal benefit society founded in 1890, based in Omaha, Nebraska by Joseph Cullen Root, that operates a large privately held insurance company for its members. The organization includes numerous philanthropic efforts, community outreach projects, distinctive tombstones depicting tree stumps across the country before 1930, a program to donate American flags and broadcast interests. Local units were called 'Groves' and they were governed by the 'Supreme Forest', subject to the Sovereign Camp of the Woodmen of the World. This small collection consists of 12 scrapbooks from the Shreveport area. Photographs and news clips depict the many patriotic, civic, social and fraternal activities in which the members participated.

Back to the Top

748 SHREVEPORT COUNCIL PTA SCRAPBOOKS, 1923-1934

2 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

In 1897, there was much concern about the welfare of the nation's children, specifically regarding the labor conditions to which children were subjected. Plans were carefully laid for the founding of an organization whose objective would be to alleviate the wrongs. As a result of the untiring efforts of its two founders, Mrs. Alice Birney and Mrs. Phoebe Hearst, the parent-teacher movement had its beginning in 1897, and soon state after state began affiliating with the National Congress of Mothers. Louisiana joined the parent-teacher movement as a state affiliate in 1923, with forty-two local units and 2,000 individual members comprising the organization. Since then the Louisiana Parent-Teacher Association has grown to 386 units with a membership of 90,053. The growth was continuous until 1961, when the membership began to decrease. This collection contains three scrapbooks of the history, yearbooks, and newspaper clippings of the Shreveport Council from 1928-1934, from Patricia Cain Ellis who was President of the Louisiana State PTA in the 1980s.

Back to the Top

749 PEO CHAPTER R SHREVEPORT, RECORDS 1948-

6 linear ft.

Collection Inventory

P.E.O. was founded on January 21, 1869 by seven students at Iowa Wesleyan College in Mount Pleasant, Iowa. Bonded by their enthusiasm for women’s opportunities, P.E.O. has grown from seven to nearly a quarter of a million members in chapters through the U.S. and Canada. Education continues to be the primary philanthropy of the P.E.O. Sisterhood and they proudly sponsor six international philanthropies, or projects designed to assist women with their educational goals. Chapter R, Shreveport began in 1948 and this collection contains scrapbooks from 1948 to 2012, along with the Chapter R yearbooks, and photographs and news clippings of the activities of the Shreveport chapter.

Back to the Top

Back to the Top